We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Modessa Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Modessa Island Resort to your Saves list
Modessa Island Resort
144 Kms. north of Puerto Princesa City, Roxas, Palawan Island, Philippines (Formerly Coco Loco Island Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Roxas
Paris, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in the Modessa Island Resort : we initially planned to stay only 2 nights, but the place was really nice, natural and peaceful that we decided to extend !
We had a "Deluxe Cottage" on the beach for 75€ / night, bfast, lunch, dinner (without drinks), private hamac on the bungalow (and other are available everywhere on the island), 2 private long chairs on the beach, really nice things to see just snorkeling in front of the bungalow (seehorses, lions fishes, ...) and we also tried the night dive with Richard, dive master of the Tarvis Dive Center, which was really great !!
Actually prices are over the average hotel prices in the Philippines, but it's really affordable and worth it.
Special thanks to George, the dog mascot :-)

PS : for information the last boat transfer from Roxas to Modessa is at 4PM, don't miss it or you'll have to pay 1500 PHP for private boat transfer (it takes almost 1 hour to reach the island)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    26
    9
    2
    13
See reviews for
18
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have been to coco loco 3 times before the new owners took over. Unfortunately we did not even make it to the resort as the resort kept us waiting 4 hours with our children for a boat and then offered a boat that was beyond dangerous - we have lived in Asia for over 15 years and have been going to the Phils for years so we know what to expect and this little boat was not even a banca - even the boat men suggested the 2 hour journey across the straight would not be safe with our Children 4 and 5 years old. So after arguing and waiting for now 5 hours as sunset we stayed in Roxas and returned back to Manila the next day. We had booked 4 nights on the island - paid for flights and changed everything as we were shocked at how we were treated. To say the least we were so very disappointed our island paradise no longer cared if we came again or not.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed 3 nights. We were 9 people. Well the people are wiling to serve. The service people did they best. The food was good and fresh. Well the accommodation is low. Just saltwater showers and nobody cleaned our cabana. Well we didn't expect a five star cabana so weren't dissapointed. But 3 nights were enough. The island is beautiful and just perfect for snorkeling and diving. We enjoyed it anyway. ;) it's worth it to go. For a few days for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Even though it's been a while since me and my girlfriend visited Modessa, we still carry many great memories from our stay. We arrived on short notice in what we later discovered to be the very start of the high-season. This was in the beginning of October.
We were welcomed by many of the staff on site, including lovely May and her adorable retriever dog George. After having spent a few hours by the port of Roxas, we felt very happy to finally be at the island where we would stay for 10 days. Note that we had planned for 3-5 days, but we loved it so much that we prolonged our stay!

Given the perticular time of the season there were not many visitors on the resort. We shared this beautiful little paradise with only two other couples for a few days. When they (finally) left, we had the great joy of having the island all to ourselves!

The hut we had was ON the beach, with surrounding palmtrees to cast shade during the sunniest hours. The huts themselves are rather simplistic, but they were to meet our expectations since we had read quite a lot about the place before we finally got there. We didn't expect electricity during daytime hours, nor AC and any excessive luxury. All we wanted was a calm and down-to-earth stay and that was exactly what we had!
So if you are that kind of person who want a personal servant to tend for you every hour of the day - then by all means, look elsewhere. If you on the other hand are looking for a beautiful scenery, loving and caring staff who can level with their guests in a natural and personal way - go for it!

The snorkeling and the possibilities to do great dives are top notch! The waters are very clear and you did not have to swim far to find Nemo. Actually, we also met his friend. You know, the little baby turtle, swimming around in the shallow waters by the restaurant "balcony".
The beach itself was impeccable, and it stays with us forever.

One review can not make this place justice. Sometimes words are not enough. All we can say is that May and her friendly staff, especially Joy the talkative bartender/waitor made a deep impression on us. If we would ever return to Palawan, there is no doubt in our hearts that we would not visit this wonderful resort again.

Thanks for everything,
Andreas and Therese from Sweden

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have visited the place when it was name Coco Loco Resort in 2001. The travel from Puerto Princesa is a little bit long. We were greeted by a private driver and we hired him to bring us to Roxas town which is about 4 hours away from Puerto Princesa. Then a boat will bring you to this small island (about 7 hectares) where you could walk around in just few minutes. There are 3 type Bungalow to sleep with, my favorite are the one close to the beach with nipa roof. The other bungalows are located inside the island and their architecture blended with the surrounding nature. The beach is very nice and you can see beautiful corals next to your bungalow, and lots of fishes around the corals. The place is very quite and perfect for a person who wants to get away from it all. The service may not be great since it is so remove, they did not hire professional people to do what 5 star hotel does. I have been to Palawan 3 times and this is the island that I have visited the first time, and I can make comparison to other places I have visited, such as El Nido and Coron. El Nido and Coron have so much varieties than this small island. I recommend to stay here for just 3 days, then visit El Nido and Coron. At that time in 2001, I thought the place is so inexpensive to stay with if you compare with Dos Palmas resort in Honda Bay area. Again it is worth trying even just for a few days. It's a beautiful island.

Room Tip: Go for the room that is close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

(1) Transportation : You need to take a van or bus to a restaurant called "Bottega" in Roxas. It takes about 2.5 hrs from the San Jose New Market Bus Terminal near Puerto Princesa, depends on the driver and vehicle condition. From Bottega Restaurant, someone from the resort will pick you up, taking you to the Roxas Wharf to take their scheduled boat at 2 PM (only 1 scheduled boat a day, so make sure you get on the boat on time. We were lucky to get to the island earlier since we were the only 2 guests going to the island that day).

(2) Beachfront Bunglow : Make sure you can tolerate the heat during the windless afternoon without electricity to turn on the fan. The power supply only serves from 6PM-8AM. Also, make sure you can enjoy the wild animals around you or beneath you, and having their symphony to sleep (you can actually see some crabs crawling beneath you bamboo floor). However, they do offer mosquito-netting covering the whole bed which is a good thing, but outside the net, you are handing yourself to the God and, of course, flies and mosquitoes. BTW, be aware of the nails they stuck to fix the bamboo floor, you may accidentaly get hurt by them.

(3) Beach and Food : Save the best to the last. The beach is definitely overwhelming and paradise-like. The best time for watering on the beach will be in the morning. The tide starts going out from the noon, after that it nearly impossible to swim or play in the water. So make sure you make great use of the morning hours. Also, the room rate is full-board. The staff in restaurant are really helpful and friendly. They serve great variety of cuisines,taste well but a bit too heavy.

(4) Overall : If they can improve the comfort of the bungalow, I don't really mind pay more, because the beach and sunset is definitely worth revisiting.

Room Tip: Near the restaurant as close as possible. You can get more wind to cool down the heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

So far the most relaxing, charming and unique island hideaway I’ve ever been. We enjoyed our stay in a nice tropical somewhat tiki hut nested in the sand dunes, perfect for watching the sunset with a glass of chilled coconut juice. Highly recommended for vacationers who wants peace and serenity that those crowded islands cannot offer.
We think our stay at Modessa Island Resort is one of the most relaxing and enjoyable holidays ever.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Modessa Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Modessa Island Resort

Address: 144 Kms. north of Puerto Princesa City, Roxas, Palawan Island, Philippines (Formerly Coco Loco Island Resort)
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Roxas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Roxas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Modessa Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Loco Island Hotel Roxas
Modessa Island Resort Palawan Island, Philippines - Roxas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Modessa Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.