We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The mill and the gite
The mill and the gite
The mill and the gite
The table on the bridge
Entrance to the gite
The kitchen
Bedroom
Saint-Germain-de-Coulamer
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sunshine7...
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The most beautiful place I have ever stayed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Beautiful Gite in gorgeous countryside, so relaxing and peaceful, Slyvaine and Robert are wonderful and let you enjoy your break but are there to help if you need them as they are in the main house next door, this does not impose on your privacy at all. The gite is so cosy and well maintained with everything you need and having the car meant we were able to travel around with ease.
We will be going back again...it is just perfect.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location is perfect and the beautiful gardens
Liked least: There is nothing that we would have changed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Roz S
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“This is a place I would visit every year if I could, a magical stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2012

We discovered this amazing gite a couple of years ago, and we are planning our third visit this year. It has become for us a haven of real Frenchness, a place of incredible beauty and history. Sylvaine and Bob are wonderful hosts, providing a perfect mix of information, hospitality, and personal space. I always get attached to the chickens, the murmur of the stream, and the wind in the poplars beside the bridge. There is an abundance of quiet country roads to drive, and real French villages where you find delicious baguettes and pastries. The scenery and the walks are to die for.....and who could not love picking fresh blackberries along the road?I have always found that local people are happy to help when I try my high school French, and shopkeepers always have "Bonne journee !" ready every time.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the tranquillity and beauty; the quaint and comfortable gite
Liked least: there was nothing eliciting a negative response
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
C B
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“A wonderful retreat in the French Countryside!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2013

We had a delightful stay in this beautiful rural location which provided an excellent base for exploring this region. A beautiful house to stay and very gracious hosts who provided an interesting tour of the old mill. Sylvaine's preserves are delicious! This is a place to return to. There are many places to eat (of course) from the simple to the luxurious within easy driving distance.or one can simply relax in the garden and get away from it all.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The hosts Sylvaine and Robert and the location
Liked least: No complaints
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Kristina...
Olympia, Washington
1 review
“Lovely, private French retreat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2013

We had a wonderful time at this beautiful cottage. We traveled from the cottage to the Normandy D-Day beaches, Mont St. Michel, and Haras National du Pin. We put a lot of miles on our rental car. After a day to sight seeing sitting on our private patio with a glass of wine watching the cats and the chickens was very relaxing.

The cottage has everything you need and the hosts are gracious and willing to give any information you might need to make your stay perfect.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The setting was beautiful.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Judy2510
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful well appointed cottage in a charming setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 for a stay in May 2013

A beautiful setting, a delightful cottage and very charming hostess and host Sylvaine and Robert. Our trip through the old mill was most interesting and told with much enthusiasm by Robert and Sylvaine. We loved our week, walking some of the local walks and visiting historical and charming towns in the region. We hope the new "chook" is happy.
Judy and Brett, Canberra, Australia

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
nigel w
Temuka, New Zealand
1 review
“How much more French could you get”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2013

We arrived by train at Le Mans to a baptism of fire. A huge thunder and lightening storm . We were met by our friend Rhian who drove us directly to Gite Moulin de Classe
through pouring rain. When we arrived it was as though the sun had come out to welcome us. the Gite exceeded our expectations ten fold. A delightfully typically French cottage which oozed atmosphere. Sylvaine and Bob were very welcoming and helpful.We used our gite as a base for exploring Mayenne. Our favourite place was Le Lac De Sille Guillaume avec Le plage. Close by was a horse treking centre where rides were available at very reasonable rates.For those not riding a walk around the lake followed by some refreshments at a shore side cafe made for a very pleasant day. We enjoyed some lovely evenings on our veranda sampling some delicious wines and cheeses .A walk up to St Germain De Coulamere and the Boulangerie in the morning gave us an appetite for breakfast. We also had the pleasure of staying at another Gite called " La Belaziere ' a much larger style of accomodation right in rural France with some lovely local walks. thank you Sylvaine and Bob for a most enjoyable experience.Best wishes to you both and a special thank you to Rhian. A votre sante. Nigel and Frances

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The double sided log fire !
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2014
Thank you Nigel! We appreciate your comments, coming from far-away New Zealand. Glad you enjoyed our other gite too for those extra nights that you decided on at the last minute ! We'd love to see you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Charlotte...
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to enjoy a true holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Gite de Moulin in July 2013, after travelling through Bretagne. Upon our arrival we thought we had seen the best of the north of France, but we soon realised the best was yet to come! The gite is a perfect place to relax, unwind and yet again actively explore some of France's most wonderful area's. We did not plan much in advance, but Sylvaine has lots of information and we picked several suggestions from the big map and many folders available. Every morning we did one of the hikes nearby or in a nearby town. Spectacular views and very peaceful! Afternoons were filled with visits to the many pitoresque cities nearby, and of course with our daily routine of enjoying our wine and cheese sitting on the bridge over the river at the gite. Details of all the places we visited are written in the guest book (filled with excellent reviews and tips for visits).
The hosts are wonderful, very friendly and respecting all privacy. The latter could not be said about the 2 chickens who came to check out the new guests upon arrival, and who came to visit us every morning. I never thought I would ever get so fond of a chicken, and they are still the topic of our conversations months later.
Do not hesitate to book this place; we are planning to return soon again, as it is a true little place of paradise, the best escape, the perfect holiday!
PS: the home made jams are also delicious!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything; well equiped place
Liked least: honestly... nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$125
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Sylvaine C
Speaks English, French
Listed since : Jul 2013
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 21 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing