We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Exner Review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Exner

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Exner to your Saves list
Villa Exner
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 Essenhout Ave, Grabouw 7160, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Grabouw B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Villa Exner Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I were visiting Grabouw for a wedding. We came from the UK for a very short trip. We booked Villa Exner online and had no idea how nice our 3 day stay would be. It surpassed our expectations. We stayed in a garden chalet with a beautiful bedroom, exquisitely furnished, soft large bed with the best cotton, lovely towels and soaps, and the ensuite was as good as you will find in any 6 star hotel.

Bernt and his wife Sabine looked after us. Presentation and quality of the breakfasts were 1st class and delicious.

The house was also beautiful but all we really want to say is that anyone who stays here will be very pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    4
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
44
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We attended a wedding in the Elgin Valley and stayed at Villa Exner. The location is quiet central.
The staff was super friendly, the breakfast amazing and the facilities really great.
The only negative is that there is no cable TV in the rooms, but there is a DVD player with a TV screen.
They really take great care in the small detail and I would most definitely recommend this as my preferred stay-over destination in Grabouw.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sascha S, Owner at Villa Exner, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Many thanks for your review, it was a pleasure to welcome you at Villa Exner.
Just as an advice, only our Double rooms don't have satellite TV; From Luxury King rooms contain satellite TV, mini bar fridge, ironing station, laptop sized safe, King bed and a lot more space as well as direct garden access. Generally, our Double rooms are designed for a shorter stay and to offer a most cost-effective accommodation by offering slightly less amenities.
We hope you will find this comment useful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Wasn't expecting such luxury at the back of Grabouw but Villa Exner was a treat! The hosts are lovely, the service impeccable and the breakfast was great!

Spacious room and bathroom, comfortable bed and very pretty grounds. Would definitely recommend - great for an Elgin Valley wedding weekend accommodation.

Room Tip: Room 11 was just great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

It is 1am on my honeymoon and I am lying in bed at Villa Exner being treated to the snoring of our neighbours in the room next door. The house, pool and rooms are beautiful and the owners very friendly. I would just echo feedback regarding the thin walls, as you too may find yourself writing reviews to keep yourself occupied until you're tired enough to sleep through the neighbours snoring.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Wanted to explore the Elgin Valley area and all that it has to offer. The Villa Exner was certainly a great place to be based. It provided a environment that was very relaxing with great food and a service that was excellent. The rooms have been fitted out to a high standard and are pleasing to the eye. There is a lovely swimming pool within the garden that has been beautifully landscaped.We were provided with some very useful advice about the area and where to explore, as a result we stayed an extra night. A most enjoyable stay.
Tony & Liz

Room Tip: We had a luxury room that had a shower and a bath in one of the annex's a short distance from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We originally booked in for Friday and Saturday night but so loved the place stayed the Sunday night-it was my sons wedding weekend which made it more special-run as one would expect by a German family-proffessional and beautifully decorated but not pretentious-we have lareday committed to goping back in winter-stunning place in a very quiet area in the valley,
Trevor M and Amanda.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George RSA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This glorious 5*+ Boutique hotel can be found nestling between vineyards and orchard covered hills and valleys of the beautiful Elgin Valley. It is a family run hotel which offers all we expect from a 5* hotel together with kind personal attention from the family. The room, with views over three sides of the building was very spacious and very comfortable.( a small refrigerator to keep the bottled water cold would have been welcome) An excellent, controlable air- conditioning system kept the room at a perfect temperature. Having the kettle etc. for making tea/coffee in the dressing room was thoughtful. We enjoyed fine dining, of the highest standard, served in beautiful surroundings. Lovely easy gardens and a large swimming pool. This gem of a hotel, hidden behind the town of Grabouw, is the perfect place to experience the tranquility of the countryside and yet be within easy touch of the Winelands, Franschoek, Stellenbosch and Cape Town. We look forward to another visit.

Room Tip: We were VERY happy with- Room 23.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Exner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Exner

Address: 11 Essenhout Ave, Grabouw 7160, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Grabouw
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Grabouw
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Exner 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Exner is an exclusive small boutique hotel, centrally located at Elgin Valley Grabouw in the Winelands and close to Cape Town. All major attractions and activities are within easy access, making it your ideal base to explore the Cape while enjoying the space and tranquility of the country side.Experience all those indulging touches and the intimate, personal service that only a small boutique hotel can offer.Villa Exner provides the space to relax and rejuvenate; rolling lawns, a decadent open garden offering privacy and interactive places where you can sit and chat in a laid-back atmosphere, make new friends and enjoy life in a modern country style. Villa Exner is based in the heart of Elgin Grabouw, only an hour from Cape Town. Surrounded by pure nature with the two bordering Nature Reserves, the heart of the Cape Floral Kingdom, as well as the Winelands and Hermanus at the doorstep, there are a million things to do. Hiking, birding, mountain biking, 4x4 off road trails & tours, quad biking, golf, tennis, paragliding over the stunning False Bay, scuba diving along the coast, to name a few. One of only two South African water-skiing schools, with the most beautiful setting, is also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Villa Exner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Exner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.