We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Paris La Defense

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Paris La Defense to your Saves list
Sofitel Paris La Defense
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 cours Michelet, 92060 La Defense, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in La Defense
Leeds
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great, but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Fortunately a business trip. Fortunate for me as they must have booked the last room in the place because it was sooooo expensive. The room was a junior suite. For junior suite read "lovely room, slightly (and I do mean slightly) bigger than the standard size of room I have stayed in on various trips in recent months. Decor of the room is superb, very clean and well presented. My room had a proper coffee maker as well, so that was nice. I saw breakfast was 27 euro (come on....27 euro!!) so I didn't even bother looking at the room service menu. Lovely bathroom with separate shower with rain shower head. Not as big as some places I have stayed in though.
I've also had comfier beds I must say (like the westins for instance).

Hotel floors well kept and nicely quiet. Lifts great and quite quick. Lobby very well kept with very responsive staff. Highly efficient.

Would I stay again, you bet. But only if I wasn't footing the bill myself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFITELDEFENSE, Guest Relations at Sofitel Paris La Defense, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear "tdleeds",

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor after your recent at Le Sofitel Paris La Defense.

I was very happy to read that you found the service great and that you enjoyed our Junior suite.

It is also with a particular attention that I read your comment on the breakfast, the price reflecting the very high quality we aim to achieve.

The satisfaction of our guest is our first priority. Feel free next time to get more information from our employees in order to be convinced and try our breakfast!

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Le Sofitel Paris La Defense.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Guillaume Barthelemy
h0912-gr@sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    330
    83
    19
    14
See reviews for
163
435
67
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Eurostar to Gare du Nord, we have Metro tickets from our last trip in April so take the blue line to Chatelet and change to the Yellow line to La Defense getting off at Esplanade de La Defense one stop before the end of the line and very close to the Sofitel. This is our fifth visit so we know what to expect, we have bought an 'Experience Paris' package which includes a room upgrade, breakfasts, Metro tickets and welcome drink. We're here again because we like the quality of beds, bathrooms, products and service. This is a five star hotel but is available, sometimes, at prices that we can afford, we love a good deal. We are here to visit the Antiques Broccante in Bastille which are in in April and November and because we get three days for the price of two we can also visit Porte de Vanves and Clignancourt. As most people mention the hotel is away from the centre but well served by a very efficient, fast, frequent and comfortable Metro service which means we are able to visit other parts of Paris very easily. So we have the generous buffet breakfast; fruit,muesli, fresh orange juice, scrambled eggs bacon sausage, pan au raisins and a large expresso and, no, we don't go back to bed to sleep it off, we go out and stay out for most of the day, have a main meal out and come back to a peaceful night, we take an inside room for extra quietness and have not been disturbed at all. The beds and amenities are all luxurious, the staff are especially friendly and helpful, lovely people. A cab back to Gare du Nord with our purchases is € 35 and takes 30 minutes.

Room Tip: We choose an inside room after being woken on one of our earlier stays by noise from the precinct ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFITELDEFENSE, Guest Relations at Sofitel Paris La Defense, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear John, Dear Elizabeth,

Merci beaucoup!

Indeed thank you very much for that stunning review and sharing your opinion with the community of Trip Advisor.

During your last two previous stays, it has been a great pleasure to meet you, get to know you better (Junior Suite as a strong room preference) and even go through your purchases from Porte de Vanves & Clignancourt (big sword with crazy teeth!)

Your loyalty means a lot to us and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back again at the Sofitel Paris la Défense, your parisian home, for many more great stays!

Kindest regards,

Guillaume Barthelemy
Guest Relations
h0912-gr@sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Superb hotel, rooms were huge and had a fantastic rain shower head in the bathroom.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Ate both breakfast and dinner in the hotel and enjoyed both. The quality of the food was fantastic and the buffet breakfast selection was excellent.

A little far from central Paris, but an easy metro ride to Port Maillot with loads of dining options. Would stay there again for business (probably not for pleasure as too far out).

Room Tip: I don't think there would be any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFITELDEFENSE, Assistante Relations Clientèle at Sofitel Paris La Defense, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear TorontoKiwi,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review on TripAdvisor.

Sofitel Paris La Défense is not in Paris indeed, but has the advantage of being very close to the city's downtown area while being very quiet at night and during the week ends, which is not the case in Paris.

We hope to see you again very soon !

Best regards,

Alina BRICARD
Assistant Guest Relations
h0912-gr@sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I booked this accomodation on lastminute.com as they had an offer of 3 nights for too.

I cannot believe the bargain we ended up getting.

Location- La Defense is the equivalent of the Canary Wharf of London. It is about 10-15 minutes away from the center of town but it is a lovely place. There is food and shops around there but on a sunday it can be pretty much dead. There are lots of skyscrapers and various art deco around La Defense as well. You can see the Arc De Triomphe from a distant and night time it looks lovely.

Staff- The staff were very friendly and very helpful in advising us the best lines to catch to get to places.

Hotel Facilities- I cannot comment on as I did not really get to use them.

Room- I booked the superior room. The room was very nicely sized (King/Queen size double bed) TV, Bose ipod dock, Coffee Machine. It was spotless. Very clean Large size bathroom and tub as well. It even had upmarket toiletries (Hermes!). It is one of the nicest rooms I have stayed in for quite a while.

The bed was very comfortable. It made my partner and I feel like never wanted to get out of the room and go around Paris itself. We wanted to take it back home with us!

All in all I had a wonderful stay there. I would definitely go back and stay there again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFITELDEFENSE, Assistant Guest Relations at Sofitel Paris La Defense, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Sunjhoon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts concerning your last stay at the Sofitel Paris la Défense on TripAdvisor.

As you saw, the bed was too big to take back home ! These beds (including the blanket and pillows) were specially created for Sofitel, and called MyBed. You can purchase the bed online, or just select the items you want from the MyBed package.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back again in our hotel !

Warm regards,

Alina BRICARD
Assistant Guest Relations
h0912-gr@sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Having previously stayed in central Paris where the decor was nearly as tired as the staff, the Eurostar bargain for Sofitel La Defense looked too good to be true - 5 star luxury at 3 star prices (including 30% discount for 3 nights). The "catch", is that La Defnse is out of town, a business district or a concrete jungle - depending on which report you read. As a family of 5 (Mum, Dad and children aged 12, 10 and 8) our view is that both the locationn and the hotel are near perfect.

The contrasts between central Paris where we had a fantastic time sight seeing, and our retreat in Sofitel La Defense added to our enjoyable break. The 55 story glass skyscrapers of various geometrical variations coupled with the plaza which runs like a wide ribbon from the Grande Arche to the river Seine is a crisp antedote to the faded grandeur of the city itself. The photo attached of the sun rising over the Arc de Triomphe with the Eiffel tower just off to the right is also an image etched on my memory. In practical terms, the Line 1 of the Metro (now driverless!) runs from outside the hotel to central locations like the Louvre. It is also enjoyable to alight at stations such as Tuilleries and take the short walk across the park and over the foot bridge to attractions the other side of the river such as Musee D'Orsay.

What of the hotel itself? As with many hotels, first impressions set the tone, and things continue along a similar vein. The reception was bright and modern, with a profusion of pink orchids echoing the highlight tone of the fabrics against a chic and calm backdrop of neutral shades. The staff on reception struck that rare balance between professionalism and friendliness without bordering on obsequiousness. Switching seemlessly from French to English, there was none of the huffing an puffing that sometimes comes when we have specific requests: we were keen to accomodate our family of 5 as comfortably as possible, and they were happy to give us a free upgrade to a suite. We had a query about the Paris Pass (nothing to do with the hotel), and they researched it on our behalf and rang the rooms with the results.

The rooms themselves are very clean and modern. Hitec touches include the Bose sound system, Flat Screen TV including BBC1 and BBC2, Nespresso coffee machine and (best of all) the window between the bathroom and the bedroom which goes from transparent to transulcent at the flick of a switch. The shower, the toiletries and particularly the beds are all to a high standard. Even the settee bed had a sprung base and 4" mattress.

The only downside (for us) was that the breakfast at €27 each for a continental breakfast was more than we could justify, so we bought fresh baked baguette and croissant each morning from a nearby boulangerie for €8 all in. Back in the room, this made a nice picnic, washed down with more free coffee from the Nespresso machine.

In conclusion, the Sofitel was a great choice for us especially with the deal we got via Eurostar (2 adults, 3 children, 3 nights for £1,500 including train and hotel). We loved the hotel and the view, and with the Metro, felt like we managed to really have our cake and eat it.

Room Tip: You can get interconnecting rooms, but if you need 3 people in 1 room the suites are better. We got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFITELDEFENSE, Guest Relations at Sofitel Paris La Defense, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear "Rachalmond",

Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive feedback regarding our hotel!

You may be interested to learn that the breakfast price is 27€ indeed during the weekdays, but only 19€ on Saturday & Sunday mornings.

If you ever plan to come back to Paris (perhaps via one Eurostar great deal!), please consider contacting me at h0912-gr@sofitel.com.

Warm regards,

Guillaume Barthelemy
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We couldn't fault our stay at Sofitel La Defense. Every single member of staff we encountered was friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spotless, had great facilities and felt really luxurious. It is a little way out from the centre of Paris but 15 minutes on the Metro and you're right in the heart of the city. Our package included a bottle of champagne which was sent up to our room when we wanted it and was the icing on the cake. A wonderful stay and we highly recommend this hotel. Fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Superb hotel, excellent attention to details and very helpful and friendly.
Highly recommended for couples, framily or business trips.
Will have to test its restaurant but all the other amenities were great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFITELDEFENSE, Assistante Relations Clientèle at Sofitel Paris La Defense, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Hosuke,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for leaving us your comments on TripAdvisor.

Your kind words concerning your stay at the Sofitel Paris la Defense and our team sounds like a beautiful award to us!

We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel!

Best regards,

Alina BRICARD
Assistant Guest Relations
h0912-gr@sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Paris La Defense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Paris La Defense

Address: 34 cours Michelet, 92060 La Defense, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Defense
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Defense
#2 Business Hotel in La Defense
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Defense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Paris La Defense 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Paris as never before through a marvelous mix of modern art, vibrant business, and exciting tourism. Nestled among soaring skyscrapers, Sofitel Paris La Defense offers inimitable French style and five-star luxury with a distinctly 21st century slant. Modern design, luscious shades of browns and reds, and an inviting atmosphere mean a refined Parisian adventure infused with the contemporary energy of la Defense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Paris La Defense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris La Defense Hotel La Defense
Accor Paris La Defense
Paris Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Paris La Defense, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.