We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King Palace

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
King Palace
346-348 High Street, Orpington BR6 0NQ, England
01689 831848
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 111 Restaurants in Orpington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Right on the corner by the War Memorial
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Great location in Orpington . Food was ok but not to much taste. Apart from that a very kind atmosphere with very friendly staff. Very clean also very quick with the food. You decide if that's good or bad?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    3
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My friend and I had a great meal at the King Palace at the far end of Orpington High Street. The menu features Peking, Szechuan and Vietnamese dishes and you are not overwhelmed with lots of dishes on the menu. The waiting staff are happy to discuss the dishes and also make you aware if your choices have similar style sauces. We had quarter of duck with pancakes, szechuan chicken which had lots of large chunks of chicken breast in it and beef with ginger and spring onions along with egg fried rice. The sauces are well made and this is an above average restaurant. Prices were reasonable.

Just behind the restaurant is a 24 hour Tesco supermarket where you can park for up to 3 hours free of charge.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Had a very good meal at King Palace last night. Lived in Orpington for years and really don't know why we haven't tried it before. Guess it is a bit overshadowed by Xians which is a shame. Much more relaxed than Xians and not as cramped either. Food excellent, flavoursome and good portions. Service excellent and considerate. 'Would you like your next course now or would you like a rest?' No rushing to get the next sitting in. All in all a lovely evening and will be back

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent uk
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

I havent been here for 6 years but decided to treat the wife on friday night.
Food was excellent as usual. The Peking duck filled me up as ever.
We know the management quite well so always have good service.
I think this is the best chinese around.
65 pound for two of us with drinks.
Bargain.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Chinese in Kent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have eaten here or had take aways regularly over the last 15 years. The food has been consistently of a high standard . Peter ( the owner) is always very friendly which makes for a very relaxed and enjoyable night out.From time to time have tried Xian , but prefer coming back to King Palace

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Palace also viewed

Orpington, Greater London
Orpington, Greater London
 
Orpington, Greater London
Orpington, Greater London
 

Been to King Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.