We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location for,public transportation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Jardin de Valmy, Boulevard Circulaire, Sortie 7, 92918 La Defense, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #8 of 38 hotels in La Defense
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location for,public transportation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

It's been a few years since I stayed here but with the sale of the Neuilly Courtyard to Movenpick I tried it again. Got upgraded to a beautiful corner room which is a mini suite with windows covering most of the walls. Beautiful, quiet and comfortable. Great english speaker capabilities at the front desk and a strong service attitude which is hard to find in Paris. Fast wifi and modern and clean room. Fast courteous service on laundry and room service and anything you need. Big american style concierge lounge. Hotel is a very short walk to the No 1 metro line and RER trains. Also to the La Defense Hilton the shopping mall and corporate buildings. The subway ride to the Champs Elysse is 15 mins max and no taxis are needed. Great place to stay when commuting around Paris.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    225
    67
    34
    10
See reviews for
76
111
38
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Can't complain about this hotel, although pricey for a junior suite, the Executive Lounge catered for snacks, breakfast and alcohol. Free wi-fi in the room (take note HILTON HOTELS) La Defense is a lovely area to visit, and so easy to get to all the tourist sights of Paris via Metro. English tv channels on tv, only hotel I've found in France so far which has this, big bonus. Check out location of hotel before going, as access roads are very busy and car park difficult to find.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights this past weekend.

Hotel is very easy to find from La Defense Metro (provided you checked a map first, I didn't).

The hotel is in great condition with the common areas furnished to some of the highest standards I have ever seen.

Check in was efficent and very polite, despite having obtained the room via a great deal on priceline for this hotel at just under £60 per night including taxes we updgraded to an executive room.

The room was lovely and spacious, nice big bed, seating area with table, large flatscreen tv, minibar, large bathroom with powerful shower and large bath. All in all it was perfect for what we wanted. Looking at the tarriffs the minibar prices and price of the wine 'supplied' in the room were inflated but guess this is to be expected.

Location itself is 5 mins walk from La Defence metro and 4temps mall, which was handy for shopping and using free wifi. La Defense is on Metro line 1 making it exceedingly handy for all the major sites in Paris city centre. I think the longest journey we took was 20 mins from La Defense to Chatlet Halles.

Would highly reccomended to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I went there since I had to do some work in Paris while I am now working in Zurich.
The Hotel has a good location to reach most of the buildings in La Défense, which was the objective this time...
Then, what can I say? I am not very accustomed to hotels, especially for this range of price (which seems high to me) so I guess the service was good, I did not eat my breakfast here again because of the price. Regardless the room is spacious, you get a working Wi-Fi (though I only tried with my phone), the bed is fine and I slept well.

Therefore, if you want to go to La Défense for business it is a great place as you can easily avoid the hassle of the Paris public transportation. However, for a leisure stay, I’m not seeing any special reason to go for this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here over Christmas holiday including Christmas Day and found it to be very accommodating,,,,staff was most helpful particularly the executive lounge person, Michelle.....she made inquires for us concerning times for traveling by train to Versailles and to Rheims...always greeted us by name each morning,,,,since the lounge was closed over the holiday they gave us tickets for the buffet in the dining room which was excellent...metro connection convenient and mall close by along with Christmas market made it a good choice....rooms were always clean presentable...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here recently for a conference and it was a perfectly good buiness hotel. La Defence is 15 minutes on the metro via a direct line to the Tuilerie gardens & the Louvre and from La Defence on a clear day you can see the Arc de Triomphe in line with the LD arch which is very clever modern architecture. However the metro station and surrounding tunnels, escalators and stairs is very grubby. The paved walkways are pretty grim and windy in January and although little looks good in northern Europe at this time of year, central Paris for example on the left bank with its narrow pretty streets and sparkling little shops is delightful so I would not recommend this hotel or area as a place to stay for leisure purposes. Having said that our greeting on Friday afternoon was cheerful and friendly with a delightful young lady on reception. We were upgraded to an "executive suite" Not sure how that compared with what we'd booked. There is no free wifi in the rooms (this is 2013 for heavens sake!!) but there was a large satellite linked TV with all the US programmes and also some UK ones as well. The bed was very comfortable with lovely sheets and the was equipped with really practical things like an iron and ironing board, washing line in the bathroom and some decent toiletries (all hotels should have shampoo conditioner and shower gel as standard-I had brought my own anyway) The window could be opened which turned the air con/heating off (we didnt mind) we didnt take breakfast and ate out every night but those on the conference said the food was OK - we only tasted some of the generous buffet at coffee time which was excellent. The staff were very friendly (reception and bar) but taxis to restaurants in central Paris were expensive and so what you may save here you would almost spend getting around. Not a great place, but perfectly serviceable and my only complaint was the wifi (which they eventually didnt charge for)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here at the end of a Trafalgar European whirl 11 day tour. The hotel is situated on the outskirts of Paris in the business district with modern high rise buildings and so is not for someone who wants the romantic getaway with views of the famous attractions. It is however perfect if you need to work in the area or want a quiet spot at night after 5 pm, there is a huge shopping centre 5 mins walk away that has everything and while we were there a large market area with about 50 white stalls selling trinkets, Christmas decorations and food of all description.
The hotel has a very polite and helpful service counter, a comfortable group lounge area with wi-fi and a lovely dining area for breakfast, unfortunately for us we were not seated in the nice dining area for breakfast each morning as we had been in the cheap breakfast area used for tour groups a few days earlier and so they kept sending us there each morning, and as there were no tour groups in for those few days we were in with just a few people each morning and had lousy service in a plain boring room, which considering I had paid for an upgrade to executive room ( which wasn't worth it ) was NOT good enough and apart for a few initial problems with wi-fi was the only bad thing with of the whole experience.
Access to Paris is easy from La Defense once you know how, the Metro and RER train service station is near the big shopping centre 5 mins away. When you walk down into the station don't bother going to the help counter in the centre as they treat you like your a moron for not knowing what to do. Go straight to the the ticket counters situated at each end of the station and they will work out what you need, to UK, and USA visitors you will be fine as you are used to underground rail systems but us Aussies are not. Coming back on the system from Paris is no problem as you are at the end of the line and so can't miss your stop.
The room was great although I still have issues with showers in bathtubs and small bathrooms, the beds comfortable and the decor ok. As noted earlier I paid for an upgrade which got me a chair and about 2 extra square metres of space, I did it as the deal included free wi-fi in the room which was important for us but as it took 2 days to finally get that working properly it was a waste of money.
Overall I would be happy to recommend the hotel to others and would consider staying there again if for business but would stay closer if on holidays.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense

Address: 60 Jardin de Valmy, Boulevard Circulaire, Sortie 7, 92918 La Defense, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in La Defense
#4 Business Hotel in La Defense
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Defense
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Defense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense is in the heart of La Defense district of Paris, France. Just next to the Grande Arche de La Defense this Paris hotel is just a few minutes from the capital's famous attractions: only 1 train stops from the Champs-Elysees. Guests can walk from the Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense to the large shopping center "les 4 Temps" as well as to the CNIT conference center. Whether you come by train, metro or taxi from Paris airports, access to the hotel is easy and for those coming by car there is a private and supervised hotel car park. This upscale hotel provides spacious hotel rooms with Marriott bedding, air conditioning, Internet access, premium TV channels, and in-room safe. For successful conferences and events there are 13 meeting rooms with natural daylight and broadband internet. Hotel guests have free access to the fitness gym with sauna and steam room. Guests can enjoy traditional French cuisine in the hotel restaurant and a relaxing atmosphere at the Colonial bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Paris
Paris Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.