We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy hotel in the mountains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artemisia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Artemisia Hotel to your Saves list
Artemisia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boccialacce | Bastelica, 20119 Bastelica, Corsica, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bastelica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cosy hotel in the mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had a wonderfull stay at the Artemisia Hotel in Corsica. It's a cosy design hotel with very friendly and helpfull staff. View from our bedroom was amazing.
A great place to stay if you want to discover the mountains of Corsica. Ajaccio is also easy to reach and Bastelica is a nice, little town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    34
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
114
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
new york, ny
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

After a long and winding drive through the gorgeous mountains of Corsica we were exhausted and happy to arrive at Artemisia. We were warmly greeted and showed to our room and told to come to dinner when we were ready. The room was small, especially for 3 of us, traveling as a family, but set up to make the most of the beautiful views of the mountain village out the window. The hotel is nestled into the landscape but has a modern look and a great design. Comfortable and cozy, yet contemporary. The staff were friendly and helpful and served delicious food in the comfortable dining room. There wasn't a menu but we were happy to eat the excellently prepared meals cooked with fresh, local ingredients. We will return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Finding the right sort of place to stay in Corsica can be challenging but the Artemisia was truly wonderful. Simple but elegant "arty" decor, lovely new well equipped rooms and beautiful local fare all nestled in a small quaint town an easy drive from Ajaccio. Christoph and his wife made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived and cooked for us like we were friends not guests. Our teenagers loved sitting and reading and playing board games while we savoured the bar and excellent local wine list. Sadly a little cold for the pool outside This is a rare place on an island of holiday all inclusive venues and tired old fashioned villas. Recommended for anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I stayed here in April 2012 for a week and was so well looked after by the owners and staff, friendly, unobtrusive and always there when I needed anything - unpretentious and subtle
A beautiful location in the quiet mountain village of Bastelica, beautiful views from the bed and bedroom, good food, good wine.
A great place to rest and to use as as a central point for forays into the surrounding mountains and valleys...only thing is that you definetly need your own mode of transport.
I highly reccommend the hotel and found it great value
Cathy Ryan

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa, canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed there in May 2011. The hotel is well situated in small Bastelica - you can walk to the city centre. The hotel itself is an exercice in design - both architectural and decor - and its quirkyness makes it very attractive. The rooms are nice and bright, and the layout is unusually pleasant, with the bed facing the window. Bed was super comfy and the owner was nice and welcoming. The breakfast (not included) was really good - probably the best croissants we ate in Corsica.
Overall though, we thought the price was pretty steep for the location. There isn't much to do in Bastelica but drive somewhere and then go for a hike. The bathroom was quite small, and the way the shower was designed, while attractive, was just not practical.

Would recommend this to people who do not mind paying for a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We spent four nights at the hotel with two young children. The architecture of the restaurant and lobby and restaurant is very modern and quite excellent. The rooms are also very stylish, with the beds positioned in large picture windows overlooking a gorgeous valley. However, be warned that the rooms are very small. The service is highly personal. The food in the restaurant is a bit variable but overall is very good.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Artemisia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemisia Hotel

Address: Boccialacce | Bastelica, 20119 Bastelica, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Bastelica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bastelica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Artemisia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artemisia is contemporary design hotel located in the heart of Corsica in the village of Bastelica, between the sea and the mountains in a magnificient setting. The whole become lovely integrated to an authentic fit. It offers rooms with panoramic mountain views and a swimming pool.Each of the bright guest rooms has a private bathroom with panoramic views, flat-screen TV and free internet access. Guests can also relax in the hotel's library near the tearoom, the whole seems a loft part. Artemisia's restaurant serves a breakfast essentially home made that guests can have on the panoramic terrace or in the lounge. The restaurant, opened according the period, proposes regional specialities made from seasonal produce. Hotel Artemisia is 35 km from the sandy beaches of the Gulf of Ajaccio and only a 15 minute drive from the snow resort of Val d'Ese. This is the best to satisfy all you feel like doing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Splendia and Hotels.com so you can book your Artemisia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artemisia Hotel Bastelica, Corsica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artemisia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.