We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apart from the rat in the bar...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Paris La Defense

Save Saved
You added Pullman Paris La Defense to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pullman Paris La Defense
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Avenue de l'Arche, Paris La Defense 6 Cedex, 92081 La Defense, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
-50% for the 2nd night
Ranked #5 of 38 hotels in La Defense
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Apart from the rat in the bar...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I've stayed here on business 3 times in the last couple of years, it's very close to our office. Each time check in has been fine, the staff polite and efficient. Some of my colleagues have received upgrades on check in, I've never been so lucky though. Those who do get upgraded seem delighted with their rooms, the standard ones I've stayed in are adequate. Small, clean and with no view but the road & train track.
The one rather off putting visit was when we saw avratvemergevfrom the dining room and run across the bar. We reported it, but bar staff not really interested.
The downside of this location is that it's a long way from the centre of town & there's very little to do here at night, it also doesn't feel very safe to stroll around alone after dark.

Room Tip: As for an upgrade on check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanLaDefense, Directeur général at Pullman Paris La Defense, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Hil1502,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry that your experience did not totally meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Please be assured that I took notes of your comment regarding our room as well as our restaurant and that I will make the appropriate investigation and take measures to prevent future occurrences.

As noted the hotel is under a full refurbishment of all of our rooms, lobby and restaurant. We will have this work completed by early March. Pullman Paris La Défense will be the only fully renovated hotel in the area.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Feel free to contact Chloé our Quality and Attitude Manager, at h3013-qm@accor.com for your next visit in order to arrange every details of your stay and ensure that you will enjoy a room upgrade as your colleagues did.

Yours sincerely,

Fréderic Clément
General Manager
Pullman Paris La Défense
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    229
    104
    30
    26
See reviews for
49
147
53
265
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I went in expecting a 4* and we got a bit better than this! Compared to the Novotel Esplanade de la Defense this hotel is FAR SUPERIOR!

Pros
- This is about a 7 min walk to La Defense RER (train) or Metro (subway) with excellent connections to where all the action is! The hotel pedestrian entrance is 3 flights of steps down. There are escalators, but on the weekend they do not work! So be prepared to walk up and down 3 flights of stairs.
- Luxuriously soft Sofitel cloud bed with french Roger & Gallett amenities.
- Slippers and robes. The room is larger than Novotel rooms.
- 2 bottles Free water (still + gas) saves you the hassle of getting own!
- Concierge was amazing - she did everything she could to help us by giving us tips, even calling restaurants to secure free champagne for us. Unfortunately her recommendation was for a chain that served mediocre food to tourists. We got better tips from the internet which you can access with free wifi.
- Great price for a similar level of luxury in Paris (although La Defense being the CBD area is not actually considered as "Paris")

Cons
- I think the hotel has some fundamental problem in the lobby with the sewerage system. There are 6 toilets as soon as you walk in and you can SMELL IT! The smell doesnt travel far to other floors but remains in the lifT! As soon as I walked into the lift on the way out, the stench of sewerage will hit you!
- 25 EUR buffet breakfast - we skipped this on the basis that 50EUR for breakfast for 2 was a ludicrous amount to pay!
- Both phones didnt work which made trying to get in touch with staff very difficult. I personally went down the lift to tell reception about the problem and to make the request in person, he said he would try fix the phone but this didnt happen during our stay. NOR was my request tended to!
- We got 3 hassling calls from reception when we were 15 mins past our check out time! They would call, let it ring twice, then hang up when we pick up.
- the toilet was VERY DIRTY. I was sitting in the bathtub and got a particular angle view of the toilet bowl you can't normally see standing up looking down which clearly showed a hard brown line where the cleaners STOPPED CLEANING!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanLaDefense, Directeur général at Pullman Paris La Defense, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear ach0087,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Pullman Paris La Défense on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry that your experience did not totally meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.

Please be assured that we took notes of your several comments and that we will make the appropriate investigation and take measures to prevent future occurrences.

I would like to inform you that the Pullman Paris La Défense is under a full refurbishment of all of our rooms, lobby and restaurant. I am delighted to anounce that this work completed by early March complying with 5 stars standards.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Feel free to contact Chloé our Quality and Attitude Manager, at h3013-qm@accor.com for your next visit in order to arrange every details of your stay.

Yours Sincerely,

Fréderic Clément
General Manager
Pullman Paris La Défense
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Small room, not much on tv for non-French speaking persons. Clean room, good maid service and the breakfast buffet was one of the best we've ever seen-eggs, bacon, sausage, breads, fruit, etc. The dinner service is good as well. About a 10 minute walk to the subway/train station, which is a must to go anywhere in Paris, you cannot afford taxis there, charged us 70 euros from CDG to Pullman, which was a 30 min ride. We would stay there again, staff was courteous and friendly, biggest complaint is small room and lack of tv channels in English.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanLaDefense, Directeur général at Pullman Paris La Defense, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear MayodanNC,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay at Pullman Paris La Défense.

I was pleased to noted you enjoyed your breakfast buffet at L'Ephémère Restaurant.

We are sorry that your experience did not totally meet your expectations, mostly due to the TV selection; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.

Please note for your future stays, we would be happy to organise your airport transfer.
We do work with a Limousine Service Company for 55 euros each way by Mercedez Benz.

I also have the pleasure to advise you that our room’s renovation is now completed complying with 5 stars standards.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Feel free to contact Chloé, our Quality and Attitude Manager, at h3013-qm@accor.com for your next visit in order to arrange every details of your stay as well as your airport transfer.

Yours Sincerely,

Fréderic Clément
General Manager
Pullman Paris La Défense
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This great business oriented hotel is suitable for families,romance and independent travelers as well. Although a bit far from Paris center is very well connected through Metro and RER system(20' ride)
Spacious rooms, coffee maker facilities,good quality bedding and pillowing and an absolute quietness will ensure a good night of rest. If you are driving it has covered parking at the hotel for Euro 18 per 24 Hours.La Defense area is also nice with lot's of shopping and modern art. Impossible to get a hotel of this quality in Paris center for this price! Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanLaDefense, Directeur général at Pullman Paris La Defense, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear FerdieGordon,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Pullman Paris La Défense.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I was delighted that you enjoyed the facilities in your room.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Fréderic Clément
General Manager
Pullman Paris La Défense
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location with easy access to transport links. However the rooms are very standard (which is quite disapointing as this is not to 5 star level).

The cleaners came in twice while we were asleep even though the do not disturb sign was on the door. On top of that they left the door completely open all one day.
One more moan would be we had to wait 40 mins one night for tea bags that should of been in the room to start with.

I'm not one to enjoy moaning but because of the 5 star title and the money we paid, we were left disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanLaDefense, Directeur général at Pullman Paris La Defense, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear TomStephens57,

Thank you for the time you provide us with your feedback following your recent stay at Pullman Paris La Défense.

We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.

Please be assured that we took notes of your several comments related to the service and that we will take appropriate measures to prevent future occurrences.

I also have the pleasure to advise you that our hotel’s full refurbishment will be finished on 7 March. Our hotel will be offering fully refurbished bedrooms, a Lobby designed by the famous French Designer Christophe Pillet, as well as a trendy restaurant Quinte&Sens with creative and delicious cuisine.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Feel free to contact Ms. Chloé our Quality and Attitude Manager, at h3013-qm@accor.com for your next visit in order to arrange every details of your stay and ensure you will have a memorable experience.

Yours Sincerely,

Fréderic Clément
General Manager
Pullman Paris La Défense
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights in the late summer, I felt slightly dubious before going because my standards are set quite high. However, I was pleasantly surprised by what was a truly lovely hotel.

The room was big, had a very large (and very comfortable) bed, a bathroom with a rainfall shower and a bathtub. The only two (rather small) negatives were that the room had a view of a back street, and that the minibar prices were extortionate.

We paid for bed & breakfast, the breakfast was amazing. The breakfast room was very relaxed, and the staff very helpful. There was a buffet with a large range of various foods, and all tasted great! The orange juice was awesome!

The hotel is in a business district, with a large shopping centre and many restaurants within a 5-10 minute walk, and the metro station easy to find and 5 minutes away. It takes just 10 minutes to get into the center of Paris using the metro, so the hotel is ideally placed out of the hustle and bustle, but near enough to not leave you isolated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanLaDefense, Directeur général at Pullman Paris La Defense, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear AndrewG44,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Pullman Paris La Défense.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback about the service we provide as well as our fully refurbished rooms.

Please be assured that we took notes regarding your comments about the mini bar.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Fréderic Clément
General Manager
Pullman Paris La Défense
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pullman Paris La Defense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Paris La Defense

Address: 11 Avenue de l'Arche, Paris La Defense 6 Cedex, 92081 La Defense, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Defense
#5 Business Hotel in La Defense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Paris La Defense 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the business district of La Defense, close to the CNIT convention centre, 10 min from the centre of Paris and the Palais des Congres, the Pullman Paris La Defense offers upmarket accommodation combining connectivity and comfort. Book one of our 384 high tech rooms. Relax at Bar 6 and enjoy authentic dishes from the show kitchen of our restaurant, Avant Seine. The hotel offer ideal facilities for your professional meetings and seminars. Private parking and fitness centre with steam room and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Pullman Paris La Defense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Paris La Defense Hotel La Defense
Accor Paris La Defense

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Paris La Defense, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.