We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Langton house
Langton house
Langton house
Lounge 2
Dining room
Lounge 3
Bedroom suite
Piercebridge
|
Rental Home – 
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ashleyJar...
jarrow
1 review
“Words cannot describe this AMAZING PLACE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

To celebrate my mothers 50th Birthday we booked this cottage as a surprise for her. There was 14 members of our family for 3 nights and upon arrival we could not believe how beautiful this place was and that it was something special, the decor is top of the range and the addtional little quirky bits of furniture just make this place warm, welcoming and homely. We would like to say a HUGE Thank You to Keith and his lovely family (including Garnet) for allowing us into their home and have made my mothers birthday one that none of us will forget. All i can say is we will be returning and hopefully very soon.

5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Absolutely Everthing
Liked least: Having to Leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
JaneR123
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic, luxurious place with a warm welcome as well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We were an extended family group of 12 from all over the UK (one even flew in specially from abroad), together to celebrate a couple of significant birthdays and the Jubilee, not mention degree results which happened to be published over the weekend.

What a fantastic place, spotlessly clean, wonderfully decorated, superbly equipped and enormous, with plenty of space for every one of our group to slink off for some 'me time' when needed (essential for harmonious family gatherings!). The bathrooms were exceptional, the beds REALLY comfortable and it was lovely and warm throughout.

There were outside areas as well with various seating and some numbered sheep in the field next door so we could play sheep 'bingo'!

Keith and his family were welcoming, friendly, accommodating, trusting and really flexible. They even lent us their barbecue!

The only criticism was that we felt that Keith hadn't really made it clear just how well equipped the fantastic kitchen was! This rapidly became the hub of our weekend, with people drifting in and out as we all ate, drank and made merry!

Wonderful!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, space and sheer luxury
Liked least: That Keith didn't tell us just how well equipped the kitchen was!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
traci2k6
durham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

This property is beautiful and is in a stunning location where in one of the bedrooms the lambs in the field outside practically nuzzled at the window! The attention to detail here was fabulous; really high spec interior design finish with some amazing quirky features and stae of the art bathrooms. The beds were so comfy it was hard to get up each morning. We stayed in a group of 14 girls for my 40th birthday which culminated in a 1920's themed fancy dress murder mystery dinner party - what a perfect setting! We would definitely be back

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Beds, ambience, decor, bathrooms, locaction, spec and finish
Liked least: no wi fi
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Maria F
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect retreat for a large family gathering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Langton House Cottages are close to Castle Barnard in County Durham. Located in beautiful unspoilt countryside (when I went for a morning run I only saw birds and rabbits) yet close enough to the local town to buy provisions. Castle Barnard has a castle, great butchers, antique shops and high street regulars as well as a big supermarket.
There is plenty to do in the surrounding area.
The cottages themselves are intriguingly furnished with eclectic art and finds from Asia and the East. Every bedroom is different but all are equally luxurious and comfortable. The bathrooms were high tech and the showers amazing. Everyone loved the spa bathroom with its own TV and jacuzzi.
We had 4 children aged 10 and under with us who had a ball. Although kitted out in luxurious fashion the house managed to be child friendly at the same time. The owners gorgeous dog was a big hit!
The huge kitchen was well equipped and a fantastic place to spend the evening sat around the huge table drinking wine!
A highly recommended location for a large group of friends or family.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Very comfortable accomodation
Liked least: could do with more guidebooks/leaflets about the area
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
Rates have not been provided for this property. Please contact the owner/manager for total price.
Make Inquiry
Owner
Keith S
44 1325 730905
Speaks English
Listed since : Jun 2011
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 121 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing