We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“plesant place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anglers Rest Hotel

Anglers Rest Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Headford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anglers Rest Hotel
Save
You added Anglers Rest Hotel to your Saves list
Headford | Co.Galway, Headford, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Headford
amlwch
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“plesant place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Arrived here having driven from county cork all day on the road it must have been quite close to 6pm .On our way here we stopped at a nearby village pub to see if they knew of anywhere to stay and we were pointed to this place easy to find and great location. Good value stayed 1 night .Room was warm homely and the food in the restaurant was good, breakfast was good and enough of it to keep you going all day staff were friendly and helpful all in all a good stopover and a good "s night rest.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    6
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
5
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmer, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My family and I had just arrived in Ireland from the USA for the first time and decided to have our first dinner at a pub. We were staying in Headway in a cottage by the water and it was lovely. We loved the decor of the pub, very traditional. The fire was going in the fire place and we sat in the booth right beside it. It was me my husband my daughter and her baby son and his daddy. We were so excited for our first outing and dinner. The waitress came and we were also so excited to converse with our first person in Ireland. She was not friendly at all, she took our order and brought our food and did not greet us in anyway.and did not return at all during our dinner. I was so discouraged as to why we even came to Ireland and was so scared the rest of our trip was going to be the same way. On our way out the owner of the place was so nice and friendly and that lifted my spirits some. This was last October 2012

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Please note that our review only concerns the restaurant.
We had dinner there on August 12, 2013.

We ordered smoked salmon as a starter, then fish and chips. The food was good, and service pleasant. The total (including a pint of beer and a glass of wine) was 43 EUR.

Perhaps the local was a little too dark, more like a pub, but all in all we were satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank H, Owner at Anglers Rest Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Many thanks for your review , we use all input to try and improve our business and progress as much as possible and hopefully we will see you again in the future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed two night and enjoyed the experience. Excellent staff and great breakfast food and bar food as the restaurant was not open. Great value for money and an ideal centre to explore the beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank H, Owner at Anglers Rest Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Many thanks for your review , we really appreciate your kind words and try to keep our customers input to good use to progress ourselves into the future , hope to see you again in the future ,
again many thanks from all in the Anglers Rest .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stopped off here on our way home from Galway for some food. I chose here as we used always stop on our way home from Kerry as a child with our parents.

What a feast we had - every single morsel was piping hot, exquisite in taste & best of all thoroughly homemade!

A special mention to the 3 members of staff (who's names I unfortunately didn't get) but they were friendly & efficient from start to finish.

I couldn't believe how reasonable our bill was (under €50) for 2 starters, main courses, 2 pints of minerals, a dessert & a coffee!

Delighted I stopped here again - it reminded me why my dad loved it so much. Well done to all concerned - we'll b back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank H, Owner at Anglers Rest Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Many thanks for your review , We really appreciate your kind words and are striving to offer good food at an affordable price that can cater for all requirements , hope to see you back in the Anglers in the near future where it will be our pleasure to look after you again !
Many thanks from all in the Anglers Rest .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stopped here recently for breakfast------ fruit, fruit juice, cereal and two of everything on the plate, golden slices of toast not pale coloured bread. Pleasant staff and efficient service. A mans breakfast at value that is hard to beat, all for just 7.50E. Highly recommended, I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank H, Manager at Anglers Rest Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your review , hopefully our freshly cooked breakfast set you up for the day and when you are passing again why not try our lunch or evening menu , again many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Did a one night stay here and it was fine, plenty of car parking practically up to the front door and a very warm welcome.

The room was spacious with a large bathroom with over bath shower, plenty of pristinely clean towels, lots of storage space.

Breakfast was served to your table, a big plus in my book, it was piping hot and very well served by the extremely pleasant Stephanie, would definitely recommend here for a stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anglers Rest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anglers Rest Hotel

Address: Headford | Co.Galway, Headford, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Headford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Headford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anglers Rest Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.