We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Wedding at Walworth Castle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Walworth Road, Walworth, Darlington DL2 2LY, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walworth
Northallerton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My Wedding at Walworth Castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

firstly let me extend my thoughts on this hotel.
e arrived on thr Friday night myself 4 children and my chief bridesmaid, we were allocated the room we had requested overlooking the front of the hotel, where we could see everyone arriving on the Sat morning. We were totally happy with the set up of the room and the staff helped us with all our thibgs to the room, we went down to the carvery for our tea and the food was fantastic.
We had many questions that needed to be answered during the year leading upto us getting married and Surrinder the manager was fantastic, always there to answer quiestions and to help with anythingh he could.
On the morning of the wedding we had an abundance of people in and out of the room, whilst we were getiting ready as you can imagine, as the bride we were moving to the honeymoon suite that night, how was i going to get all my stuff over there?, not a problem as long as its all in a suitcase the staff will move it for you! great!
We had phone calls from surinder throughout the morning, checking we were all ok, and even when all the guest's arrived they were helped to there rooms by the staff.
All in all the day was exquisite, the staff could not of done more to help, Surinder was more that helpfull, and i was so pleased to have him overseeing the wedding, i could not of wished for a better day, made more pleaseuable by the satff.
Food was excellent, and the grounds were fantastic, as for reviwes on this hotel posted by many different people, you only get what you put in, Surrinder is in no way rude, arrogant, and neither were any of the staff. Some peolpe have many different views, all i can say is my day was perfect, and we had guests of 100+ there, everyone commented on how nice the food was the venue and the fact that the staff were so helpfull.

A big thanks go to all of you who helped in making my day so special.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    120
    72
    48
    20
See reviews for
64
242
13
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

We had the misfortune to meet with the manager Surinder --, or Walworth Castle's very own Sales Prevention Officer, recently to discuss a wedding booking. The BAD (and I mean very bad!!) attitude of the staff unfortunately lets this beautiful establishment down. We weren't even offered a cursory greeting on arrival and the visit went steadily downhill from there. I cannot stress how uncomfortable this arrogant little man made us feel.

We do not expect subservience but surely a friendly welcoming manner should be a prerequisite certainly from a manager employed in the hospitality trade. We couldn't get away quick enough, indeed the bride to be was horrified when she asked who would be overseeing the ceremony and was advised it would be Surinder himself!!!

So upsetting was this visit that I decided to complain direct to Best Western, at this point not realising that the Castle is actually privately owned, they in turn forwarded my concerns directly to a somewhat defensive Mrs --, the hotel director, whose response was again verging on the point of rudeness. There was no offer of apology, infact she was only sorry that we had chosen to go direct to Best Western, I was advised that the hotel had not had any other derogatory remarks concerning their staff; she quite clearly hasn't read the reviews on this site.

We were bitterly disappointed at the total lack of courtesy shown to us from the team at Walworth Castle and would advise any would be guest - be it hotel or like ourselves a customer looking for a social venue to be aware. There are far better hotels locally where you won't be made to feel like you are something that has been trod in on the bottom of someones shoe!!

A little footnote: Just a few miles away is a beautiful hotel The Redworth Hall. We popped in there following our visit to Walworth, without an appointment I might add, to request some literature on their weddings. We were met with a lovely warm welcome and the staff there went out of their way to accommodate - so much so we booked the venue there and then. Take note Walworth Castle.

Stayed March 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

Within a 20 mile radius there are 2 superb Best Western hotels - now there is a 3! What a choice. The Walworth Castle Hotel was a lovely surprise, exactly how it has descirbed itself - a castle set in very peaceful surroundings (the new born lambs was an added bonus). The staff are very welcoming, I was lucky enough to be offered a free upgrade to a suite in the castle as I belong to the BW awards scheme (without asking). The room was very spacious with a four poster bed and all facilities were there to make my stay very comfortable. The food was excellent - both breakfast and the evening meal. There is a cosy bar for the evening. Best Western also offer free WiFi which was great and the price of my stay was reasonable too . I would definately stay here again.

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancahire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

food atrocious, chps were burnt, in fact anything fried.Yorkshire pudding was like cardboard, and meat tasteless.
Would not recommend eating in the Farmers bar.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

Didn't book basic room as wanted something more special, thought there must have been a mistake as basic rooms looked far better on hotel website than the one we had been allocated. I had to stand on tiptoe to see out of the window, space was very limited & room was dull & shabby. Informed reception staff of our disappointment & we were offered an alternative which was more expensive & had large bay window with view over gardens. With hindsight I should have asked about other options as the hotel was extremely quiet whilst we were there but we were just so relieved not to be staying in the first room. The bed was hard so we did not sleep well. On one occasion there was water dripping through the ceiling from a room above into the hallway outside the bar area, on reporting it to a member of staff, we were told it sometimes does that & she got two metal containers from the kitchen to collect the water. Having said all this, the staff were pleasant & the meals in the Farmer's Bar were excellent but we will not be staying at a Best Western Hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

The hotel was booked for me by someone at work on instruction to find a hotel under £80.00 per night. Walworth Castle came in at £75.00. Imagine then my surprise when we turned in to the ompressive drive and saw a 12th century castle in front of us!
The hotel has been added to and after a pleasent check in experience, I wnet to my room that was in the more modern part of the building. first impressions were good.
Recently rennovated by the look of it with tasteful decor and nice sof furnishings.

Furniture itself was very basic however. The initial impression of the room was tempered a bit by a lack of attention to detail and a failure to remedy small faults. Ivy had grown through the upper window making it impossible to close it fully, the bathroom fan was mounted in a cracked window and didn't work. A broken floor tile leaft a very sharp edge that could have cut feet, and the shower barely provided enough water to get wet.

The bar area next to reception is small but pleasent enough, and it was a shame that the weather was not warm enoug to sit out on the pleasent patio area at the front of the hotel. Restaurant menu was a bit strange - nearly all of the starters were vegitarian, but not one of the main courses offered a vegitarian option (I noticed it because one of my colleages is vegitarian). My meal was OK but a bit lacking in flavour, but was very well priced. Service was OK, waiters were friendly and helpful although had no knowledge of the wine list.

Room was queit overnight and breakfast was a good combination of buffet and cooked english.

Overall, I would say the hotel was very good value for money and provided a pleasent overnight stay in stunning surroundings. Give it a try!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

When I booked the room I was told that I had to have a four-poster room to accommodate ourselves and our two children. Consequently it was much more expensive than I was hoping for. The hotel therefore had a lot to live up to in my opinion. I can honestly say that I wasn't disappointed! The room was huge and very comfortably furnished. All the fittings etc were good quality and the "feel" of the room was quite opulent. The hotel itself is amazing - a real castle set in beautiful grounds. The meal we had (at the wedding we were attending) was excellent although the evening buffet was mediocre. The breakfast was fine without being anything special. The staff were pleasant but not particularly forthcoming with information until asked. All in all I would definately recommend it for a special treat.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

Address: Walworth Road, Walworth, Darlington DL2 2LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington > Walworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Darlington's Premier Hotel nestled in 18 acres of Lawns and Woodland is the ideal location for meetings and conferences, wedding receptions and romantic getaways. 32 individually designed bedrooms. Complimentary Wifi access throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Darlington
Darlington Best Western
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel Darlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.