We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A DELIGHT FROM START TO FINISH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rockliffe Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rockliffe Hall to your Saves list
Rockliffe Hall
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hurworth-On-Tees | County Durham, Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington DL2 2DU, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Autumn Breaks from £159
UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A DELIGHT FROM START TO FINISH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Rockliffe Hall provided a superb venue for an overnight stay to celebrate a family birthday. The room was lovely and superbly equipped although slightly hot with no obvious way of cooling it down. Dining in the Orangerie restaurant was a delight with a superb three course meal for dinner available for a £20 supplement on the basic rate. It was well worth the extra. The food was beautiful and the service excellent yet unobtrusive, The Spa is lovely although treatments are very expensive. Golf is also very good with a new, long course that has yet to settle down fully and a superb clubhouse where you can get well fed and watered and keep your golf spikes on!

Room Tip: Try for an upgrade to an Old Hall Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    132
    46
    19
    15
See reviews for
158
547
14
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

Went for my birthday in feb 2012as a treat from my girlfriend, overnight stay with 3 course meal in the Brasserie use of the Spa , breakfast the next morning and a round of golf for two,
May I just say there was a hiccup with a new system they were installing and the outcome was they offered
1 to upgrade our room
2 complementary drinks
3 upgrade to A La Carre
I can sum this stay up in one word Magnificent
Ian knight from the Golf Acadamey was unbelievable with his and the hotel stay it was value for money
Don't let it pass you by
Paul & Alison

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amble, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

My partner and I wanted a romantic evening away to celebrate Valentines day, so we chose the Rockliffe Hotel ... and we were not disappointed.
It's beautiful location, just a short walk away from the picaresque Hurworth Village, and surrounded by a golf course, it's truly romantic and relaxing.
Our room was simply enormous with everything you could wish for...including mood lighting and dining area. For the ladies there was a dedicated make-up area and the bathroom was a dream come true. I would think everyone who stays here will be very impressed. Our meal in the Orangery was delicious and served by staff who believed in exceptional good service. Sadly we didn't have time to experience the spa facilities but we will be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on business for two nights and this was my 2nd time there. The grounds are lovely and it's a very relaxing setting. The staff are very attentive but not over the top. The hotel is gorgeous throughout. My room was huge, the bed was so comfortable and felt luxurious. The bathroom had a walk in shower and a good size bath with a plasma TV above the bath. I also liked that it was fresh milk in the fridge for making tea and coffee. It's such a wonderful place to unwind. Dinner was really nice and I loved breakfast. Hot food was cooked to order and the breads and pastries were lovely. I would love to go bach to the hotel adn spend a couple of days.

Room Tip: All rooms looked gorgeous although if you are not in the main building you will have to walk further...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My wife and I have just spent a wonderful stay at this Luxuries Hotel and Spa.
The Location is fantastic , from entering the drive way leading to the valet parking and entering the reception you feel like a Lord.
The Room we had was excellent very spacious with everything you require to relax, we put on the Spa robes and walked down to the fabulous Spa area with everything at your finger tips from swimming to steam , Sauna , Tropical Room and Ice Room with a hydro pool as well.
The restaurants offer a fantastic menu selection and the wine list matches all the way.
We had booked Dinner Bed & Breakfast package , which was excellent value , we also took advantage of the Spa through to early pm before we left , very relaxed and rejuvenated

I will say the staff were excellent both in their greeting , service and presentation , a major plus for a UK 5 star location these days.

We will be back , for longer when we are next back from Dubai.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a 1 night stay. This place is first class. From the moment we arrived staff were so friendly and welcoming, taking our cases etc. The room was beautiful, large and very comfortable - loved the tv in the bathroom.

We ate in the brasserie and it was simply devine, one of the best meals I've had in a long time. Breakfast too was delicious.

Spa is fantastic and is definately worth a visit.

All in all a fabulous stay and would definately come back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne, england
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Thanks to very generous friends we had a voucher for a meal in the orangery, so decided to stay overnight. The room was large and comfortable, but decorated in very dark colours. the lighting is very complex and we couldn't get the bedroom light enough to apply make up, this was only possible in the bathroom, my partner turned off the bedroom lights while I was in there and bathroom lights went out also, maybe traditional switches would be better?
If you're a foodie then the Orangery is definitely worth a visit, we sampled the Prestige menu with wine matching for each course. WOW!! Best meal I have had, will definitely be back to the restaurant. Staff were very friendly and informative, they do a great job.

Room Tip: We had a tiplady lodge room, very quiet, but you need to go outside to reach hotel facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rockliffe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockliffe Hall

Address: Hurworth-On-Tees | County Durham, Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington DL2 2DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington > Hurworth-on-Tees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hurworth-on-Tees
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rockliffe Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockliffe Hall is the only five red star hotel in the North of England. Set on a magnificent 18th century estate on the banks of the River Tees, Rockliffe Hall is a destination in itself. Rockliffe Hall's world-class spa and golf course, well-equipped meeting rooms, three restaurants and sublime service ensure it is the perfect place to escape and relax, to do business, and to create memories that will linger on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rockliffe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockliffe Hall Hotel Hurworth-On-Tees
Rockliffe Hall Hurworth-On-Tees, United Kingdom - Darlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockliffe Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.