We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lairhillock Lodge

Lairhillock Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lairhillock Lodge to your Saves list
Lairhillock Lodge
Netherley AB39 3QS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Netherley B&B and Inns
Scotland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Location perfect for a number of reasons, including exploring this part of the country - easy to get to most places and Lairhillock Inn next door good food and drink in pleasant surroundings. Few miles from Stonehaven (and the Carron Restaurant) and not far from Aberdeen and shopping.
Welcome and overall service excellent. Breakfast fab.
Rooms not plush but spacious and functional.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    18
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
28
3
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tayport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Lairhillock Lodge is a must for everyone. Situated in rural Aberdeenshire but only5 miles or so to Aberdeen/Stonehaven. An ideal base for tourists or for work purposes. The owners Jen and Neil Ironside will make you feel at home and nothing is too much trouble. We stayed in a family room which was modern, spacious, well appointed, spotlessly clean, great shower and very peaceful. The complimentary breakfast was of a very high standard and again nothing was too much trouble. The local Inn is a stones throw away and is ideal for lunch, dinner or just to have a drink and unwind.

In short, great location, fabulous room/service and excellent value for money. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgnorth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Bedroom great (clean, warm, spacious, full size TV) Inn across car park good food & beer, breakast freshly cooked & good standard. 25 minutes to Aberdeen

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights. Fantastic place throught. Easy comute to town and much better than you standard hotel. Great pub next door.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

We arrived early evening to be greeted by our Landlady - Jenny who was friendly, very informative about the lodge and all its amenities. We were shown round the complex finishing with our room - a spacious double tastefully decorated with en-suite. Room had LCD television, tea/coffee making facility and plenty wardrobe space very well appointed. Complex also had a residents lounge with television, comfortable seating, occassional tables and use of a PC.
A hop, step and jump from the lodge is "The Lairhillock Inn" where we enjoyed pre dinner drinks in a friendly snug bar followed by dinner served in the restaurant, service here was great too - the menu choice was extensive.
We retired back to the lodge and spent a very comfortable night in room 3.
Breakfast was served in a large well appointed dining room - food/drink was excellent a breakfast to suit any guest. This complex is 110% - we cannot wait to revisit. Already recommended to a few friends - hope there will always be a room for us?

Monaghans of Carnoustie

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed here over Hogmanay. We were there for the fireball celebrations in Stonehaven, but booked last minute and so ended up out of town. The hotel was about 6miles out of town, so a car is essential, (we got a taxi on Hogmanay night itself). It is located in beautiful countryside. The only other building nearby is the restaurant / pub next door which is excellent.

The rooms were spacious, clean and well decorated. En-suite with nice big showers. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Following earlier good reviews, my wife & I stayed for 2 nights when visiting family near Stonehaven. From the warm welcome on arrival, everything was first class. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom well equipped & the freshly cooked breakfast was just what we needed.
All the staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable, & we will definitely be returning.
An added bonus was the Lairhillock Inn, right next door, which provides excellent meals, with the best 'Cullen Skink 'I've ever tasted.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lairhillock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lairhillock Lodge

Address: Netherley AB39 3QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Netherley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Netherley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lairhillock Lodge where you will find a clean modern room with a comfortable bed and a functional en-suite bathroom with walk in shower. You’ll enjoy your stay in our rooms, where comfort and modernity go hand in hand with each other. At Lairhillock Lodge we know you want your stay with us to be hassle free, that’s why we keep it simple. This means you get a good night’s sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lairhillock Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lairhillock Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.