We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why you stay in a B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Accommodation @ Undine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rosetta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colonial Accommodation @ Undine
Save
You added Colonial Accommodation @ Undine to your Saves list
6 Dodson Street, Rosetta, Glenorchy, Tasmania 7010, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Rosetta B&B and Inns
Gympie, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Why you stay in a B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

A beautiful historic B&B a short drive out of Hobart's town centre, very near MONA, but the stars of this B&B are the owners Tricia and Rocco! They are the perfect B&B hosts, Tricia is a wonderful cook, her breakfasts are to die for and every afternoon my husband and I could hardly wait to get home to see what little treats she had baked for afternoon tea. If we said Tricia was the chief cook, we would say Rocco is the front of house man in so much as he chats and pours tea and coffee whilst Tricia cooks the divine breakfast (oops he also drives the toaster very well!). He is a fund of knowledge on where to go and what to do, even drew us a great map as to where to park for Salamanca markets.

We loved our stay at Undine and as B&B owners ourselves really appreciated someone else looking after us so very well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
13
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Very comfortable accommodation and friendly service. We stayed two nights, and had a good night sleep on both nights. The owners offered helpful suggestions to for places to visit while travelling too.

Room Tip: The MONA special room, while a little small, is still very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our room was extremely spacious, clean, warm and comfortable. Breakfast which was cooked by our hosts was excellent.

History of the building was also interesting to discover.

Close to the Glenorchy Mountain Bike Park.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The B&B is simply lovely. The colonial charm and coziness is wonderful. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay here. The complimentary cake and hot beverages (and not forgetting the pott in the room), are added delight. We even received a complimentary upgrade to a larger room.

Breakfast is good (if there is an option, I would recommend the cooked breakfast rather than the continental breakfast - Tricia is a good cook). Rocco has great tips to travel around Hobart and Tasmania. Undine is very near to Cadbury factory and MONA Museum, but you need to have your own transport to travel around. Thank you Tricia & Rocco, for making our stay a memorable one.

Sandra & Jega

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

After staying at a B&B that was smelly and old we were pleasantly surprised with Undine. Tricia and Rocco were so welcoming and provided cakes, chocolates and port as complimentary inclusions. The room was spacious, clean and had everything you could want. When we return to Hobart, this is where we will stay!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austinmer, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I was travelling alone and wary of the B&B experience, but was made to feel very welcome- including the welcoming text message. My room 'Joshua' was cosy and had the old world feeling I was after. My hosts gave me valuable advice about the best way to 'do' the MONA, and I enjoyed a quiet read and glass of complimentary port on the front verandah in the late afternoon sunshine. Coincidentally, Blondie were playing the Derwent Entertainment Centre and I grabbed a ticket and had a great time- only 5 minutes' drive away! I had a lovely stay and would definitely recommend Undine to anyone.

Room Tip: 'Joshua' is a small room but perfect for one person, and the lovely outlook onto the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Undine was a bit different to what I expected.

Our room, small, furniture hodgepodge of styles, en suite basic and a corner tap basin next to the door were all pretty average to what other reviews left me to expect. The bedding was nice and attractive.

It is near the main highway out of Hobart but extremely quiet with good parking. It's not close to anything, only close to the over rated MONA gallery.

The common areas were cosy and warm perfect for winter, but on a warm spring day found it stuffy with no opening windows. In summer there is no air conditioning and it would be uncomfortable in the small heritage style rooms.

Garden surrounding the old house, is quite over grown with old broken furniture and older kids swing set that were obviously the kids of the owner. If this is meant to be a selling point, it needs updating as is the pool on offer with restricted hours and looks uninviting to my husband and I.

Breakfast only offered toast, as much as we wanted but this was sitting in the family's kitchen whilst the owners grilled us with questions. I certainly expected a bit more for the price and I think the room we had was the cheapest. A separate area should be provided for breakfast. I just wanted to sit and read the paper they had kindly provided not be asked endless things. I know a B&B is personal but this seems a bit too much.

They were very friendly but we paid $150 for the stay worth $80. Very over priced. To pay these tariffs a lot of money needs to be thrown at updating the place, though we found Tassy accommodation to be rather overpriced. It must be difficult to get things perfect for each guest, for me it was a real miss.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UndineHobart, Owner at Colonial Accommodation @ Undine, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B.

We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.

Joshua’s room is our standard room and yes is considerably smaller than our other rooms. This room was the original Class Room in 1840 when Mrs Stevens ran Undine as a Seminary for Young Girls.

But we have managed to include a shower, toilet, hand basin, queen bed, Huon pine bedside cupboards, TV, DVD player, Heater, Cooling Fan and complimentary port and chocolates.

A Continental Breakfast was included with this room, which offered a selection of 2 juices, Homemade Muesli, Weet-bix, Rice Bubbles, Cornflakes, Bran & Coco pops along with 3 to 4 fruits and yoghurt. Toast Wholemeal, wholegrain and white with homemade raspberry, blackberry and marmalade are provided along with endless cups of tea / Coffee or Milo. This was offered to you during your stay.

The Guest Lounge area with the complimentary tea & coffee, home baked biscuits and cakes with fresh milk does have opening windows and a cooling fan. Opening windows are also provided in the sunroom overlooking the rear garden.

Being a Heritage Listed building we apologise but we are unable to install air conditioners, however the building does provide a natural insulation with its huge sandstone blocks.

We are sorry that you feel the room with breakfast for 2 was overpriced; Booking through a wholesaler is always a little more expensive than going through our direct website.

We have taken on board your comments regarding the garden and yard and acknowledge that this area is hard to keep on top off with our recent weather in Hobart.

Thanks again for taking the time to review our property; I hope that the remainder of your stay in Hobart was enjoyable.

Regards,
Tricia & Rocco Di Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial Accommodation @ Undine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Accommodation @ Undine

Address: 6 Dodson Street, Rosetta, Glenorchy, Tasmania 7010, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Glenorchy > Rosetta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rosetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest homes in Tasmania Undine circa 1816 is a fine example of an old Georgian house. A unique hosted Bed and Breakfast providing friendly 4.5 star accommodation. Accommodating a maximum of 15 guests with a range of spacious rooms all with en-suite facilities, televisions, DVDs and free broadband access. Relax and enjoy our fully cooked country style breakfast as your Tasmanian born hosts share their local knowledge. Relax in the Heated Salt Water Pool b/w 5.30pm and 6.30pm daily. Easy access to all local attractions, 4 minute drive to MONA, 3 minutes to Derwent Entertainment Centre & Tattersalls Park, 10 minutes to Hobart CBD. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colonial Accommodation @ Undine Rosetta, Tasmania, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Accommodation @ Undine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.