We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George

Save Saved
You added The George to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The George
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Piercebridge On Tees, Piercebridge DL2 3SW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Piercebridge B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed here with my sister recently and just wanted to say how much we enjoyed the hotel. The staff were friendly, the room was large and had plenty of tea/coffee/hot choc/biscuits, it was clean, the tv reception was good, the rooms were quiet at night and we both got a good nights sleep.We decided to eat in the restaurant downstairs, it was a miserable evening outside and the draw of the open fires and low lighting and cosy atmosphere won us over. The food was very reasonably priced and was delicious. One of our puddings was slightly overcooked and when we complained there was a full apology and we were later told that both puddings had been taken off our bill - a really lovely gesture. Staff were friendly and welcoming and in the morning when we went down for breakfast, we were not disappointed with the quality and service at all. I would stay here again and would happily recommend the hotel to others. Thank so much x

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    76
    29
    14
    12
See reviews for
57
114
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seaham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Needed an hotel due to a broken boiler during the recent snow. We got a great price for the George and we were very surpriced at what a great place it was. Our room was supposed not to be one of the best, but it was big with a king's size bed, bath, shower and very comfortible. The staff were great, in the bar the beer and wine were great and we loved the open fires and the real surprice the quality of the food at a good price. I deal stopping of place for someone travelling the A1 and wants to stop somewhere for a night or a long weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We certainly agree with you, the George Hotel is a hidden gem! Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. I hope you managed to get your boiler fixed although we also hope you have an excuse to come back and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Beth Horton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Had Sunday lunch and we were less than impressed for the price - £7:95. Meat wasn't wonderful, beef, turkey and chicken, vegetables consisted of carrots with peas, cauliflower, cabbage, roast potatoes, brown on one side and white on the other, and I think pieces of turnip, nothing looked or tasted fresh, all served on small plates. The cardinal sin however, there were no Yorkshire puddings.
This place is not, in any way, as good as The Walworth Hotel just about a 10 minute drive from Piercebridge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Swissball

Thank you for your review and we apologise that you did not fully enjoy your Sunday Carvery at the George Hotel. Please be assured that we source all our products locally and everything is freshly prepared by our team of chefs each Sunday morning. Our Yorkshire puddings are always in plentiful supply as we fully agree with you, Sunday Lunch is just not the same with Yorkshire Pudding. We still had plenty left when our carvery finished on Sunday, sorry if you did not spot them, they were located to the right-hand side of the Roast Chicken.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back soon

Kind Regards
General Manager
Beth Horton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

i had a superior room at the front of the hotel, as some of the bathrooms of the annex rooms need updating.We chose to eat in the bar where there were lovely real fires all day, and the food was very good. Staff were very helpful and polite.The location is really convenient, about 10 minutes from the motorway, and handy for both Barnard Castle, the Bowes museum and antique shops, and Darlington in the other direction.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. Our superior rooms are fantastic and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your upgrade. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Beth Horton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had our Christmas party at the George and had a fantastic time. Twenty staff members of all age groups ranging from GP's and Nurses to Admin and Reception staff attended and most stayed overnight. We arrived on the Saturday in time for lunch which was exceptionally good and sat by the log fires in the bar; it was very cosy. Our rooms were lovely and we were very happy with the amenities. In the evening we had Christmas dinner and disco in the Pavillion and had a fabulous time dancing the night away after having our dinner which again was nicely presented and very tasty. We had a hearty, delicious breakfast on the Sunday morning before travelling home. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Thank you to the staff for all your help with the booking process and for your professional, friendly service during our stay. It was much appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you Elizabeth for taking the time to add a review, I am so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. The team here really appreciate your kind comments and if you would like to book again for next Christmas please do not hesitate to give us a call.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Beth Horton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

thanks for making my in~laws Christmas break a fantastic time. from the roaring fires to the well appointed bedrooms. staff were polite and friendly couldn't do enough to make our stay special.
the evening meal was cooked to perfection fresh and tasty.
We will be making a return visit in may carn`t wait!

Room Tip: ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you Julie, what a lovely review and I am so pleased to know that your parents had a nice time, and I hope you all enjoyed the Mulled Wine! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Beth Horton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our family really enjoyed exquisite service, a delicious Christmas Day meal in beautiful surroundings! Thank you so much for making our Christmas Day so special.

From the moment we walked in on Christmas Day the staff were warm and welcoming and there was a welcome glow from the fire in the bar area.

Our table was beautifully layed out (with real linen!) and the environment in the restaurant was feastive with lovely views over the river tees.

The service throughout the whole meal was so professional, courteous and extra special.

Our food was delicious - our large party thoroughly enjoyed all the delicious Christmas feastive fare - so well done to the chefs - the best Christmas Meal we have had in 5 years of eating out on Christmas Day.

Well done to you all - your efforts made our Family Christmas so special. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback, I am so pleased to hear that the team at the George Hotel made it a memorable stay for you. Hopefully we will see you again in December if not before! p.s Hope the egg cups have come in handy!!

Kind Regards
General Manager
Beth Horton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George

Address: Piercebridge On Tees, Piercebridge DL2 3SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Piercebridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Piercebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The George 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your The George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Piercebridge
George Hotel Darlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.