We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restaurant worth a stop in Alfred” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chardo

Le Chardo
374 St-Philippe, Alfred, Ontario K0B1A0, Canada
613-679-4777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 restaurants in Alfred
Price range: $0 - $20
Restaurant details
Gatineau, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A restaurant worth a stop in Alfred”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Chardo may not be at the high-end of the restaurant food outlets but you will find no shame to stop and taste what they have to offer on their tables. It is a restaurant that is more than affordable whether you're a family of two, four or six or more. The service is nice and quick and the food quality is above the average. It's always nice for us to stop by when going to/or coming from a trip to Montreal. It is always pleasant to enter Le Chardo, like home away from home. Worth a visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    3
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“alfred`s best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

they made new renovations 2 years ago. its a family restaurant with large menu. homemade and fresh. incredibly clean! theres 3 dining rooms a bar and a terasse. there speciallity are wood stove pizza, steaks, BBQ chicken, yummy ribs fresh desserts and there super good sunday brunch!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantagenet, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mmmm Brochettes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

A sit down restaurant in the midst of the french fry capital of Canada. Good standard fare, large portions, friendly atmosphere.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant for a small town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I had dinner here in mid-week while cycling through from Montreal to Ottawa. Had eaten lunch here about a year ago. Quite a large restaurant with lots of tables. Staff were attentive and service was good. Seemed to have all sorts of things on the menu. We both had the chicken brochette – servings were so big that we weren’t able to eat everything on our plate but everything was good. If I was in the area again I wouldn’t hesitate to eat here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Ont,Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“great for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I stopped in here on a Saturday morning on our way to Quebec City.
Service was fast and friendly. Thx Chantal.
We had the usual breakfast fare- eggs, bacon, homefries and toast. I chose an omelet with ham and mushroom.
The very full plates were brimmimg with food.
Endless cups of coffee and we were very satisfied upon finishing.
Total was a respectable $17.74 tax in. Happy to find this little resto.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Chardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.