We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Route 66 hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bussiere-Poitevine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Route 66 hotel
Save
You added Route 66 hotel to your Saves list
107 Avenue de la Liberation, Bussiere-Poitevine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Saffron Walden, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was our 4th visit chez Harry en route to the south. Wish we had stayed another night as there was a rock band playing in the bar the next day. This place has everything you need after a long day in the saddle, by which I mean beer and food. All the rooms are well appointed, designed with flair and attention to detail. Harry is friendly and he even helped us wire in our Sat Nav into the bike's battery. Excellent value too. We will be back!

Room Tip: Get one of the themed rooms if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harry-at-66, Owner at Route 66 hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hey Andrew, thats really nice of you. Hope you got down to Martins OK without too much rain. Best wishes, Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
19
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Had 4 great nights in August. Did the ride down in 1 day from my sisters in Swindon (600 miles) arrived at 8pm. I was greated as soon as I pulled in and two quick pints in the well stocked bar soon sorted me out.
Room was perfect with plenty of room.
Harry made me feel welcome throughout. I had 2 fantastic meals in the restaurant.

Was given plenty of information about the surrounding area and some great location ideas for trips out on my bike.
Will be staying again on my next travels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harry-at-66, Owner at Route 66 hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hi Steve, Many thanks for the positive review. Hope to see you again very soon. Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

It's exactly what it says on the tin - comfortable rooms, great food by Sam and made to feel very welcome by Harry and Jill. Has secure bike parking and drying facilities if unfortunate to get caught in the rain. Harry recommended some great places to visit and have lunch and of course some good roads.. do what we done - take a Sat Nav and just ride the back roads for the day and then hit the home/hotel button!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harry-at-66, Owner at Route 66 hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hi Mark, Many thanks for the very nice review, I have been out today and done just that, - gone out and got lost and thyen set the satnav for home. What a lovely sunny day, first time for ages unfortunately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Enjoyed a one stay here in June 2012 having travelled from St Malo en-route to the MIllau bridge part of a group of 16 bikers.
A great experience- warm welcome from Harry when we arrived- secure parking provided.
A friendly environment with lots of character. Good food and well looked after.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harry-at-66, Owner at Route 66 hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay with us, you were all wonderful happy customers and it was a joy to be here for you. Hope to see you all again soon. Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed here in June 2012.
We arrived after a fairly long but great days riding from Laval. Harry had phoned me a half hour before we arrived to ask what time we were arriving, we were running late due to the views we had en route. When we arrived, Harry was there to greet us with secure parking for the bikes and a cold beer (he did ask did we want Tea/coffee and to see the rooms first) but we were too close to his well known bar. Half hour later and our dinner was served and what a meal it was, 4 courses of brilliantly cooked food from a new young chef. After dinner we went to the rooms and they were great, all decorated with a different theme, rooms were extremely comfortable and spacious. nice one Harry.
Harry was a great host, anything we needed he got, told him we were hearding for Oradour Sur Glane the following day and he gave us a bit if history of the area.
After dinner we went wandering around the property and what a place, his own converted bar tastefully decorated by all, converted sheds for parking of our bikes and his collection of all sorts of vehicles, wildlife out the back and huge gardens.
Breakfast served the next morning which was bang on, we headed off for a bit of sightseeing.Day over and we couldn't wait to get back to Harry's for some more delicious food and a night of criac.
I waited 2 years to visit here and it lived up to all expectations.
Great location and very easy to find !!
Keep up the good work Harry, we'll surely be back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harry-at-66, Owner at Route 66 hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Hey Fellas, I was great to be here for you. You chaps from the Emerald Isle are always welcome - my door is always open for you (and a wee bottle of Poitín is always welcome.....lol) Best wishes and hope to meet you all again all of a sudden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We arrived to be greeted by Harry the owner. The first thing he did was make sure our bike was secure inside the garage and then offered us tea or coffee, but we chose a cold beer in the bar as we had been riding for hours. The Bar is very much a biker style bar but has live music occasionally, unfortunately not while we were there. We met other guests in there and chatted before being shown to our room - which was very nicely decorated in a traditional french style and very clean as was the rest of the Hotel. We ate a very good meal prepared by Sam the Chef and had a thoroughly enjoyable evening. Albeit this Hotel is aimed at Motorcyclists, anyone who wishes to have a sociable evening would enjoy staying here. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harry-at-66, Owner at Route 66 hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Hey Bikerted. - Thanks for the cool write up. We are happy that you were happy. Hope you can get back for another sociable evening soon. Best wishes, Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Travelling with a friend through France from Spain by motorcycle, staying at Route 66 was one of the highlights of the trip. We arrived late afternoon and was met by Harry who was the perfect host. The day prior to our arrival I was particularly impressed with his text reminding us that it was a public holiday and to fill with fuel where we could. He also asked whether we would like supper and I am glad we said yes as his chef Sam cooked us a truely wonderful meal. To be able to leave your bike in a safe garage, be surrounded by other bikes and view his collection of motorcycles and cars, together with other biker regalia is almost heaven. True the place could have been a little less dusty, but the clean rooms and linen made up for that. The cafe room with endless free tea and coffee was a first for me and Harry's cooked breakfast in the morning set us up for the day. His recommendation to visit a nearby tourist spot was also a great success. I will definately be coming back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Route 66 hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Route 66 hotel

Address: 107 Avenue de la Liberation, Bussiere-Poitevine, France
Location: France > Limousin > Haute-Vienne > Bussiere-Poitevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bussiere-Poitevine
Number of rooms: 11

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Route 66 hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.