We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coolanowle Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Coolanowle Country House to your Saves list
Coolanowle Country House
Coolanowle, Ballickmoyler | Carlow, Ballickmoyler, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our distant cousins from this area booked this B&B for our one night stay. We had major jet lag and almost melted into the beds that were heated from the bottom up. The rooms were spacious and clean. The food was amazing - the scones to die for!! Everything was so fresh and delicious. We enjoyed chatting with Bernadine, she was the perfect host. If you are in this area, I would highly recommend you give this place a try - it is the perfect Irish experience. I know I will be back again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    0
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bussum, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed for 1 night at Coolanowle house. We were luckely enough to have dinner there also.
The room was nice and big enough, we had two lovely chairs to sit down and relax (so we didn't use the sitting room which looked also nice). But the biggest pro of Coolanowle house is definitely the food. Bernadine prepared us a lovely dinner, with a lovely dessert with freshly picked raspberries from the own garden. The breakfast was the best we had in Ireland, with homemade sausages, and a blackpudding which even the ones who not like blackpudding normally loved. And even more great raspberries with this breakfast. Bernadine is a lovely host.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We had a lovely warm welcome on arrival and tea & cake in the lounge in front of a roaring fire. Our room was comfortable and spacious, the house is really nice and cosy. We stayed 2 nights and the breakfast each morning was delicious, fresh homemade scones, still warm, fresh apple juice, fresh baked bread and all the food is organic from the farm.
We had dinner on the second night, stuffed pork filet with homemade apple chutney and all the trimmings, black & white pudding and fresh salad to start and finished with fresh fruit roulade. One of the best meals we've had in ages.
We had such a relaxing time, the grounds and surrounding countryside are really lovely. Bernadine & Jimmy are excellent hosts, we were very well looked after and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Coolanowle was the first stop on our holiday in Ireland and we stayed only one night, but it was wonderful and we just happened to be there in the beginning of the season, so we were the only group there. It took a bit to get to, but it was WELL worth the drive. The house is lovely, and the grounds are beautiful, as well. We were immediately offered tea, but be warned, Bernadine's scones will ruin all other scones for you! She is a star of a cook and every meal experience with her was not topped anywhere else in Ireland (and we travelled almost the entire bottom half of the country)! Jimmy walked with us around the farm and showed us some of their extensive property, and let us see the cows. We also spent the afternoon kicking a ball around with their dog Meggie. It was a wonderful place to kick off our stay in Ireland, and I daresay we will eventually make a stop back there, someday. Make sure you ask for the "Banoffee Pie" which was exquisite!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We loved our recent 1-night stay at Coolanowle. Not only was the house comfortable and spacious, but Bernadine was a a great host! And the food was amazing - Bernadine provided so much variety to my family and I even though we were her only guests. Nothing can beat a walk around the property - the views are picturesque! Coolanowle is easy to arrive at as it is well marked off the main road.

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We had our wedding reception here, and even a rainy day could not spoil the most perfect day. The grounds are stunning, set in Irish countryside it is so peaceful. Bernadine and Jimmy are fantastic not only with helping us organise the wedding but catering for all our guests who were staying in the B&B and cottages. Their fantastic hospitality gave our English guests a wonderful first impression of Ireland. All welcomed as others have said with homemade scones and tea and served the most amazing organic breakfasts! I think the food for the wedding may well have outshone the bride on this occassion. The rooms are all beautiful and the cottages make a great place for a group of friends or family to stay together. Nothing is too much trouble for them and I guarantee you will not be dissappointed!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

On our first day on our first trip to Ireland we had booked a room for one night at Coolanowle Farmhouse. A fantastic place and lovely people, the hospitality we met here with Bernadine and Jimmy was so nice. They gave us their best room and a delicious dinner with their own farm products. Everything was perfect. This place is really worth a visit and you'll certainly enjoy as much as we did.
After dinner we were invited to go to the pub with them, where a lot of local people met up to sing and play traditional songs and poems etc. An unforgettable evening with wonderful people.
Thank you Bernadine and Jimmy. You made our first enening something very special.
We'llcertainly come back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coolanowle Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolanowle Country House

Address: Coolanowle, Ballickmoyler | Carlow, Ballickmoyler, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Ballickmoyler
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ballickmoyler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Coolanowle Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coolanowle Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.