We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caves Beachside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Caves Beachside Hotel to your Saves list
Caves Beachside Hotel
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   7 Mawson Close, Caves Beach, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2281, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Caves Beach B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfect wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

we attended a wedding here on the weekend and we could not recommend this place highly enough. the food was really good, the accommodation was really nice and the staff were brilliant. nothing was a trouble and the whole wedding reception was beautiful. cannot speak highly enough of it all.the only extra thing would be a swimming pool

Room Tip: end suites where people cannot walk past the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    30
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
20
47
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stumbled upon this hidden gem and couldn't be more happy with our accommodation. It is in a perfect location, beautifully decorated with goodies provided for a nice breakfast including cereals, bread for toast, fruit, yoghurt, spreads and juices. We also has a bottle of wine, nuts, chips and biscuits included in the deal.

The staff were particularly friendly and offered suggestions for things to do in the area including a walk along the beach to see the beach caves during low tide.

We ate at the bistro for our two night stay and was happy with the food.... Just good pub fare at a reasonable price.

We loved the area and the suites and would have loved to have stayed longer but we hope to come back again some day.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the couples suites which are separate from the hotel. Plenty of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful 2 night stay at Caves Beachside Hotel. Our stay was more pleasant due to the fact that for one of the evenings we were the only guests staying in the suite section of the hotel. If a number of suites were booked you would have guests walking past your room and privacy could be an issue. The suites are extremely comfortable and luxurious. The gas log fire really adds to the ambiance of the room. The view from each suite is fantastic, one afternoon we even saw a couple of whales out at sea. We booked the hotel through Wotif and took advantage of a complementary upgrade and a wine and cheese platter which was just a lovely touch. I feel the only disadvantage to staying at Caves Beachside Hotel is the lack of any good restaurants close by.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband & I stayed in the spa beach suite for a weekend getaway and my belated birthday celebration. It was perfect and I wish we stayed longer. It's only 1.5hr drive from North Sydney. The room was very clean and got everything we needed for a good overnight stay.

Mini bar, wine & continental breakfast (toasts, cereals, yogurt) all included.

The open plan worked out perfectly for us. We could watch TV while soaking in the spa bath and enjoying a glass of wine & the complementary peanut, chips and cookies. I really love the monsoon shower head, I felt like I was dancing in the rain (warm water rain).

We brought our favourite foaming bath cream, the property unfortunately didn't provide one.

The room was toasty warm and it's all thanks to the gas log fire.

The king bed was twin beds pushed together, but we still had a very nice & comfortable sleep, so it didn't really bother us.

Can't wait to plan another weekend getaway to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in an ocean suite (one of four). The place is a bit of a hidden gem and was literally a breath of fresh air after a less than satisfactory start to our holiday at 2 other establishments.

The suite itself was absolutely immaculate, the cleanest place we have ever stayed. There is a large flat screen tv with stacked stone wall feature, hidden kitchenette with continental breakfast supplies and mini bar included in the tarrif, reverse cycle aircon, huge soaker bath, double vanities and the biggest monsoon shower head you will ever come across. The design is ultra modern and complete open plan. There are no doors on the toilet or shower which probably wouldn't suit new couples or couples that value privacy. Make sure you familiarise yourself with the design of the suites on the website first.

We stayed in ocean suite 12 which had a private balcony. You can see the ocean from the bed without anyone else being able to see in (unfortunately the same can't be said for the caves/spa suites except the two at the end, 17 and 18). There is also shrubbery for privacy from beach goers starting from suite 11 - 18. The design of the access boardwalk is quite odd and to get to your suite, you walk directly in front of other people's balconies except the ocean suites that have their balconies over the lagoon so people must walk behind the suite. In my opinion, suite number 12 and onwards are the pick of the bunch for privacy as they are at the northern end furthest away from the bistro, away from the small beach car park and have the least people walking past. A couple of other small issues were the noise of people walking on and rolling baggage on the boardwalk and not having a solid barrier between the direct neighbouring suite (they had fixed slats).

A couple other reviewers mentioned the rules of the complex such as no kids, no noise, no congregating etc. The suite part of the complex is designed for couples wanting peace and quiet. There are options further back in the complex for groups and families. You certainly wouldn't want kids even visiting the suites as the deep lagoon is not fenced off at all.

Service is very friendly and efficient. We will definitely be back and will ask for ocean suite 16 or spa suite 17 or 18. For $200 - 240 we felt the suites offered exceptional value compared to other places in and $100 above that price range.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We went for lunch, It was busy but nowhere near full. 20mins to line up to order and another 50 to get the food. The children were besides themselves by then. Food was awful, I couldn't eat it. I had the chicken burger - worst Ive had. Kids meals had soggy chips they wouldn't touch despite their hunger. I had visitors from Adelaide with me, I was so embarrassed.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourke
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The write up says the rooms have been refurbished, but screwing a painting to the wall isn't going to cut it. They are dated with mouldy tiles and ceiling in the bathroom. The rooms are serviced everyday but really, I'm not staying in them again. However, I think the other accommodation would be gorgeous but pricey. The bistro was really nice with lovely staff.

Room Tip: Don't book the motel style accommodation unless you are desperate. Try the resort accommodation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caves Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caves Beachside Hotel

Address: 7 Mawson Close, Caves Beach, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2281, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Caves Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Caves Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Caves Beachside Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Caves Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caves Beachside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.