We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a detour...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Howden

Save Saved
You added Villa Howden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Villa Howden
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   77 Howden Road, Howden, Kingborough, Tasmania 7054, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Howden B&B and Inns
Margaret River, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Well worth a detour...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

... from anywhere!
A feeling of being in the
country even though a stone's throw from Hobart, this beautiful property is a joy to stay in. Brian and his team do a fabulous job at front of house, while head chef Terry cooks up a storm in the kitchen. One of the best places I've had the pleasure of spending time. And the music is great. Bliss!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian W, General Manager at Villa Howden, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear WiltonLondon,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor and your gret comments. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for your feedback and suggestions during your stay, very much appreciated.

Kind Regards
Brian Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

A beautiful place to stay. The attention to detail in the grounds and buildings are second to none. The staff were the perfect mix of attentive but giving you your own space as well as being friendly and helpful. On our stay the restaurant had only been open a couple of weeks so the menu was limited but the quality of the food and service excellent. We stayed in the tower room which was absolutely perfect and worth every cent. We felt welcome to use the lounge and other common rooms which were pleasant to sit back with a wine in front of the fire and just relax. We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian W, General Manager at Villa Howden, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Renno-Em,

We are very happy to hear all your wonderful comments and thanks for the review. The staff and I always find ourselves refreshed after hearing positive feedback about the property and service. Thank you for your understanding with the dinners - we really want to make sure we get it right with the food, so we are taking it a slow approach to make it work correctly.

Sitting back in front of the fire with a nice wine... what a lovely way to relax and unwind! We look forward to seeing you next year.

Kind Regards
Brian Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The staff at Villa Howden looked after us exceptionally well. Brian, the manager, and one of the staff members were out the door to greet us as soon as we arrived in the car park - ready to carry our bags and settle us in. Their unobtrusive attention to our needs set the scene for a much needed restful break. We dined in the restaurant on the first evening and had a fabulous meal. Breakfasts were equally good.
The setting is perfect and very reminiscent of being in Europe. There are a number of lounge areas to sit and enjoy the view, the magazines, the exceptional Tasmanian wine.
We will return.
Geoff and Philippa
29 October, 2012

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian W, General Manager at Villa Howden, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear pathomas,

It is very nice to read your positive review and the good comments regarding the meals and about the staff and property. Most of all though, we are pleased you were able to enjoy a well desrved break - for us, when we hear this, we know we have done our job properly.

We look forward to having you back in the not too distant future

Kind Regards
Brian Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We loved our stay at Villa Howden. Lovely setting, close to Hobart. Tastefully decorated hotel and room. We chose to have dinner there and it was beautiful.
What we really enjoyed were the little things like the soft towels, nice linen and complimentary drinks. Couldn't believe that a really nice cooked breakfast was part of price.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian W, General Manager at Villa Howden, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Seanm_nz,

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed staying at Villa Howden and for the recommendation. We appreciate knowing how the little things add so much to guest's enjoyment of the property.

Kind Regards
Brian Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Before I comment on my actual review, I'd like to give other travellers an idea of how we came to stay at villa Howden. We were planning a holiday in tasmania in late September. We are used to staying in 5 star hotels and luxury apartments, and were disappointed by the dearth of options in Hobart. The Henry jones was booked out, and nothing much else seemed up to scratch. Somehow we found a link to the villa Howden website, and on initial impression was "wow" this place looks great. The only thing holding us back from booking straight away was the thought of a 15 min drive to Hobart. Then, the more research we did around the rest of our week in Hobart, we started to realise "hey, we need a car anyway, we need a car to get to mona, to Cadbury, to cascade, to the wineries, to port Arthur" if we're going to need a car for the whole time, what does it matter where we stay? So that's how we came to book villa Howden.

And what a great decision that was. Our initial phone and email correspondence was so proactive, helpful and engaging. We were travelling with two small children, and were made to feel so welcome (dont worry single couples, this place is huge, and theres plenty of rooms far away from the family rooms!) On arrival, we were offered glasses of tassie sparkling, and the hosts had made a really special effort to welcome our daughter who was celebrating her 4th birthday. That night, we had a family dinner in their restaurant, replete with a special birthday cake for our daughter. The following morning we experienced the best hotel breakfast ever - seriously, the breakfast menu is astounding - Bircher muesli, traditional hot breakfast, eggs florentine, tassie smoked salmon, pancakes with caramelised banana....
The rooms are large, luxurious, with beautiful bedding and great bathrooms. They're also decked out with boutique toiletries and a nespresso coffee machine with plenty of pods, and a complimentary minibar. The hotel has a great little library with books and Internet, a gorgeous downstairs bar, lounge and piano area and fireplaces.
However, the piece de resistance is the grounds of this facility - an immaculate indoor pool which feels like a poolhouse from a luxury hamptons house, and a fantastic view of the bay. The place feels so secluded, so relaxing like a little piece of paradise. Each morning we'd wake up, have a gorgeous breakfast, stroll around the grounds, then bundle our kids into the car and head off for our next adventure. The drive into Hobart is 10-15 mins, but you'd hardly even notice it! Most days, truth be told, we'd drive straight past the CBD and keep going, whether it be to the wineries, port Arthur, MONA or the other attractions. The brunt island ferry is also very close to Howden.
For dining options, we used the hotel restaurant, on another night we went to bate mans bay (nice pub on the beach) and few nights we ate in Hobart. They are many prominent regional restaurant dotted along the coast down the Huon trail.
We really couldn't recommend this highly enough to anyone thinking of travelling to Hobart. Couples, honeymooners, families, grey nomads, foreigners. We are dying to comeback. Or daughter calls her "castle"!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian W, General Manager at Villa Howden, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear GedRachC,

Thank you so much for the review, full of a lot of details about your stay and so glad to see you and the family enjoyed yourselves. You were a delight to have at Villa Howden and your daughters were just beautiful and so very well behaved, a real credit to you as parents. We like to make people feel at home when they visit us and looks like we achieved that with you.

I have shown your review and comments to the team, they are all pleased and everyone one says hello. I hope your parcel arrived home safely as well. We look forward to welcoming you back to Villa Howden and hope this will be sooner rather than later.

Kind Regards
Brian Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at Villa Howden for two nights whilst in Hobart to visit MONA. Villa Howden is fifteen minutes south of Hobart in a quiet area which looks onto the bay. The Villa is elegant and well appointed and includes details such as luxurious towels and complimentary bar as well as full sized shampoo's etc. An ala carte breakfast was also included in our room rate and we feasted on Bircher muesli, smoked salmon and French toast. They were even able to accommodate me with a chai latte with my breakfast. Service was friendly and helpful and overall we found our whole stay charming.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian W, General Manager at Villa Howden, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Lisa43,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your stay at Villa Howden, I am very pleased you enjoyed our beautiful hotel. We strive to make people feel relaxed and at home and I hope we have ahieved this for you. I have passed on your comments to the staff and they appreciate your encouragement a great deal. I trust you enjoyed MONA - it certainly is an amazing place - and I look forward to welcoming you back to Villa Howden soon.

Kind Regards
Brian Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Howden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Howden

Also Known As:
Villa Howden Tasmania, Australia
Address: 77 Howden Road, Howden, Kingborough, Tasmania 7054, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Kingborough > Howden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Howden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Howden 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Howden offers a range of ten luxury suites each of which is beautifully decorated with luxurious furnishings and antiques. Heated indoor pool, library, piano bar are all enjoyed by guests. The restaurant features the best of Tasmania's produce, served in intimate settings. The elegant Water View and Villa suites seamlessly blend with the breathtaking natural scenery. The Tower suite is a welcoming, unique retreat which provides panoramic views across the North West Bay. Just 15 minutes from Hobart, you can enjoy the peace and serenity of the pure Tasmanian wilderness around you from the comfort of your own private suite, most offering full length window balconies and enhanced with a selection of luxurious in-room amenities, including the latest Sony iPod Dock, complimentary Wi-Fi and Nespresso coffee machine. Your Stay at Villa Howden includes full breakfast, complimentary in-suite bar and luxurious Serendipity Australian made hotel cosmetics. Villa Howden restaurant is open for breakfast, weekend high-teas and dinner is available seven nights to in-house guests and Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights to the public. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Villa Howden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Howden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.