We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STUNNING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Louviere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Louviere to your Saves list
La Louviere
Le Fault, 61420 Saint-Denis-sur-Sarthon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“STUNNING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I can add very little to the list of reviews below - which are all true. So here is a list of relevant words : stunning, relaxing, homely, welcoming, spotless, a home from home - that's so much more beautiful and lavish (but in a comfortable way) than any home you've ever been in. I came away feeling restored, relaxed and just so happy. In short I loved it - have no suggestions for improvement (and if you do, just ask the proprietors - if its humanly possible they seemed to do most anything to meet guests requests).Want to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Aurelie - at the top of the house - and would want to stay there again - but I'd be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

La Louvière is breath taking in every respect. Within a minute of arriving my husband said what a shame it was we were only here for a night. Everything is beautiful, delicious and perfect for a relaxing stay. We're already trying to work out when we can come back to stay longer!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

It's very hard to describe La Louvière without using lots of superlatives - it's without doubt one of the most beautiful places we have stayed, with stunning, tranquil and spacious gardens. I have never seen roses like it. The pool was heaven, situated in a private area of the garden with beautifully weathered teak decking surrounded by shrubs and flowers. The rooms were very large and impeccably furnished - Isabelle could have a successful career as an interior designer (if not a chef!). Both Isabelle and Alain were wonderfully warm, charming, helpful hosts during our week-long stay. Alencon is only a short drive away with a number of restaurants (that's if you can drag yourself away from Isabelle's excellent cooking). We even did a spot of window shopping (and a little buying) in the local Brocanterie - next time we will be going back with a van... All in all we would recommend La Louvière without hesitation, whether for a romantic break or a family stay, it's just perfect. We will be back!

Room Tip: The family suite is perfect if you have little ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent a wonderful 3 nights and four days in the sublime house and gardens of La Louviere. I felt like I was in a glamorous travel magazine. It was very hard to leave and return home to work and reality. Especially after floating around in the pretty pool and enjoying the warm sunshine & fragrance of the many roses in the garden.
Isabelle's wonderful cooking added to our Normandy delights. The attitude of the hosts - kind, relaxed, flexible, really made the difference to our very happy experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Beautiful grounds and decor - La Louviere is a temple of understated elegance and good taste. The food is excellent too - it's not without reason that several guests have recommended Isabelle writes her own cookery book. Dinners at La Louviere are better quality and better value than any of the restaurants we ate at during our week long stay. However, it was Alain and Isabelle's warm welcome and generosity that made us feel like part of their family and made the whole holiday so special. Don't tell too many people - but La Louviere is truly a unique and special place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

When your car breaks down deep into France and you have to abandon your holiday plans, you hope for something that might salvage a little of your hopes. If you are lucky enough to seek shelter at La Louviere then I guarantee hope changes to delight! We sought one night's accommodation, we ended up staying three in a little piece of paradise. The owners were stars, we all became best friends with local garage owners, and the breakfasts on the wisteria dripping patio were astonishing. Alencon, the nearest town, has some great restaurants, and the pool at La Louviere was perfect for building an appetite. The only problem we had was that the garage did mend the car. On the other hand, we do now have transport to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Our car broke down on our way to the South of France and we were saved by our stay at La Louviers. The owner could not have been kinder in the way that he helped us with our arrangements. The house itself is incredible with the most beautiful gardens I have ever seen. It is paradise. We will be back as soon as possible. Thank you Alain from Evelyn and Peter.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Louviere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Louviere

Address: Le Fault, 61420 Saint-Denis-sur-Sarthon, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Orne > Saint-Denis-sur-Sarthon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Denis-sur-Sarthon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small eighteenth century manor house, the perfect blend of the comfort and elegance of a guest house de charme with the genuine and friendly atmosphere of a family home. Situated at the edge of le perche, 10 km west of Alencon and 2 hours drive from Paris,la Louvière offers its guests 4 charming rooms, one of which is a family suite. Garden, heated swimming pool, tennis, lake, wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Louviere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Louviere France/Saint-Denis-Sur-Sarthon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Louviere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.