We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 50th birthday present” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Paris La Defense

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Paris La Defense to your Saves list
Sofitel Paris La Defense
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 cours Michelet, 92060 La Defense, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in La Defense
Certificate of Excellence 2014
england
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“My 50th birthday present”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We found it very hard to find the location of this hotel it took us about 1 hour from getting of the Euro star, we had to ask several people.
when we did arrive at the hotel we were checked in we only had room onle and were offered breakfast for 26 euro each person each day, very expensive we thought.
We were shown to our room had a lovely bathroom.
When we returned at night we were left one chocolate on the side of the bed and one bottle of water for two people.
The next day we went out for the full day on our return at night the tea, coffee and milk had not been refilled had to go back down to reception about half hour late the maid knocked on the door with some more not very good for a five star hotel.
And beware its 19 euro for one glass of wine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert M, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Paris La Defense, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Happy birthday again! It seems that you have not been able to communicate on this very meaningful and romantic week-end for you. Given our focus on celebrating all the special occasions, we would have been very happy to offer you a voucher for two complimentary drinks at the bar of the hotel and a room upgrade upon availability!

I am disappointed to learn that you were less than satisfied by the housekeeping service. Forgetting to refill amenities and taking half an hour to deliver them after asking do not reflect what we aim to achieve. I can assure you that the experience you had is atypical of our standards. Our ambassadors strive to make sure that each of our guests receives prompt and personalized service.

Please note that our ambassador Nenad and all the team at the bar have hand-crafted a seasonal menu of delicious cocktails with fresh ingredients for our guests, and the wine menu is carefully selected by our sommelier Thibault to provide a wide range of regions and prices. I am confident that the next time you join us, you will enjoy a true Sofitel experience.

Truly,

Guillaume Barthelemy
Guest relations
h0912-gr@sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    338
    84
    21
    14
See reviews for
167
459
69
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

a nice hotel, very polite and helpfull people. Someone park your car and I didn't know that so it was a bit confusing where I have to park.
rooms are very clean, with everything you can have inside.
breakfast is complete and very good and lots of choices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herent, Belgium
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed at the Sofitel La Defense for 3 nights in the beginning of May. This is a lovely hotel and I didn't find anything to fault.
The rooms are spacious, with window that opens. The area is quiet - no street noise. Lovely, large bed - the most comfortable bed I have ever slept it! All in all, great sleeping quality. The bathroom is also great - with the rain shower and the bath products from Hermes (bar of soap, body shower gel, shampoo, and conditioner!). Both the room and the bathroom were cleaned well. There was also a complementary bottle of water left in the room every time the room was cleaned, and again with the turn-down service at night.
The tv has a large number of different channels in different languages.
Hotel staff are very friendly.
We had breakfast one of the mornings - on Saturday, and it seemed to be a cheaper rate than what was listen for breakfast during the week (19 eur instead of 27 eur). The breakfast is definitely worth the money - a large selection and all very very fresh (fresh fruit juices, croissants, danishes, pain au chocolate, yogurt, cereal, sausages, eggs, bacon, potatoes, pancakes, fresh fruit, meats and cheese, etc). The breakfast staff were also very friendly and attentive.
The hotel may not be in the centre of Paris, but that really isn't an issue - you are a 3 min walk away from metro station 'Esplanade de la Defense' which is serviced by metro line 1 (the metro line that goes under the champs elysee, past the louvre and also stops in the Marais neighborhood).
Take the metro one stop further to the La Defense stop and you connect to the RER line that takes you to Disneyland.
Also at the La Defense metro stop (or a 10 min walk from the hotel) is a HUGE shopping mall with clothing stores, a lot of food options and a very large Auchan supermarket.
I would certainly stay here again - as the quality and value for money is great!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Location close to centrum of Paris, and very easy connection with the Metro! Mainly a very quiet location with a lot of office buildings around, and maybe not so lively in the evening. Nice restaurants within one stop of the Metro.
Hotel in general is very clean and nice. Rooms are large and all the facilities one need for a holiday. Cleaning and housekeeping was good. First evening they had out on soft music and candy on the pillows. Only happened one evening as one expected this would be standard every day!
Breakfast is recommendable. Great buffet and food of high quality!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great hotel with excellent service, comfortable rooms and good breakfast... Much better value for money spent than in other Paris hotels of the same category. Location is not very centreal, but it takes 15 minutes by metro to get to the city center

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Good business hotel. From the valet parking guy to the reception staff (sorry front desk ladies, the gentleman were much friendlier), all knowing their business, all speaking English very well. Nothing really special, no wows, just good.

Best thing is they offer affordable weekend rates for an almost silent location you will not find elsewhere in Paris (or you take the Pullman Hotel in the same area). Don't let the distance from Paris to this location put you off. It is easier to reach by car and the subway is really close. Direct connections to the most wanted metro stations in town. Affordable dinner options can be find close to the hotel (like Vapiano). Great supermarket (Auchan) nearby. Breakfast (on sunday) might be a bit of a problem since all eateries cater for business people will open not before 10:00 AM. We took the subway to the Marais with plenty affordable 'boulangeries'.

Room size is ok and beds are comfortable (soft deck on the mattress available if ask for it). All our preferences (Accor membership) were met except we received a room on a smoking floor (did not smell anything). We booked a superior room (one above standard) because you can open a window. You can make the room completely dark (pull the plugs from the tv set). Minibar prices are just unreasonably high (so take your own). But WIFI was for free. No bath in this room. Maybe a bit disappointing for a five star, but if gives space to a decent shower.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert M, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Paris La Defense, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear KeesE,

First of all, thank you for having stayed with us and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor !

It is a pleasure to see that you have enjoyed your time here, please be ensured that the men at the reception where proud to be more friendly than the ladies !

Regarding the minibar prices you are talking about, we are now working an a new system, new products and rates. This will be available very soon.

I hope I have the pleasure to meeting in the near future "at home".

Best regards,

Albert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed here when we ran Paris marathon in April. Its a little out of the way for central Paris but right next to metro line 1 in a business district. The hotel itself was great - really comfortable rooms, decent bath (perfect post marathon!), good service all round. There's a large shopping centre and a few restaurants near by although things are a little quiet in the evening. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert M, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Paris La Defense, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear "ntravellerUk",

I would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel during your Parisian stay and for taking of your time to share your feelings.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that I have the pleasure to welcoming you personaly next year for the Marathon ! D-334 ...

Best regards,

Albert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Paris La Defense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Paris La Defense

Address: 34 cours Michelet, 92060 La Defense, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Defense
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Defense
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Defense
#2 Business Hotel in La Defense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Paris La Defense 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Paris as never before through a marvelous mix of modern art, vibrant business, and exciting tourism. Nestled among soaring skyscrapers, Sofitel Paris La Defense offers inimitable French style and five-star luxury with a distinctly 21st century slant. Modern design, luscious shades of browns and reds, and an inviting atmosphere mean a refined Parisian adventure infused with the contemporary energy of la Defense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Venere, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Paris La Defense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris La Defense Hotel La Defense
Accor Paris La Defense
Paris Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Paris La Defense, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.