We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KIEKY SUE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foundry Masters House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Foundry Masters House to your Saves list
Foundry Masters House
43 Wellington Road, Coalbrookdale, Telford TF8 7DU, England   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“KIEKY SUE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Stayed here for two night, owners very friendly and informative.Ideal location for walking into Ironbridge. Room very spacious, lovely comfy bed, well equipt. Tastfully decorated. Fantastic breakfast, good choice.Only dissapointment owners no longer own the pub(Coalbrookedale Inn) as stated on this website and pub no longer serves food- You need to walk in to Ironbridge to get a meal or if you contact Dawn/Danny they can provide a meal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    10
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
87
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Thouroughly enjoyed our mini pre new year break. Our hosts Danny and Dawn could not have been more welcoming and helpful. The property itself is full of character , beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. Dawns' breakfasts were superb you couldn't have better. I left my phone charger in the room and Dawn rang to tell me and then mailed it to me. We will be telling our friends to check it out and highly reccommend you do the same.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We spent two nights here while seeing where the industrial revolution began, and couldn't have made a better choice. Foundry Masters House has real character, beautifully decorated, very comfortable with a superb bathroom, Dawn and Danny couldn't have been friendlier, great breakfasts - and if you want to sample Dawn's cooking skills beyond what she does for breakfast, then some evenings she is the chef at the nearby Coalbrookdale Inn - we had a brilliant dinner there.

Room Tip: We had room 3, which was great - there aren't many rooms in the house, we glimpsed no.2 which lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Stayed last week to visit the various museums in the Ironbridge Gorge. We had a very nice room at the front of the house (there are only a couple of rooms). The owners showed us to our room and made us welcome. First morning loads of smoked salmon and scrabbled eggs. Second morning and smashing fried breakfast. I've stayed in loads of hotels and I'd say it was probably the best breakfast I've had - better than a 5* hotel in London I stayed at costing over five times more! Very hard to beat if you're staying in this area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

I saw the reviews for this B&B on Trip Advisor and decided to book a break. No regrets at all. The room was lovely, very elegantly furnished and with a large comfortable bed. The breakfasts were superb and it was nice just to have one large dining table so that all the guests could chat over food. The best thing, though, about the Foundry Masters House, was our hosts, Dawn & Danny. They were so friendly and welcoming, gave us suggestions for restaurants and treated us more as friends rather than paying guests. I would certainly recommend their wonderful place to anyone.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We arrived at the Foundry Masters House and it was a very friendly and professional welcome, we have to say much better than any welcome we have received in the past, and we stay in a lot of hotels and guest houses around the country, the standards are high throughout including the great customer service, the Breakfast and the friendliness, the owners even went and purchased some Weetabix for us when we said that we preferred them for Breakfast, they went out of their way to help us to feel welcome. The room standard is very nice, we booked the bigger luxury double which is spacious and well presented the bathroom window looks out over the little church up on the hill.. There is a nice personal touch as they put homemade shortbread into the room rather than just the cheap packet type biscuits that most hotels just chuck in, so lots of thought . We complemented them on the Shortbread and they stocked us up again with more the same day, they made us feel very welcome. Thank you..We would certainly return again. The area is very interesting with lots of history and great scenery..Rick and Viv.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

This is a carefully renovated old house built on the side of a gorge (so there are some steps!). Owners are very friendly and helpful. It is worth asking their advice on places to eat. The whole area is in effect a living museum and fascinating to explore.
There are three guest rooms. All are beautifully presented with thoughtful details.
The breakfasts are superb. You are asked to choose the evening before so they are ready at the agreed time. Smoked salmon and scrambled egg is just one option, and the tradition 'full English' is as you would wish. Guests eat at one table, making for a sociable start to the day!

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little extra to stay in one of the two larger rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Foundry Masters House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foundry Masters House

Address: 43 Wellington Road, Coalbrookdale, Telford TF8 7DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford > Coalbrookdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Coalbrookdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Detached Georgian Property built in 1861 for the Master of the local Coalbrookdale Foundry set in the heart of the Ironbridge Gorge exactly one mile from the Iron Bridge itself. The property consists of three double rooms en suite on the first floor with a ground floor dining room and Lounge. The property is licensed to serve alcohol and offers an al a carte restaurant menu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Foundry Masters House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foundry Masters House Coalbrookdale, England, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foundry Masters House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.