We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of bar & food 62

bar & food 62
Via Santa Maria 60/62, 56100, Italy
050 561857
Improve this listing
Ranked #539 of 1,460 Restaurants in Province of Pisa
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: ristorante pizzeria
1 review
“A real gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

As soon as we reached Pisa late on Saturday evening, we stumbled across the place and enjoyed the beautiful food, and fantastic and entertaining staff!

For the rest of the trip no other place matched up to it, and after a terrible microwaved food experience elsewhere on our last night we decided to go back.

It was even more fantastic!
Another bonus, is they don't charge for service.
Sounds odd but on one meal elsewhere the 5 of us had had to pay €25 on top of our meal not including the VAT and tip.

And of course, as we loved it so much we were more than happy to leave a good tip!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    52
    17
    9
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Quality Cuisine & Friendly Staff, close to the Leaning Tower!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We enjoyed a delicious friendly evening in Bar & Food 62, the staff were particularly welcoming and gave excellent advice on our meal/wine choices on our first trip to the area! We had such a lovely evening we noticed they showed live sport and catered for our Liverpool v Man Utd football wishes the following afternoon despite locals being in there watching Italian footy and the grand prix. The manager and head waiter, brothers, were particularly attentive and hospitable. Good value and we thoroughly recommend!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
1 review
“Good salesman”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We ate dinner at this restaurant in Pisa. We were impressed with the owner at first....he seemed very personable and hard working. After a big show explaining the menu and making suggestions, the service slowly started decline. Short story...we ordered veal and the price went from 8.50€ to 15.00€ and the worst part was it tasted just like pork chops! Second he brought the wrong salad, we ordered side salad for 4.00€ and got 12.00€ salad with some seafood on it. The fish soup was mostly bread??? In the bottom of the bowl for 10.00€ a bowl....our pasta arrived about 15 minutes after everything else was finished...we thought it was forgotten....then the bill was wrong... We were overcharged by 15.00€....we did not leave a tip....on the bright side the wine was good but a bit expensive for the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Great service&staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were with 2 children there and we must say that all was really perfect. Air condition,near to main square,friendly price,free wi-fi! Caprpaccio,soup,seafood pizza,canellonny with spinash and carbonari pasta with great taste,very helpfull staff! We had a limited time,because my wife has a booked ticket to Pisa tower. When she leave a restaurant,children &me spent some time for coffee and desert. When I pay the children run out from restaurant and I forgot postcards on the table. How we ssupised one week latter when postcards come to friends house,thanks a lot to staff!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Calzone, Anywhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

this restaurant is among a row in this tourist town, but the Calzone Tuscana is the best we've had anywhere. incredible crust-something the pizza maker prides himself on. salad with anchovies is adequate, Great value for the money and a menus in several languages.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed bar & food 62 also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 
Forte Dei Marmi, Province of Lucca
 

Been to bar & food 62? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage bar & food 62, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.