We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel out of the way location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tivoli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tivoli to your Saves list
Hotel Tivoli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Avenue de Bale, 68330 Huningue, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huningue
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming hotel out of the way location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Charming, friendly, good food in a small village with not too much to see. We are waiting for our River Cruise Vantage leaving from "Basel" and were looking for a hotel for a few days. Basel hotels were full and very expensive. This hotel is 4 km from Basel and happens to be on the other side of the Rhine from the boat dock. 30 euros for a taxi from Central Train station. The first desk lady spoke no english but others were good enough to talk to. We walked around the town and across a walking / bike bridge to Germany and a large shopping center called Rhein Center. We would certainly stay here again. However, the staff has called for a taxi for us to go to the boat and we are not yet sure how that will go.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed at the Tivoli with my son an his wife when we attended the Basel Tattoo last weekend. I found the hotel clean comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was excellent although, because it was a weekend, the restaurent was closed. I would definately stay here again and recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a hotel in the Basel area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

During ArtBasel, sleeping in Basel means being totally exploited. Prices are scandalous.
This hotel is an affordable alternative relative to Basel. Not far away from the city center, but in France, with a bus going to Basel stopping almost in front of it.(Although driving hours limited during the evening ...).
If not as alternative during ArtBasel, I do not believe I would spent the night there, as the environment is totally depressing.
The person at the reception was however exceptionally helpful and efficient. The breakfast als was very good.
Rooms at the front of the hotel have been renovated, but get the noise of the street. Those at the back really look old.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrunoMBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoran, Israeal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here only for one night. Clean, well-located, good service, beds and bath. We didn't have a chance to check restaurant and other activities.
A good choice if you land/take off from Basel Airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dudihol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel was quite a pleasant surprise. Very helpful staff, good price, nice refurbished design, very pleasant restaurant (surprisingly elegant for this rather uninspiring area!!!). It was also very clean. But there is one thing which, sadly, will probably make me never return to this hotel unless I have to travel alone: a very strange design of the bathroom facilities, one which doesn't offer much privacy. Why oh why the en-suite bathroom has got the toilet and the shower, but the washing basin is outside of the bathroom - right in the room itself??? Also, why the bathroom door has to have almost 5 cm gaping holes on each side? It just offers no privacy to the person using the toilet. Pity, since this design flaw might put potential visitors off despite the best efforts of the very helpful staff.

One other thing - the area is rather inspiring, but with Basel being so close it is probably ok.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtsAndWines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
te awanga
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

There on a business trip. Good breakfast. Staff friendly and helpful. Good practical hotel to stay at if on business in local area. Clean rooms. Handy to Airport. Room on 3rd floor was spacious. Good for business travellers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed in the hotel in a business trip. The room was a little dated, but clean. Breakfast was ok. Lunch and dinner were superb! If you are staying here, don't look for alternatives in the area! The food is expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katelyn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huningue
1.0 mi away
Ibis Mulhouse Bale Aeroport
Ibis Mulhouse Bale Aeroport
#3 of 6 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 stars 402 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Villa K
La Villa K
#2 of 6 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
1.2 mi away
Airport Hotel Basel
Airport Hotel Basel
#15 of 50 in Basel
4.0 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Porte de France
Hotel Porte de France
#5 of 6 in Saint Louis
3.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Berlioz
Hotel Berlioz
#4 of 6 in Saint Louis
3.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Basel/Weil am Rhein
B&B Hotel Basel/Weil am Rhein
#2 of 11 in Weil am Rhein
4.5 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tivoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tivoli

Address: 15 Avenue de Bale, 68330 Huningue, France
Location: France > Alsace > Haut-Rhin > Huningue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huningue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tivoli 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated in the triangle between France, Switzerland and Germany, perfect for visiting the museums in Basel, close to the Euro-Airport (4km) and the river Rhine for walks, excursions or kayaking on the canal (300 m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tivoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing