We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been many times, never been let down” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vapiano

Vapiano
La Grande Arche | Parvis de La Defense, La Defense, France
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 293 Restaurants in La Defense
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Conakry, Guinea
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Been many times, never been let down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I regularly visit La Defense for business and increasingly look forward to Vapiano as part of my routine on at least one or two evenings. While part of a chain, the concept works very well. It won't be everyone's cup of tea (I'm referring to food snobs here), but i like it just fine. You line up at service counters for pasta, pizza, salad and drinks respectively. At each, you watch the cook prepare your meal and then allow him/her to swipe a plastic card that was given to you upon arrival. Upon departure you hand over the card at the till and your receipt is automatically printed. All of this means relatively quick service and you're kept mostly engaged throughout. This isn't McDonalds, but you can get a great meal within 10 minutes of walking through the front door. Food is Italian, always good, and very well priced. Eat here with a drink for €15pp (or €20pp with either starter or dessert). A welcome recent addition is the outdoors area, which is effectively in the shadows of La Grande Arche. I don't normally shout out individual staff in reviews, but Mo deserves a mention - she combines effortless energy with engaging customer care, something that many Parisian restaurants could do with learning about.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    40
    16
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Fresh and affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Everybody eats here, join in and enjoy the diversity. Yes it is a chain, yes it is German. But where to find reasonably priced fresh Italian food in Paris. Reliable place, always open. Above subway line number 1.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

This was my first visit to Paris therefore unsure as to places to eat. We decided to try Vapiano which was great, lovely fresh pasta or pizza, lovely desserts and appetisers, nice wine also. If I had discovered earlier in the visit would definitely visited twice. Staff very helpful and pleasant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We booked a trip to Paris last year and was staying locally in the Sofitel. The original plan was to experience fine dining across Paris during the stay but on the first night we stumbled across this place and never ate anywhere else the whole trip! The food really was that good! Staff were friendly and helpful and the food was excellent value for money!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Cool place, Neat concept, and great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This place offers an opportunity to have a chef prepare your meal as you watch. Everything is a la carte of sorts but very reasonable...I left stuffed for15 EU. It was crowded which means Iit's always good :-) most everyone spoke English for those of you like me. ;-)

The only reason I rated the service a 3 was because the only service offered was thw chef, which was great! No other service provided so if you're wanting that don't go here.

I will be back however cause it was great!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vapiano also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Puteaux, La Defense
 
Puteaux, La Defense
Puteaux, La Defense
 

Been to Vapiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vapiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.