We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yurt Front Door
Yurt Front Door
Yurt Front Door
Yurt Interior
La Petite Grange
Swimming Pool
Games Barn
Bussiere-Poitevine
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
surfingst...
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We spent a fantastic week in Limousin. My kids, aged 2 and 4, were able to go free range which is fantastic when you usually live in a city. It was super relaxing!

The yurt is wonderfully spacious and fairy lights made it magical. Beds were comfy. The hammock seat hanging from the oak tree, overlooking trees and a lake was a great touch. We were delighted with the welcome hamper as it meant we didn't need to head straight to the supermarket on arrival. Sipping wine on the patio whilst the kids explored the trampoline, well equipped games barn, swing, slide, said hello to the chickens and cats, made for a perfect first evening.

There is a small barn with kitchen, shower room, dining area and sofa and it was lovely and cool compared to the heat outside. The kids were very happy playing with the toys provided (which was a thoughtful touch). The swimming pool was lovely although we were a bit unlucky with the weather so only used it over our first weekend.

We enjoyed the unspoilt nature of the area, the red Limousin cows in every field, the croaking frogs in the lake next door and glut of traditional French villages.

Plenty to do in the area - we visited a monkey park/reserve and a crocodile park as well as Limoges. There were plenty of other options for families with older children.

Cathy, Jules and Dylan (Matilda says hi!) were fantastic hosts and there were so many little touches that just made things easy for us...two sets of towels, one for showers and one for the pool...oil and vinegar in the kitchen for salad dressings....a water dispenser in the fridge...BBQ...WIFI...pool table...table tennis...swing ball...and we had a fab last evening at a local pizzeria! Thanks guys!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We really appreciate you taking the time to do this. It was great to meet you - Dylan says 'Hi back' to Mathilda (and please let her know that he lost a tooth today - big news when you are 6!). Have a great summer. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Azer7
Paris
1 review
“Fun, peaceful vacation in a beautiful spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

If you have an outdoor loving family but camping is not your thing, this is perfect for you.
Chez Yurt is located in a beautiful, quiet spot, where all you hear is birds and frogs. Sleeping in the spacious yurt was such a fun and comfortable experience. We enjoyed sipping beer (Cathy thoughtfully had ready for us in the fridge) on the terrace, admiring the surrounding nature. Our kids loved jumping on the trampoline on the yard, petting the friendly cats and playing the billiard/pingpong in the barn (very important when it rained). The separate kitchen was well-equipped and everything was very clean. So was the shower and the toilet. We were very well taken care of throughout our stay.
Cathy gave us lots of ideas for visits in the area - we did a hikind/picnicing by beautiful St. Pardoux, which was not far from the yurt.
Thank you Cathy - we had a wonderful vacation!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Yurt, peacefulness, service
Liked least: Nothing much - wifi was not working well
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. It was great to meet you all, and hope to welcome you back again one day. Dylan loved playing with Ethan on the trampoline! Best wishes, Cathy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
blakeycre...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A place loved by all the family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 for a stay in August 2012

When it comes to holidays I like Boutique hotels and my husband and children like camping so compromise is key! I felt very lucky on this holiday that i didn't really have to compromise, the facilities are fantastic with the yurts even having electricity. My husband and children had their outdoor experience sleeping under a great oak tree looking at the stars and we could sit on the terrace at the barn after a lovely hot shower drinking the lovely wine from the welcome hamper.
The pool and the trampoline were loved and well used by the children. Cathy, Jules and Dylan were the best hosts with a wealth of knowledge about the area and things to do. We had a great day out at the lake with a picnic and a fun time visiting the monkeys.
We also highly recommend a meal cooked by Cathy her food is fantastic.
This is definitely a place we would recommend as a holiday destination.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: everything
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2013
Thanks, Becky, for such a lovely review! I'm particularly pleased that you liked the facilities - we do aim to be more than just 'camping with a proper bed'. All the best to you and the family. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
hope153
Dorset
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“excellent, beautiful friendly and well thought out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 for a stay in July 2012

We stayed late July - stumbling across the website earlier in the year - what a find! it exceeded all our expectations. The yurt is fantastic - huge - well furnished and thought out with electricity or use of candles, it was both Clean and fresh, light and airy ... The barn is exceptional, well kitted out with all that you need for a glamping escape...... the terrace was a much used addition - A lovely sun trap during the day and a great retreat from the boys of an evening - the best place to sip wine and eat cheese.
Cathy and her family are very warm and welcoming - she is a great hostess and a fab cook - do take up one of her meals. The welcome hamper was just what we needed on arrival and full of eats/treats to get you through your first evening. The location was perfect - quiet and within easy reach of the bakers ( ask cathy for directions - just the best breads and pastries) village amenities and a car ride to the supermarkets. A near by lakeside pizza restaurant is a must do too.
If the boys ( aged 3 &5)were writting this review they would say that the best bits were the pool, helping Cathy feed the chickens, the pool, sleeping in the yurt, the pool,
the b-b-q, the pool, the trampoline the pool and the games room.
A fantastic holiday - we loved it!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: that we were the only holiday makers, the pool - the hosts
Liked least: my failure to book two weeks
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review. We are touched by your lovely comments - and glad that the boys liked the pool! Hope our paths cross again - and Dylan says 'hi'.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Rob S
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely location, setting and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We spent a great week at Chez Yurt with all our expectations exceeded (sorry for the management speak!). The facilities of the adjacent barn, which included everything except a bedroom, meant that we were able to cook and wash as you would in a rented house yet sleep beneath the oak tree in the Mongolian Yurt, or sit on the porch overlooking the quiet valley.

Our two girls could have happily spent all their time in the pool, on the trampoline or playing with in the games room, but they also enjoyed the walks and cycle rides from the door.

The hospitality was superb throughout and we thoroughly enjoyed the meal prepared by Cathy. We would unreservedly recommend Chez Yurt.
Highlights:
Swimming pool - complete with very active young children to keep my girls occupied
Welcome hamper and ability to cook and wash in luxury
Complete privacy if required
Aperitifs whilst sitting on the step of the Yurt when the girls were asleep

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: All the mod cons of the adjacent barn and the atmosphere of the Yurt
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 11, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to meet you and the family, and share our little 'coin de paradis'. We will hopefully see you all again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$113
/
Night
Week
Instant Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Cathy W
Speaks English, French
Listed since : Sep 2012
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 72 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing