We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but has faults” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Paris La Defense

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Paris La Defense to your Saves list
Novotel Paris La Defense
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Boulevard de Neuilly, 92081 La Defense, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
City Breaks up to 40% off
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in La Defense
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great Location but has faults”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel and either I overlooked items the first time or things have slipped since my last visit. I am rating this establishment as average but this is a generous and favorable rating. There are not many redeeming qualities with the property. The location is really the only reason to stay at this property. It is close to the metro, La Defense, and higher floors facing the city will have views of the Eiffel tower. I am a loyal Accor member being a Platinum status, and this property is woefully behind other Novotels in their treatment of loyal Accor members. I was provided a room upgrade which is pretty much standard practice for Accor members with a Platinum status. The room provided, while having views of the city was pretty basic other than this. If this was upgraded, not sure that I want to know what the standard room looks like. Customer Service is instrumental to a good stay and this property could make great strides toward improvement. I have personally written to the property to outline where I think it could improve, given that is now 5 days later without a reply or comment to the email speaks volumes about how the property is managed. I intentionally have held back to write this review hoping that management would at least recognize my email which would at least signal that they recognize that they have areas for improvement. The fact they haven't again tells me a lot. I will not go into all the areas where it could improve. I will just echo a previous comment about general odor in the hallways is correct, room decor is dated, customer service could improve, breakfast chaotic (granted I stayed on a busy weekend in all fairness to the hotel), parking and egress to the property painful. I will personally choose another Accor property or another hotel before I would come back. Given its location the property could be great but needs a lot to get there.

Room Tip: higher floor facing the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    149
    48
    11
    6
See reviews for
98
53
10
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is my 4th visit to this hotel
They offered me the best room with a brilliant view on sen river
Breakfast is amazing with huge varieties
There is a free x-box in the lobby
The lobby night employees are instructed by management not to allow x-box players to have seats, and when they ask you not to take the seats assigned for computers they are very impolite

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very dark, the corridor, the rooms, in the smokers floor it smells like a grave, no ventilation at all..very close to the metro station.. There is a Lebanese restaurant close by serving excellent food..

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Set in a very business oriented area of Paris, don’t expect to be surrounded by boulevards and romantic city views, but the Novotel La Defense is a great hotel nonetheless

I stayed for one night, but although my stay was short, it was very comfortable. The room was fairly basic and the décor was not particularly appealing but the bed was very good and everything was quiet and peaceful. The bathroom was pretty good, although I didn’t like the separate toilet which was like a cell with no windows. However what I did like was that there was a door between the bedroom and the entrance corridor containing the toilet – which gave the added benefit of extra sound proofing between the sleeping area and the corridor outside the room.

I had dinner in the hotel restaurant in the evening, which was delicious, and in the morning I had the buffet breakfast which was also really good – a wide selection and the best scrambled eggs I’ve ever had in a hotel! I advise you to take an early breakfast though, because by 8am there were no free tables and a queue of people waiting! I can see why it was so popular though.

The hotel is very efficiently run, and the food is particularly good. I was here on business and it served me very well. would not stay here for a holiday though - you are in a very plain business area of town (I had a river view and it was still ugly!), and there is nothing to do. The hotel is extremely close to a metro station though, on Line 1, so if you are happy to get on the Metro to visit the more traditional city sights of Paris, it might work out fine

Room Tip: Some rooms face the river, I can't tell which room numbers, would be worth asking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were on the tenth floor with a view of the Eiffel Tower. Could also see Sacre Coeur on a clear day and the Seine ran just under our window. The room was large with a huge bed and a sofa that could convert into another bed if required. We had a huge walk in shower and seperate toilet. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. We had a safe, free of charge and a kettle with tea and coffee provided. There was also a big tv for anyone who wanted to watch tv in Paris! The only down side was that the room was hot and the heating was as low as we could get it and the window didn't open. For safety reasons we supposed. But there was absolute silence in the room. No noise from the constant roar of traffic outside. The breakfast was superb. A huge choice. The staff were helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: I would say, the higher the better. The lifts were very fast and came almost as soon as we pressed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms are like an oven, unable to bring down the temperature. The location is excellent, but selling me a room with view to Paris from the 2nd floor???? The room is correct, clean, but I expected a bit more. I prefer others.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Paris La Defense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Paris La Defense

Address: 2 Boulevard de Neuilly, 92081 La Defense, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in La Defense
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Defense
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Defense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Paris La Defense 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Paris La Defense is a 3 star hotel in the business district of La Defense, 50 m from the Metro which takes you to the Champs Elysees and the exclusive retailers of Paris. The hotel offers 280 rooms, a restaurant, a bar and eight conference rooms for meetings and seminars. This hotel is equally suited to a business trip or a holiday in Paris with your partner or family. Our Club Med Gym and the fantastic views over Paris will further enhance your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Paris La Defense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Paris La Defense Hotel La Defense
Accor Paris La Defense
Paris Novotel
Novotel La Defense

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Paris La Defense, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.