We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy pub grub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rafters & Friels Bar

Rafters & Friels Bar
2-4 Kilrea Road | Swatragh, Swatragh BT46 5QF, Northern Ireland
028 7940 1206
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Swatragh
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Armagh UK
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Cosy pub grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Friendly staff serving lovely home made food in a cosy pub setting.
Just had a light lunch here with friends, but food was really nice and value for money.
Lovely place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcmkDerry, Owner at Rafters & Friels Bar, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thanks for the nice comments on our business. Happy you enjoyed our food and that it was value for money.
Managenent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Great wee pub/restuarant in sleepy village. Good food keen prices and good atmosphere. Staff mostly friendly and willing to chat. Reasonable selection on menu catering for most needs.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcmkDerry, Owner at Rafters & Friels Bar, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thanks for your positive comments on your dining experience at Rafters.
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“better than average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Had Sunday lunch here recently on the strength of previous reviews, better than average food but overall I found it nothing to get excited about. My sons soup was served with shop bought wheaten bread not the hot roll indicated on the menu. One of the side plates was chipped.
The food itself was hot & of a sufficent portion but it lacked the woh factor, for me

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Drive on, dont stop”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Called to this place yesterday on way hope from Portrush, Kids were starving, when we went in, we were asked had we booked, which I replied no, the waitress said they were very busy but could fit us in, no harm to them but they didnt seem to be that busy. We waited about 30 minutes to place our order. My older boy has Autism and found it very difficult to wait for his food. When I ordered my meal I just wanted a chicken salad, with no egg or cheese, told the waitress this, you would have thought I was asking for a million pounds! it took over an hour for the food to come and mine came with an egg on top. When I told waitress I was allergic to egg, she bit my head off saying I didnt tell her this, but I had, she reluctantly took it back. My chicken on my salad was extremely dry, not nice at all. Mt husband ordered honey chilli chicken, it was terrible, horrible taste and the chicken had big hard bits in it that he couldnt even cut through. All in all it was one of the worst experiences we have ever had in eating out with our children. I would not recommend this place to anyone and we certaintly would never ever go back

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Avoid ...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Called specifically 4 food.. Waited 25 mins 2 order.. The waitress took orders @ 2 other tables even tho they arrived after us..
40 mins later after hubby said abt the lengthy wait.. Comes 2 say my starter not available .. Potato wedges.. :( 1 hr later 2nd choice arrived .. Heard the table nxt sending soup back.. Actually said it was disgusting.. All starters went back.. Mains was ano no no.. Take my advice & drive on...

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafters & Friels Bar also viewed

Garvagh, County Londonderry
Dungiven, County Londonderry
 

Been to Rafters & Friels Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafters & Friels Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.