We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly truly terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hobson Motor Inn & Wings

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hobson Motor Inn & Wings to your Saves list
Hobson Motor Inn & Wings
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   327 Hobsonville Road | Auckland, Hobsonville 0618, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
“Truly truly terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed there as part of a sports team, where do I start, first night broken sleep as we tried to work out what vermin was making all the noise in the roof, I started getting bites from something in the bedding, we came back one day wet through looking forward to a hot shower, but no, no hot water for some reason, same day got back and found bowl on couch catching water from the leaking roof, that night we saw a mouse, and then there were the ants, the wall heater didn't go, great location, nice surroundings, inside very average.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobsonmi, Public Relations Manager at Hobson Motor Inn & Wings, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you to the Reviewer for taking the time to share their experiences. We at Hobson Motor Inn always welcome the opportunity to find out where we have gone wrong and how we can improve our service to our guests.
In this instance it seems that the guest experienced an unusual and unfortunate series of events, largely resulting from the recent spell of extremely inclement weather. As we were not informed of the problems until the day before the guest's weekend departure we were unable to do anything more than offer alternative accommodation, apologise profusely and present the guests with complimentary bottles of wine.
We have since made repairs to the roof and addressed all the issues that arose and we warmly urge the Reviewer to come back and try Hobson Motor Inn again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
4
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

At first I thought this place was just tired, a bit broken but ok... Then it went downhill... The people next door had to change rooms as the roof leaked and management had simply put a bucket on the sofa to catch the drips! The toilet seat was not attached and everything that had broken through the years in each appartment we saw had been fixed with tape or not fixed at all. The breakfast was not only disgusting but actually rancid! The eggs were fully grey and the packet butter was literally YEARS out of date and smelt of vomit, not just one but several! Two of the party ended up with food poisoning from what little we ate before discovering the full horrors!!! Do not stay here or if you have to, certainly don't eat the food!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobsonmi, Manager at Hobson Motor Inn & Wings, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
TRIP ADVISOR RESPONSE
Management and staff of Hobson Motor Inn would like to thank the reviewer for taking the time to post their comments on Trip Advisor and would like to assure them that we are totally committed to ensuring our guests’ welfare during their stay.
Addressing the issues raised:
“Tired and a bit broken” – our 36 unit motel was opened in 1990. Our lawns and gardens are well maintained with great care by our groundsman. The units are regularly upgraded and as soon as maintenance issues arise we address them without delay. The reviewer’s comments are therefore disappointing. We will however endeavour to do better.
“the roof leaked” - the month of May this year was an extraordinarily wet month with the most extreme horizontal and torrential rain we have had in Auckland for a long time. Obviously a roof leak cannot be fixed instantly, especially in heavy rain. Guests can rest assured, however, that we would never knowingly put them into a leaky room. The reviewer admits that the guests he refers to were relocated without question. The “bowl on the sofa” was placed there as a temporary measure to prevent the sofa getting soaked pending repair of the leak.
“the toilet seat was broken” – we are unaware of such a thing. We would have liked to be informed at the time if that was the case. Our subsequent inspection of the units has not revealed any broken toilet seats.
“everything had been fixed with tape” – again we are unaware of anything being “fixed with tape” and without any particular thing or unit being specified we are at a loss to know what is being referred to.
“the butter was literally years out of date” - this could not happen as the turnover of the individually packeted butter used for guests’ breakfasts is fairly rapid. We contacted Craig's Butter and it appears that guest has mistaken the manufacturer's reference code on the bottom of the miniature packet of butter for the date. The date code is on the outer box only. We have checked all our butter supplies and have none out of date. How it could be rancid we do not know as it is kept refrigerated at all times.
We catered for a large birthday party in our function centre last weekend. The comment we received was as follows:
“May I extend my heartfelt thanks again for making my birthday celebration a very successful one. The feedback from the guests was all wonderful and positive they were especially raving about the food.”
We do not believe any food poisoning suffered by the reviewer’s friends could have resulted from food supplied by us.
Whilst we appreciate feedback from our guests, good or bad, in this case we consider the review to be somewhat inaccurate and unfair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hobsonville hotels

Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Motor Inn has a nice location and good grounds, but the maintenance of the facility leaves a bit to be desired. Poor (or none) bedside lighting, upstairs curtains that can't open because their cords are broken, bad smell on the upstairs carpet (including smell of the cleaner). Can hear neighbours going up and down the stairs in the adjoining rooms at night.
The cleanliness of the bathroom (especially the shower) was also not good enough.
Staff were friendly however, and very accomodating for our group.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

An older but clean & tidy motor lodge handy to Westgate shopping complex and only minutes from Aucklands North Shore.
Also handy to the local RSA and a very nice fully licensed Indian restaurant.
Very good off road parking and is in a nice quiet location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great place. Quiet now that the new motorway has opened Comfortable, clean rooms with plenty of space, comfy beds and friendly visiting ducks.Only thing that could be improved are the bedroom curtains ( thin, so does not block the outside lights) Staff were very helpful arranging 2 units for a 7 of us.
Would happily stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Only needed a single, but as none, given a 2 bedroom for the same price. Older style motel which means there was plenty of room. Yes it was dated but we only wanted a bed for the night and it was certainly clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. My husband did want a cooked breakfast but only available after 8am which didn't suit as he was working but could have had a continental if required. We chose not to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I was only staying one night and it was fine, nothing to write home about but nothing to complain about either.

The rooms were clean but a little shabby, the breakfast was ok but felt like a bit of a throw back (who gives you UHT milk rather than your choice of fresh any more?)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hobson Motor Inn & Wings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobson Motor Inn & Wings

Address: 327 Hobsonville Road | Auckland, Hobsonville 0618, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Hobsonville
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hobsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hobson Motor Inn & Wings 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hobson Motor Inn & Wings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hobson Motor Inn & Wings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.