We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lairhillock Lodge

Lairhillock Lodge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lairhillock Lodge to your Saves list
Lairhillock Lodge
Netherley AB39 3QS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Netherley B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stay Here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights. Fantastic place throught. Easy comute to town and much better than you standard hotel. Great pub next door.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    18
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
28
3
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

We arrived early evening to be greeted by our Landlady - Jenny who was friendly, very informative about the lodge and all its amenities. We were shown round the complex finishing with our room - a spacious double tastefully decorated with en-suite. Room had LCD television, tea/coffee making facility and plenty wardrobe space very well appointed. Complex also had a residents lounge with television, comfortable seating, occassional tables and use of a PC.
A hop, step and jump from the lodge is "The Lairhillock Inn" where we enjoyed pre dinner drinks in a friendly snug bar followed by dinner served in the restaurant, service here was great too - the menu choice was extensive.
We retired back to the lodge and spent a very comfortable night in room 3.
Breakfast was served in a large well appointed dining room - food/drink was excellent a breakfast to suit any guest. This complex is 110% - we cannot wait to revisit. Already recommended to a few friends - hope there will always be a room for us?

Monaghans of Carnoustie

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed here over Hogmanay. We were there for the fireball celebrations in Stonehaven, but booked last minute and so ended up out of town. The hotel was about 6miles out of town, so a car is essential, (we got a taxi on Hogmanay night itself). It is located in beautiful countryside. The only other building nearby is the restaurant / pub next door which is excellent.

The rooms were spacious, clean and well decorated. En-suite with nice big showers. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Following earlier good reviews, my wife & I stayed for 2 nights when visiting family near Stonehaven. From the warm welcome on arrival, everything was first class. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom well equipped & the freshly cooked breakfast was just what we needed.
All the staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable, & we will definitely be returning.
An added bonus was the Lairhillock Inn, right next door, which provides excellent meals, with the best 'Cullen Skink 'I've ever tasted.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

I don't normally write reviews but following an unfortunate experience at the nearby Premier Lodge I happened to stumble across this nearby lodge which offered good value for money accommodation and an excellent breakfast. This is a new lodge and the manageress Jenni and her staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Lovely new lodge furnished to a very high standard. In a rural location but with easy access to the city centre. Rooms are very comfortable and breakfast lived up to expectations-believe it was all prepared by owner Neil himself!.
The neighbouring restaurant would be very handy for anyone staying at the lodge and looking for an evening meal.
Will definitely stay again when visiting friends in the area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Our 3 night stay in this recently built lodge style B&B was quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was fine, and above average evening meals and well kept beer is available next door at Lairhillock Inn. We found the location very convenient for a business stay – it’s a 5 minute drive to Portlethen and around 25 minutes to Aberdeen. I would certainly return to Lairhillock Lodge if I’m travelling to this area again in the future for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lairhillock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lairhillock Lodge

Address: Netherley AB39 3QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Netherley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Netherley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lairhillock Lodge where you will find a clean modern room with a comfortable bed and a functional en-suite bathroom with walk in shower. You’ll enjoy your stay in our rooms, where comfort and modernity go hand in hand with each other. At Lairhillock Lodge we know you want your stay with us to be hassle free, that’s why we keep it simple. This means you get a good night’s sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lairhillock Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lairhillock Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.