We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view,great lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amandari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Amandari to your Saves list
Amandari
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Raya Kedewatan | PO Box 33, Kedewatan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kedewatan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Great view,great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed at Amandari's sister resort Amankila and decided to do a day trip to Ubud as we had not been there for about 14 years. Ubud has definately changed during that time - chaotic, noisy,busy+++. Thankfully the lovely people at Amankila had organised for us to have lunch at Amandari. What a gorgeous place. The view was spectacular and the people at the resort were so welcoming. We had a fabulous lunch and were pampered all the way. I immediately felt relaxation ooze from every pore as we entered the peaceful, tranquil surrounds of Amandari. We love Amankila for the beach and views but I can fully understand the fantastic reviews his resort receives. Dfinately on my wish list.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    17
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
45
105
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
370 helpful votes 370 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The visuals, service, color scheme, food and beautiful room (we were towards the south in a pool villa), make this one of our favorite hotels.  Pickup at Denpasar airport was flawless - staff wear white uniforms - easy to spot though they spotted us first.  A 1.5 hour drive up to ubud in a comfortable private van.  Check in took place in our room next to the plentiful fruit basket at one of the center tables - replenished daily.  Then the rest is up to you. 

We had  complimentary van service to downtown Ubud both for dinner and shopping.  We scheduled an early morning trek to the Agung River followed by breakfast but were rained out which is unusual this time of year - did the massage instead.  We also took advantage of complimentary afternoon tea overlooking the infinity pool.  Yoga was just too early. 

The room is large - sitting area, desk, paper panelled doors behind the bed and on to the pool area which is part of  a large balcony and a separate seating area overseeing rice paddies.  The bathroom is large with his and her areas and closet space, separate showers and outside bathtub, toiletries of the highest caliber and a complimentary  sarong for visits to the temples; a trip that can be arranged for an additional cost.  

Breakfast is extra, dinner was excellent, drivers are patient (I left my gold earrings at a shop where I tried on and purchased silver earrings.)  The driver  took us back and helped us find the shop and my earrings. 

During the first visit we used the hotel mainly as a base.  This time we enjoyed every single  minute and each one of our senses was treated to an array of surprises and treats. 

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

last week I went for dinner to Amandari invite by friend of mine.Amandari was amazing:every full moon they have dance prefomance by kids from Kedewatan village,afterward dinner in the restourant,3 people playing gamelan rindik(balinese music from bamboo),I feel I was somewhere :-D,event I live in the same area with Amandari,but it was my first time there.
The food was"two thumps up:speacially for chocolate mousse and also chicken breast".guarantee you will not be disappointed to have dinner there,please take your partner,the place so romantic :-))

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Amandari is actually more beautiful than the photos on the web. They so kindly upgraded us to a pool villa #12 and it was absolutely surreal. The view of the rice paddy fields was peaceful and breathtaking. The wind blowing through the entire first floor was memorable. Our villa was 2 floors and the view from our bedroom on the second floor was awe inspiring. The paintings on the walls and ceiling of our bed was what gave the room its unique balinese touch that made this resort unique compared to the others in the Aman group. Sidhartha and his team made sure our little boy had a cozy crib and delicious breakfasts every day. This is what sets Aman resorts apart from the rest.. personalized service, the feeling of quietness and space in the resort (like you are the only ones there) and the attention to details. We cant wait to go back to Amandari. It is a true refuge for the soul.

Room Tip: Villa #12 and 15 have amazing views and are totally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bali
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Cannot compare with others
Created as a bream still dreaming
Great food love it

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo, Japan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

No he wasn't. But we could feel the timeless charm of the Balinese Culture and Architecture. The best is to take one of the packages with activities, it's actually great deals. For kids, the nannies are great there. Villas are just so relaxing and indulging, it's the best Aman to me, very respectful of the Balinese Architecture and with the right crowd of people, looking for peace, culture and sport. For Shanghai style resort, go for the 4 seasons, gorgeous style and marble everywhere. Here in Amandari, the resort is part of its environment and brings value to it.

Typical day:
7AM, played tennis with the coach
9AM Great breakfast with the unbeatable Beetroot Juice
10AM Cycling around or late morning walk in the jungle
12PM nice lunch in Ubud
3PM Cooling off in the eternity pool with mesmerizing views of the Ayung valley
6PM Drinks at the bar, contemplating the reflections of the purples in the pool.
7PM Indonesian Dinner, don't forget to ask the Suckling Pork
9PM Cigar on the Library Bale, browsing vintage books about Indonesia Ecosystems
10PM Wishing time could stop.

We went 5 times and the last time stayed 3weeks. The staff is amazing at the image of their management, open to suggestions like having lounge chairs in the bar to better relax.

Room Tip: For better privacy, avoid the Villas with rice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

First trip to Bali, first time staying at an Aman hotel. Having heard great things of Amandari (+ the website looked pretty amazing) we went ahead and booked it instead of the Four Seasons, nearby. I am so, so glad we did! Ubud was so much more than I expected in every way, and Amandari really helps you to experience as much or little as you'd like.

Best thing- the staff. Every single person was so helpful, and so kind. They picked us up from our hotel in Seminyak, and we had a great ride chatting about Bali and Ubud with Jaya, the driver. When we arrived, I knew what our next destination was, but not how we'd get there. Within one hour Suana had researched and arranged everything for us and booked it after confirming - it was really nice and super fast! The ladies helped us with making a proper ladies sash with the sarongs, which was helpful in avoiding temple going garbed as men. These are just a few of many examples- in general, they anticipated everything before we even knew we needed it, and made us feel truly welcome. There are lots of small touches that really make a difference, and they are a very efficient team who seems to really love what they do. Professional happiness makers!

The grounds are gorgeous- stunning, breathtaking, mesmerizing, all of the words for amazing. Greenery everywhere, sounds of nature, and a view into the valley and the winding Ayung river below (which you can walk down to if you're up for a little hike back up!) The pool is tranquil and inviting and looks out into the green.

We stayed in a valley villa the first part of the stay, and it was just gorgeous. Plenty of room to spread out and feel at home. Everything you could want and more- comfortable furniture, wonderful beds, fresh fruit everyday, modern and tranquil decor. We moved to a pool villa and WOW, was that stunning. Our villa had a view into the valley from the pool deck... one of the most amazing places I've ever stayed in. It just has everything you could possibly want- comfort, attention to detail, the feeling of seclusion, surrounded by nature. Speaking of nature (which also means plentiful little creatures in this part of the world) they fog the grounds for mosquitos, so bugs are not as much of a problem as elsewhere- they are really on top of that. We never had bug problems!

We preferred an active vacation, and in our five short days stay we went river rafting, bike riding through local villages and rice paddies over to a coffee plantation, and woke at 3am to get to Mt. Batur for a sunrise volacano hike (amazing!) The concierge arranged all of it with excellent companies, or guides from Amandari itself- our guides were great every time. And the massages were also awesome after all of that activity, I'm pretty sure we both had out of body experiences. Even with all that action, they helped us plan it so that we had plenty of time to relax, and in the evenings we enjoyed the peace and quiet of our beautiful villa, ate at the lovely restaurant on the grounds, or went into main Ubud, just 10 minutes away. They make fresh pressed juices of all kinds- apple + lemon + beetroot + ginger- cleansing, fresh and delicious! Your liver will thank you!

When first considering staying, we thought it might be a bit couples oriented or family oriented... I've found that some nice resort places really orient themselves toward one or the other. At Amandari, although couples and families were both present, it's definitely a place suitable for all travelers, even two adventuring young women, or single travelers as well. We were there 5 days and could've stayed another 5 easily... I could write on and on about all the little things that make Amandari special, but you should go see for yourself :)

The final thing that really stands out is Amandari's involvement with the local community. They sponsor programs that benefit children, and work on projects that benefit the town as a whole. It's really nice to see an establishment that is truly participating in, and giving back to, their community.

Loved Amandari and will someday return!

Room Tip: Wine quality and selection at the hotel were quite good- both may very in the town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amandari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amandari

Address: Jalan Raya Kedewatan | PO Box 33, Kedewatan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Kedewatan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kedewatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amandari 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith and Despegar.com so you can book your Amandari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amandari Hotel Kedewatan
Amandari Hotel Ubud
Amandari Resort Ubud
Amandari Bali/Kedewatan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amandari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.