We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Croft Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Croft Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Croft Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Dalton Road, Croft-on-Tees DL2 2ST, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Croft-on-Tees
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Go for the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Spent 1 night here recently. The staff are all friendly, especially the restaurant staff who couldn't do enough for you. Happened to stay on a Tuesday, and were amazed at being able to take our own wine into dinner ( you can drop it off before and they will have it ready for dinner ). The food was excellent, and they obviously have some very experienced chefs in the kitchen. Very good value for money - will definately stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    32
    25
    11
    5
See reviews for
19
36
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Spent one night as a try out as heard it had been refurbished. Booked an executive room on a deal which included breakfast. Excellent deal as normal breakfast price is £12.50 each so effectively saved £25. Why do most hotels charge exorbitant prices for breakfast which are never worth the money? Saying that the Croft breakfast was very good as was dinner the previous evening. Smallish but varied menu, excellent value for money, well presented and well cooked food. Said to be a gastro pub and would highly recommend. Small range of wines at good prices. Bar prices also reasonable.
Very large room with hige comfotable bed. Decor traditional rather than modern(teak furnitiure and wood panelling). Not to my taste but OK. Big bathroom, very difficult to use shower fitting.
No slippers or robes which would have expected in an executive room .
Good car parking. Very friendly and helpful staff, eager to please.
Nothing in the area but only 5 mniutes drive from Darlington.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair M, General Manager at The Croft Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear 73GP Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your stay recently. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt we have done a great job with refurbishing the The Croft. Im pleased you enjoyed your meal in the new Gastropub, you may be interested to know we are currently introducing some great new offers, which you can find on our website.
We do include breakfast with in all of our room rates, the £12.50 is only charged to non residents visiting the Hotel. We always take our customer feedback very seriously and I will raise your comments with our team, especially your view to providing slippers and robes. We look forward to your next visit at The Croft
Kind regards
Alistair Mathieson
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the newly renovated Croft Hotel in Darlington recently and were very pleased with the service we received.

My husband is a celiac and as such finding venues that have a separate tea rooms that sell afternoon tea is always something of a disappointment for him as most cakes, pastries, sandwiches etc contain them.

When we asked what was available they told us that their chef would prepare a range of products that do not contain gluten. They then turned up with a 3 tier cake stand filled with a selection of dainty sandwiches, cakes, pastries and delicious desserts - which looked exactly the same as what everyone else was eating.

My husband said that they all tasted delicious - the staff went well and truly over and above what we expected. My soup was home-made and delicious too. The hotel room we stayed in had a king size bed and was cosy, very homely, clean and well maintained.

Evening dinner was the best part of the stay for me though, as it was perfection. I had a lamb dish that I wish I could replicate at home, it was just delicious.

Breakfast is something special too as they offer things like eggs Benedict as well as the traditional full English. They even remembered that my husband was a celiac and offered fried bread and toast in gluten free bread, which again was a nice touch.

The place is a million times better than it was before, but the staff have remained just as friendly, so it's a total winner all round now.

We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the croft for new year, the first being 2 years ago.
I applaud them the renovations that have been done so far but there are far too many areas that need attention.
We were called a few days before we were due to go to the hotel telling us that the upgrade was behind schedule! Why they could not have done this at the beginning of December giving us time to find an alternative new year destination we will never know! They should never have gone ahead with the planned new year party with the hotel as it was.
We, a party of 8, opted to go as we had paid in full and could not find any other available function.
We arrived to find that things were very much behind! The lovely lounge area was no more, yet more tables and chairs were in the place of the lovely old Sofa's leaving nowhere for any guests to relax, getting to our rooms we found various problems like no water or glasses, only 1 coffee cup in a double room, very heavy discoloured grout in the bathrooms, no drawers in some rooms, only one wardrobe & no drawers in the twin room. The staff were very helpful and corrected what they could when asked but they seemed thin on the ground.
We had an absolutely fantastic meal in the new dining room, which is lovely however all the lights were still wrapped in plastic?

We did not sleep well, the bed was so creaky we were constantly woken up when one of us moved in the night!

The breakfast was very good on both days, no complaints really about any of the food even the new year dinner was very good, the only complaint being all the courses were brought far too quickly leaving no time to digest between courses.
We went out on New Year's Eve day and returned about 2.30pm to find that none of the rooms had been serviced and that it seemed that there was only one lady expected to service all the rooms as well as make up the new rooms for other guests that arrived.
To make matters worse, there were only 27 people for the New Years party! There was no atmosphere there were empty tables. The hall was not really finished, no shades on lamps, no pictures, a small lonely Xmas tree, the staff were good and attentive but it was a bit of a non starter! Disappointed.

To be fair we have been invited back to see the hotel when it is finished as an apology but they will have a long list of todo's in order to make our return visit of a standard they are promising.

They need to pay attention to the small details, they are important. They need to assess the beds as a good nights sleep is imperative, it is wonderful that they have kept the character as much as possible but this must not be to the detriment of a guests comfort

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I arrived on a snowy evening to a warm welcome from the staff here. The hotel is being refurbished and will be closed early January from what the staff were saying. The exterior looks superb and work is being done on the interior. I have to say that if the interior comes up to the standards of the exterior then this could be a superb character hotel. My room was of a good size with a four poster bed. Facilities were good with a modern television of typical size for a hotel room, trouser press and tea making accompaniments (May be an oversight, but oddly no saucers with the cups).The are some rather fine interior features with beams and antique style seating that give an upmarket aire to the hotel. Only the bar dining area was open during my stay due to the refurbishment. It was very dated whilst still managing to be welcoming. The manageress was very enthusiastic about the changes that will shortly be taking place in this area. I chose a lasagne from the menu which was substantial and a little on the stodgy side - it did the job but no more! Not really up to the standard that the new hotel facade leads you to expect. The hotel is in a pretty, rural location just 40 minutes from Middlesborough where I was working. I will be back as this hotel has the feel of something potentially very good and hopefully the standard of the food will equal the standard of the refurbishment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

They were still busy with buildingwork so doors are open and was it very cold. No music at all and that just for christmas time . Rooms were very cold . No atmosphere at all. No compensation at all for the unconvience we had. Arrogant manager. Room old fashion and bed oncomfortabele.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for one night with son occupying separate room. We were going out in the evening so didn't experience the dinner menu. We stayed in 'The Club' (room 7) which was a good sized room with lots of dark oak panelling to the walls. No complaints with the room generally, but the bathroom was a little lacking in storage space; there was no shelf over the washbasin, so nowhere to stand anything except on the table out side the door, and there was no towel rail other than a radiator. My wife couldn't turn the shower tap on, so I had to do it, but very difficult to adjust the water temperature to an acceptable level; I finished up taking a tepid shower. Oh, and we couldn't turn it off properly, so it dripped all night. We also experienced several loud clunks from the heating system in the night. Our son's room was at the front of the hotel and in spite of secondary double glazing, could still hear the traffic going by. When we arrived, he found somebody else's clothing in his wardrobe; this was reported to the front desk and it was removed during the evening whilst we were out; we did receive a profound apology for this happening. The quality of the breakfast was excellent, but whilst the staff were pleasant, their attitude was cool and not overly welcoming. We had requested skimmed milk for my wife, through Booking.com, but when we asked about it were told 'No, we don't have that'. Whilst we were still eating, the table was being cleared; an empty teapot was removed, but replaced by a full one. However, when I went to pour more tea, I found the milk jug had already been removed.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a room at the back of the building, there is quite a lot of traffic passes by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Croft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croft Hotel

Address: Dalton Road, Croft-on-Tees DL2 2ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Croft-on-Tees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Croft-on-Tees
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Croft Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Croft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Croft Hotel Croft-On-Tees
Best Western Darlington
Croft Spa Hotel
Darlington Best Western
Best Western Croft
The Croft Hotel Croft-On-Tees, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Croft Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.