We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service and crumbling accommodations in paradise!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Modessa Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Modessa Island Resort to your Saves list
Modessa Island Resort
144 Kms. north of Puerto Princesa City, Roxas, Palawan Island, Philippines (Formerly Coco Loco Island Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Roxas
Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Terrible service and crumbling accommodations in paradise!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

While a bit of a haul to get to, the island itself is great. There are few places to stay on a small tropical island that isn’t too expensive. With Cocoloco, make sure you understand the tradeoffs that make this place affordable.
Very good snorkeling right off the beach. Unfortunately the weather became too stormy before we had a chance to dive, but the offerings were reasonably priced.
Rooms are very basic which I expected, however, the resort in general is not well maintained. The floor in the dining room literally crumbled under my chair! I almost feel to the floor, and the staff thought nothing of it, didn't try to help or fix the hole, they just left it there.

The food served was average at best. The resort went all out with roast pig and all the trimmings for New years which was a nice touch.

The biggest disappointment was the service. It is hard to rate service that was non-existent. I did not expect good or great service but did expect much better than we received.

The booking agent designated by the resort never provided a travel voucher and never responded to repeated requests for tour costs so I could ensure adequate cash on hand. Information he provided via e-mail was inaccurate.
Upon arrival, we had a nice welcome drink, but the service ended there. We had to ask to get the keys to our room and only received a key to one of the two rooms. Upon asking again for the second key, we found the room not made up for three people.
Food service was incredibly slow, they have a system where you have to preorder food for the next meal, but it does nothing to help get the food served in a timely manner. Food quality was average at best.
Staff was not friendly to our family. Getting any level of service for drinks, etc. was impossible.

All the reviews that rate the resort ‘average’ are all accurate in their representation of the resort.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    26
    9
    2
    13
See reviews for
18
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

We were at CocoLoco in low season, october 2010. The place was amazing! It felt like a hidden paradise, and you were disconnected from everything. All we had to worry about was eating and relaxing. The huts were primitive, with bamboo floor, salt-water showers and mosquito nets over the bed. The staff and diving instructor are great. The food was delicious if you ordered local fish/seafood or traditional philippine courses.

Everything is genuin about this resort. If you get the chance, visit the island in 2010. This is the last year the resort will be this primitive and genuin. In 2011 new owners will tear everything down and build a new resort. Probably very nice too, but it will get more modern and in our opinion loose some of it's current charm.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We were looking for a stress-free,rustic,casual and quiet place to unwind. No TV,no schedules,no alarms,no sounds of vehicles,no dress codes. Just plain mother nature at its best. If you can overlook the outdated and very simple cottages, this is the place for you. It has the basic salt-water shower and toilets (fresh water in drums for rinsing in abundance). Beds had a mosquito netting and electric fan in each cottage, large hammock, we occupied 3 cottages. It was low-season during our trip so the occupancy was only about 20 guests,so we got spoiled by the entire staff especially the chef, food was great and yummylicious, eat anytime.We had swedish massages(ask for Janet). Go for their island hopping trip(snorkeling,fishing,picnic at Purao Island). We created our own nightlife by timing our dinners with the spectacular sunsets with bonfire on the sandy beach, drank San Miguel or mojitos while we played cards. Perfect place for family bonding. Oh and let the staff arrange your trip to the Underground River while there, or get your PADI certificate too. Coco Loco Island Resort will be 25 years old on May 2011, we plan to go back before they renovate the place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

This resort, set on it's own tropical island complete with swaying palm trees and white sand beaches, is simply delightful. There is a set charge of 1,800 peso per night which includes all meals (excellent and cooked to order, whenever you feel like eating) and all resort ferry transfers (45 minutes) from the mainland. Their accomodation is well built native style huts, on the beach and about 3 metres from sheltered and calm blue water.
The staff are especially friendly, and nothing is too much trouble. Feel like dining on the beach, or in the look-out tower? No worries, with spotless linen and excellent service. A holiday which will be long remembered

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

Small island but quite pretty & not the cleanest we encountered on our trip in the Philippines.
Poor service (they really did not care) and majority of food on the menu was unavailable like basic things for an island, fish, crab (while we could blatantly see crab on the beach in front of us!) and fruit - very disappointing we perhaps planned on staying longer as we had days to play with but 3 nights was more than enough, go to another resort - from coron town called Coral Bay Island resort now that is money well spent, more expensive but it is definately worth it!! and the food is amazing!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

Although the rooms are not up to date. Coco Loco is small beautifully island and the perfect escape from the world. Perfect getaway with a loved one, just need to bring a book to enjoy the quiet times. Food is delicious.

If your concerned about the room don't worry about it because you'll be spending all day in the sun or diving.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

We stayed 4 nights on Coco Loco Island resort in March.

The island is indeed beautiful: crystal clear water and sandy white beaches so overall good value for money.

The bungalows and the restaurant are dated and would need to be improved
The bungalows and restaurant do lack a bit of atmosphere, which is a shame.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Modessa Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Modessa Island Resort

Address: 144 Kms. north of Puerto Princesa City, Roxas, Palawan Island, Philippines (Formerly Coco Loco Island Resort)
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Roxas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Roxas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Modessa Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Loco Island Hotel Roxas
Modessa Island Resort Palawan Island, Philippines - Roxas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Modessa Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.