We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saved Save
You added Casa a Corte to your Saves list.
View of swimming pool in garden with olive trees
View of swimming pool in garden with olive trees
View of swimming pool in garden with olive trees
Casa A Corte on hill with panoramic views
House and surrounding estate
approach to house
Finnish architect client sketch of house
Gugliano
|
Rental Home – 
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
KarynViv
Milton, Massachusetts
1 review
“Perfect Tuscan Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Casa a Corte is a perfect Tuscan getaway with a great location to visit many classic Tuscan towns. The house is well-equipped, large and very private. The pool was a great bonus after a hot day of touring Italy. Property owner is very accommodating, responsive, and informative. I would highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a private getaway to enjoy Tuscany.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The privacy and the patio
Liked least: the mountainside drive to the property!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2013
Karyn,
You are very kind and thank you so much for taking the trouble to review. I am glad you all had such a wonderful Italian experience and hope it last long in your family's memory.
Best wishes, Hugh & Hazel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
CanadianO...
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A gem in Tuscany...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a week here with 6 friends in September 2013. The property is absolutely stunning and the pictures posted accurately represent it. Hugh, the owner, was incredibly helpful - he responded promptly to all our emails, provided detailed directions in advance, gave great tips on local restaurants, markets, and sites to see, and checked in during our stay to ensure we had everything we needed. The location is beautiful - rolling hills, vineyards, and olive groves for miles. The views are breathtaking. The location is great as it is very remote yet by car you are only an hour away (or less) from some great towns and sites. The kitchen is well equipped (we cooked most nights), beds were comfortable, and the entire property was very clean and in good repair. I would reccomend this property without hesitation. Thank you, Hugh, for making our stay so memorable.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location, the pool
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2013
David,
Thank you so much for your kind and complimentary review, plus taking the trouble over your 'Thanksgiving' weekend to post it. We're delighted you all had such a good holiday in Tuscany and in Europe and hope it lasts long in the memory! We are very fortunate to have had such wonderful guests.
Best wishes, Hugh & Hazel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Dubaichap
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Idillic spot in the Tuscan countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 for a stay in September 2012

We stayed at this lovely house for 2 weeks and lovely every moment. Less than an hour from Pisa, and easy to find. Thanks to the owners for following up with us after our stay, and making recommendations of where to go and what to do in the area.
For us, a quiet, relaxing break away from the city - I couldn't imagine anywhere better and can't wait to return.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Scenery and peacefulness
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2013
Nick, We were delighted you enjoyed your stay and please pass on our thanks to the Digby's for recommending Casa a Corte and hope to see you all in the near future. We're glad that all the recommendations were successful and it was a very relaxing and peaceful break after your hectic life in the Middle East. Best wishes, Hugh & Hazel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Traveller...
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Tuscan Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The owners of Casa a Corte were incredibly helpful - nothing was too much trouble. They gave us the most detailed directions to the property, which meant we arrived stress free & helped enormously with suggestions for days out. The house itself was brilliantly equipped, which always makes things so much easier! There was nothing we wanted that we didn't have.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Beautiful home in a stunning location.
Liked least: Wish you could bring dogs!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and delighted that you will be returning with your family in 2014. It is always good to hear our suggestions for days-out and restaurants have been so successful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
JanetM625
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Access to the property was difficult due to the condition of the track which led to the property.The track which is steep and windy had deep gullies in it -we did not have a 4-wheel drive nor was it advised that we would need one.It made coming and going to and from the property very challenging.The nearest village was some 5 kms away.( We noticed a pile of road fill sitting at the side of the track -pity nobody had thought to use it to fill in the gullies and potholes.)
The location was beautiful though we could not enjoy the garden and pool due to unseasonably bad weather.We were to be a party of 7 but it was reduced to 3 people- the house can accommodate up to 8 people for sleeping but I would suggest the bathroom facilities would be inadequate for 8 people.The shower drain was not working properly in the downstairs bathroom and we had trouble trying to get the washing machine to spin the clothes adequately .

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
1 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
2 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Beautiful location , very quiet and peaceful
Liked least: Accesss to the property and bathroom facilities
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2013
We thank Janet for her feedback and take on board all her comments.
The village road (750m) has never been a problem for guests during the 13 years we have owned the property but unfortunately heavy rainfall had removed road chippings from the track. The council had set aside replacement stones but the repair was delayed due to further heavy rainfall.
May is usually a glorious month and we appreciate that it must have been extremely frustrating for Janet not to fully benefit from the 3 outdoor terraces, garden and pool due to this unseasonal wet week.
The washing machine is not a spin dryer but it will be serviced and the shower drain will be inspected.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
DaveyG_12...
Southampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“"It really captures the essence of the 'good life""”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We loved our stay at Casa a Corte. Located in the heart of such a beautiful Tuscan valley, it really captures the essence of the 'good life'. Surrounded by working olive groves and vineyards, you can witness the Italians going about their daily lives as they tend to their crops. A local shop in Ponte Moriano sells the local olive oil (extra virgin of course!) and wine (both produced on the farmhouse's doorstep!) so guests to A Corte can literally 'taste' their surroundings. Really quite magical. We often enjoyed a glass of the local red whilst soaking in the views from the picturesque main terrace. The perfect way to 'unwind' from a day by the pool! The vicinity to Lucca, the beach and the mountains also enabled us to get a very all-round experience of Tuscan life. We really enjoyed exploring beautiful Lucca and cycling around the walls and the beach and mountains offered us fantastic days-out! If you fancy travelling further afield, Florence is just over an hour by train and Pisa is even nearer - sadly we didn't do either! We were too content with the surrounding area to venture much further! One thing we particularly enjoyed was having supper cooked for us in the house. It worked out to be fantastic value and gave us the opportunity to really enjoy the beauty of the valley, whilst being served beautiful local food. Heaven or as the Italians would say 'paradiso'! Thanks to the owners for giving us a wonderful opportunity to enjoy the best of Italy & Michael for looking after us! We look forward to returning and will encourage friends and family to do the same.

The Gatenbys 4 - 18th June 2011

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: House and the location
Liked least: Going Home
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 9, 2011
As owners of the house it gives us so much pleasure to read positive reviews on A Corte & hear guests thoughts and new discoveries.
Because the area is so beautiful & the locals work so hard to maintain the land, we love it when guests venture into the countryside and see the wonderful flowers, rare birds and animals. One of the most stunning sights I have ever seen was in the valley surrounding the property when tens of thousands of fire flies illuminate the hills.
We always appreciate any ideas and suggestions.
Many thanks H&H
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Carluccio...
London
1 review
“A Tuscan Dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Review #4663154 "A Tuscan Dream"

We've been on two family holidays now to A Corte and it's been absolutely magical on both occasions. The converted farm house offers up exactly the kind of rustic charm that you'd envisage: perched on the hillside with spectacular views across a lush, Tuscan valley. If anything, the photos don't do it justice - views are also visible from the pool and the veranda which backs onto the pool area. The pool is a good size - large enough to swim lengths and for the kids to play games Inside the house, the furnishings are warm and tastleful, the interior is spotlessly clean and the bedrooms are large and comfortable. Outside there's an abundance of comfy furniture and a covered veranda which is great for barbeques in the evening. There are also a total of 3 terraces around the house, all offering great views of the valley. In terms of surrounding attractions, the house is a short drive from Lucca - a fantastically quaint medeival Italian city seemingly untainted by the modernising corporate brush. Definitely take the cycling tour around the walls to get a feel for the place and peer down into the city for a view of the stunning architecture that's prevalent throughout. the also have terrfific open air concerts in the main amphitheatre which are a must. There are also several great restaurants nearby in the hills - check out Antica locanda steak reestaurant for the best steak in the region! Finally, if you need a hand with anything, Michael, an English local who lives nearby, and helps maintain the property, is very forthcoming with any ad hoc help or advice that you might require. All in all - FABULOUS!!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The pool and the stunning views of the valley
Liked least: Not applicable
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 9, 2011
We love guests returning to A Corte with one family returning in 2012 for the 6th time.
The Dickman's now know more about the local area than some of the locals. They have eaten in all the wonderful restaurants, especially our favourite in the world, Antica Locanda and walked the highest peaks.
They are extremely energetic and have fallen in love with the Lucca area, Pietrasanta's cool art scene & skiing in nearby Abetone
Many thanks for all your stories, H&H
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$2,160
/ Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Hugh J
44 07789 931 644
Speaks English
Listed since : May 2008
Response Rate: 60 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 10 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing