We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adagio La Defense Esplanade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Adagio La Defense Esplanade to your Saves list
Adagio La Defense Esplanade
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Cours Michelet | La Defense 10, 92060 La Defense, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 40 %
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in La Defense
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The only good points was a very friendly lady at reception and an excellent location with the metro station just next door and free wifi.
The rest of this place seems to be just bums in beds. The apartment I stayed in was spacious. But that's it. No coffee or tea.
VERY low water pressure in the shower.
I paid Euro 220 per night and stayed 5 nights. Not a single day I had any housekeeping service.
The lighting is very bad. Dark rooms. No iron and iron board.
Breakfast is OK, adequate..
On checkout I needed to pay euro 10.20 for one breakfast (room was prepaid). The receptionist claimed he had no change for my euro 20.00 note.. I refused to pay euro 20.00 and left him with a euro 10.00 note. I also refused to charge it to my credit card in order to avoid international charges. I had the feeling he wanted to fleece me of my 20 euro. I did not get a receipt for the breakfast. I am not complaining too much as they did not charge me for 4 breakfasts...clearly, their accounts system does not work properly...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    39
    13
    17
    5
See reviews for
40
5
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mirrorcrax
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Well, I only stayed here for one night so far, and I must say I'm not impressed, first off I found the checking in a bit intrusive with requests for passport and full advance deposit, I realize several hotels do this, but I expected better when the booking is made by a company representative with a corporate card. The walls aren't sound proof at all, the corridors are old and tattered, and there isn't sufficient light in the room. I haven't tried the kitchen or all the facilities, so can't comment on that. Location is nice close to arch de defense, I got a room with a horrible view of some roof. The only person I dealt with was the receptionist who was friendly. I would say this is a good hotel for a family visit where you would like to be close to one of the sites, and need a place to crash with the kids at night and perhaps cook something, otherwise, I don't like it much. Oh, price is kind of reasonable compared to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012 via mobile

This is the first review I've written because I'm so unhappy about this place.
Plus side - good location then it's downhill with everything else in the hotel! Everything these Apartments don't have you can find at the Fraser Suits; I would highly recommend staying there instead of here.
I now have a sore back to the point were I can hardly move and have taken painkillers! The beds here are the worst I've slept on, I would rather sleep on the floor!
No tea, coffee, milk, sugar in our apartment. I was looking forward to baths - n'existe pas!Crappy clothes hanger, no iron, just a board!?!? You can only use coins for the washing and dryer, need to introduce tokens so one can charge it onto the total hotel bill. So if you are staying a week, avoid this place like the plague!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borden, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We choosed the La Défense area based on a friend recommendation. The hotel was nicely located 10 minutes away from the RER A and the Line 1 of the RATP.

Rooms are well appointed and the appartment-type was large enough for the 3 of us. Kitchenette was well equipped with all the basic like a fridge, stove, dishwasher, microwave, keetle, coffe maker and toaster. Internet was provided for free and we also used the basement parking lot. There is agrocery store Monoprix located across the street and a Starbucks within 100 meters. Hotel was very quiet and the balcony was useful to get a nice view and fresh air from the parc du millenaire.

Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Hi,

I stayed when building work was just being finished. this meant there was noise and a strong smell of paint which was not good.

i went again when it was finished and the rooms was very nice, clean, modern, comfy and good size.

the location is good if you are working in la defence- otherwise its not very good if you are a tourist!

breakfast is not very good.

good value for la defense.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adagio La Defense Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio La Defense Esplanade

Address: 35 Cours Michelet | La Defense 10, 92060 La Defense, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in La Defense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Adagio La Defense Esplanade 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Mercure Residence Defense (formerly Libertel) is located in the heart of the business district of La Defense, close to the CNIT convention centre and La Grande Arche. 96 studios and apartments, all equipped with a kitchenette. Ideal for both long stays and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Adagio La Defense Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio La Defense Esplanade Hotel La Defense
Adagio Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adagio La Defense Esplanade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.