We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Jardin de Valmy, Boulevard Circulaire, Sortie 7, 92918 La Defense, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #7 of 38 hotels in La Defense
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fair, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I went there since I had to do some work in Paris while I am now working in Zurich.
The Hotel has a good location to reach most of the buildings in La Défense, which was the objective this time...
Then, what can I say? I am not very accustomed to hotels, especially for this range of price (which seems high to me) so I guess the service was good, I did not eat my breakfast here again because of the price. Regardless the room is spacious, you get a working Wi-Fi (though I only tried with my phone), the bed is fine and I slept well.

Therefore, if you want to go to La Défense for business it is a great place as you can easily avoid the hassle of the Paris public transportation. However, for a leisure stay, I’m not seeing any special reason to go for this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    225
    67
    34
    10
See reviews for
75
108
38
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
virginia beach virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here over Christmas holiday including Christmas Day and found it to be very accommodating,,,,staff was most helpful particularly the executive lounge person, Michelle.....she made inquires for us concerning times for traveling by train to Versailles and to Rheims...always greeted us by name each morning,,,,since the lounge was closed over the holiday they gave us tickets for the buffet in the dining room which was excellent...metro connection convenient and mall close by along with Christmas market made it a good choice....rooms were always clean presentable...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here recently for a conference and it was a perfectly good buiness hotel. La Defence is 15 minutes on the metro via a direct line to the Tuilerie gardens & the Louvre and from La Defence on a clear day you can see the Arc de Triomphe in line with the LD arch which is very clever modern architecture. However the metro station and surrounding tunnels, escalators and stairs is very grubby. The paved walkways are pretty grim and windy in January and although little looks good in northern Europe at this time of year, central Paris for example on the left bank with its narrow pretty streets and sparkling little shops is delightful so I would not recommend this hotel or area as a place to stay for leisure purposes. Having said that our greeting on Friday afternoon was cheerful and friendly with a delightful young lady on reception. We were upgraded to an "executive suite" Not sure how that compared with what we'd booked. There is no free wifi in the rooms (this is 2013 for heavens sake!!) but there was a large satellite linked TV with all the US programmes and also some UK ones as well. The bed was very comfortable with lovely sheets and the was equipped with really practical things like an iron and ironing board, washing line in the bathroom and some decent toiletries (all hotels should have shampoo conditioner and shower gel as standard-I had brought my own anyway) The window could be opened which turned the air con/heating off (we didnt mind) we didnt take breakfast and ate out every night but those on the conference said the food was OK - we only tasted some of the generous buffet at coffee time which was excellent. The staff were very friendly (reception and bar) but taxis to restaurants in central Paris were expensive and so what you may save here you would almost spend getting around. Not a great place, but perfectly serviceable and my only complaint was the wifi (which they eventually didnt charge for)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here at the end of a Trafalgar European whirl 11 day tour. The hotel is situated on the outskirts of Paris in the business district with modern high rise buildings and so is not for someone who wants the romantic getaway with views of the famous attractions. It is however perfect if you need to work in the area or want a quiet spot at night after 5 pm, there is a huge shopping centre 5 mins walk away that has everything and while we were there a large market area with about 50 white stalls selling trinkets, Christmas decorations and food of all description.
The hotel has a very polite and helpful service counter, a comfortable group lounge area with wi-fi and a lovely dining area for breakfast, unfortunately for us we were not seated in the nice dining area for breakfast each morning as we had been in the cheap breakfast area used for tour groups a few days earlier and so they kept sending us there each morning, and as there were no tour groups in for those few days we were in with just a few people each morning and had lousy service in a plain boring room, which considering I had paid for an upgrade to executive room ( which wasn't worth it ) was NOT good enough and apart for a few initial problems with wi-fi was the only bad thing with of the whole experience.
Access to Paris is easy from La Defense once you know how, the Metro and RER train service station is near the big shopping centre 5 mins away. When you walk down into the station don't bother going to the help counter in the centre as they treat you like your a moron for not knowing what to do. Go straight to the the ticket counters situated at each end of the station and they will work out what you need, to UK, and USA visitors you will be fine as you are used to underground rail systems but us Aussies are not. Coming back on the system from Paris is no problem as you are at the end of the line and so can't miss your stop.
The room was great although I still have issues with showers in bathtubs and small bathrooms, the beds comfortable and the decor ok. As noted earlier I paid for an upgrade which got me a chair and about 2 extra square metres of space, I did it as the deal included free wi-fi in the room which was important for us but as it took 2 days to finally get that working properly it was a waste of money.
Overall I would be happy to recommend the hotel to others and would consider staying there again if for business but would stay closer if on holidays.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm Sweden
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Good location in la defense, nice decor, good sized rooms that are reasonably modern (bathrooms can do with an upgrade), very good bistro restaurant, good bar, good gym (has a sauna and hamam), very good service and a good exec lounge (could do with a facelift). All in all a good hotel that i will for sure come back to.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Nothing bad to say about this hotel :
- comfortable rooms
- nice staff in the restaurants (breakfast, lunch, dinner)
- health club
- efficient but expensive inroom internet

But have in mind La Defense if good for work and nothing else
So don't stay there if you want to enjoy Paris

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Ideally located for La Defense business visitor with access and view of Grand Arch. Metro access is close by and hotel needs to beef up the cleanliness of room service. Room is classy and clean and house keeping seems pretty prompt and up to their task with daily service. Reception is very helpful and quick to resolve any queries

Room Tip: I did not use the Spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense

Address: 60 Jardin de Valmy, Boulevard Circulaire, Sortie 7, 92918 La Defense, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in La Defense
#4 Business Hotel in La Defense
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Defense
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Defense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense is in the heart of La Defense district of Paris, France. Just next to the Grande Arche de La Defense this Paris hotel is just a few minutes from the capital's famous attractions: only 1 train stops from the Champs-Elysees. Guests can walk from the Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense to the large shopping center "les 4 Temps" as well as to the CNIT conference center. Whether you come by train, metro or taxi from Paris airports, access to the hotel is easy and for those coming by car there is a private and supervised hotel car park. This upscale hotel provides spacious hotel rooms with Marriott bedding, air conditioning, Internet access, premium TV channels, and in-room safe. For successful conferences and events there are 13 meeting rooms with natural daylight and broadband internet. Hotel guests have free access to the fitness gym with sauna and steam room. Guests can enjoy traditional French cuisine in the hotel restaurant and a relaxing atmosphere at the Colonial bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Venere, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Paris
Paris Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.