We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful setting!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Pacifica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Pacifica to your Saves list
Hotel La Pacifica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5km NE de la ciudad sobre la carretera InterAmericana, Canas 5700, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Canas
Tampa, FL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful setting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My family and I really enjoyed our first night in Costa Rica at Hacienda La Pacifica. After our afternoon arrival in Liberia, it was terrific that this hotel was just a relatively short drive from the airport and made a good stopping point for our continuation on to the Arenal area. We found the rooms to be large, clean, and comfortable. Because the hotel grounds are so large, we were able to take a nice walk around the property and spotted all kinds of birds along with iguanas, monkeys, and deer. We found all the staff to be friendly and helpful and very accommodating of our dismal Spanish. The restaurant was quite good as well with something for everyone at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    27
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
19
2
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 1 night on a recent trip to Costa Rica. That's about the length of stay that I'd recommend. Don't come here if you're expecting amenities. No bell hops, no room service. There's a pool that needs to be tended to, and the rooms are basic. It was pretty clean, although the power went out.
The restaurant was decent but slightly overpriced. All in all, this is the kind of place that you go to because a) you've just landed and need to sleep after a long flight, or b) you're going someplace better.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The grounds are a safe distance from the main road and secure, especially if you are driving a rental. The staff are very friendly in the restaurant. The food was average, yet in comparison with the other hotels and restaurants we dined in throughout Costa Rica, we found it wasn't as good, cost the same, and the portions were signifiantly smaller. We only spent one night there. The rooms are large and minimal in accomodations. You will get exactly what you need. Soap, towels, sheets, and nothing more. It has a rustic look but could use a little bit of modernization. You must wear flip flops in the shower!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

The rooms at Hacienda La Pacifica are located in large attractive grounds with a lot of trees; we had good views of the wildlife and saw quite a few birds. Our room was one of a pair of habitationes, we had a shady tiled patio with sliding doors to the room and with rocking chairs to relax in. The bedroom was roomy with a good sized wetroom. The a la carte dinner menu had plenty of choice, we particularly enjoyed the delicious tilapia from their own estate, and the service in the restaurant was excellent - they even had insect spray on hand when I forgot to spray my feet before walking across to dinner. There were white tailed deer in the grounds, and the population of howler monkeys in the area means that they are often seen in the trees of the grounds and heard even more frequently! There is a river trail accessed from the grounds, this was very good for birds. Next door is the restaurant Coribici, they do great guided raft trips on the river.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 1 night between destinations. We were in room 26.
The room has a twin and a double bed. We kept the bathroom door closed as there was a sewage smell coming from the shower. We could have dealt with that but upon returning to our room after a disappointing $100 dinner in their restaurant, we felt like we were sleeping on the grounds of a high security prison.
Guards walked laps every 10-15 minutes all night. We were amazed that they even searched the vehicles about every hour. I booked this hotel after getting advise on TA to do so and now regret that. I'm not sure if this is a high crime area or if we were the ones they were watching, but I would never stay here again. Plus it was one of the most spendy places we stayed...at almost $100 dollars for the room and $100 dollars for an undercooked steak and chicken Plate.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Bay, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I have stayed at the Hotel Pacifica on many occasions and have always much enjoyed the friendly atmosphere, good food and beautiful grounds. The swimming pool is simply blissful!

I can strongly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quiet getaway which isn't too far off the beaten track

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011 via mobile

We stayed for 2 days, the location and rooms are perfect, the service is really poor and they don't appreciate the clients, waitresses gossip each other about every client and even talk bad at your back, one waitress even insulted us, the manager told us that we can't play in the pool and the people from reception also will gossip about you, the place is perfect but I definitely I won't go again....

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Pacifica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pacifica

Address: 5km NE de la ciudad sobre la carretera InterAmericana, Canas 5700, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Canas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Canas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pacifica 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Pacifica Hotel is a place to revive traditions. It is also to remember our social and environmental responsibility. It is located in Costa Rica, surrounded by a warm dry rain forest. It is visited by exotic birds and deers that live nearby. Be our guest, and have an experience about Guanacaste. You will have a first class gastronomic folklore at Hacienda La Pacifica Restaurant. Enjoy also your stay taking some of our tours: rafting, floating, palo verde boat tour, agroindustrial activities (organic rice, tilapia), and riding horses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Pacifica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda La Pacifica Hotel Canas
Hotel La Pacifica Costa Rica/Canas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Pacifica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.