We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, wonderful accomodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View Chalets

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marahau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean View Chalets
Save
You added Ocean View Chalets to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   305 Sandy Bay Marahau Road | Marahau, Marahau 7197, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Marahau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, wonderful accomodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had decided to stay two nights in Abel Tasman and could not have picked a better place to stay. The view is stunning, the cabin well furnished and the bed comfortable. Possibly had there been more than the two of us the curtain, rather than a door between the bedroom and the rest of the accomodation might have been a slight problem. Both members of staff with whom we had dealings were extremely helpful. There is free wi-fi, but the signal does not reach all cabins and I had to sit outside reception - not a problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisPalzer, Front Office Manager at Ocean View Chalets, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear JonnyG47,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a pleasant review. It was a pleasure having you here and we hope to see you again some day.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Kind regards and all the best,

Chris, Robert and the Ocean View Chalets Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    28
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
131
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stamford
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Well located, as close as you can get to Abel Tasman park. Set on a hill you have nice views over the water. The rooms are furnished naturally and attractively and are well equipped. inc. dvd player, stereo Lovely, friendly cat included! Robert was very kind and helpful. We had to cancel our first night's stay due to a landslide trapping us in Milford Sound. He kindly didn't charge us (though initially we were going to be charged but he managed to rent out one of our rooms and waived the cost of the other). Much appreciated. He also helped us to find a place to stay for the following night as they were fully booked so we couldn't just shift our 2 night stay along by a day. The Fat Tui food van is just a short walk away and has some great, inexpensive food to offer.

Room Tip: The studio room is less appealing - adjacent to the main reception area and lower down without the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisPalzer, Front Office Manager at Ocean View Chalets, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear VikiBoyko,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a great review.
I am glad that you enjoyed your time in the Abel Tasman area.
Its always a pleasure to have such lovely guests stay with us!
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holidays.

Kind regards from sunny Marahau,

Robert, Chris and the Ocean View Chalets Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have read so many extremely positive reviews about this accommodation, but compared to the other experiences we had in New Zealand, this wasn't our best. It is true that the location is beautiful and the family that owns this establishment has taken great care to build these chalets. The chalet we stayed in was very clean and comfortable, with a deck and a beautiful view. We were able to get a weak signal for wifi in our room, but didn't have a problem using it in the reception area. The chalets are close enough to walk to Abel Tasman Park, which is a plus. We felt a bit mislead that Ocean View Chalets mentions "bed and breakfast" on their sign and web pages, but breakfast is $15 extra per person. Most would think the breakfast is included in the room price, and the other bed and breakfasts we booked in New Zealand worked this way. We cannot comment on breakfast since we chose to eat in our room instead. Lastly, we had an experience when we first arrived that seemed strange to us. We arrived around noon, planned to spend the afternoon in the park, and wanted to let the staff know we were in town in case we came back when the office was closed. A room wasn't available, no problem. However, my husband asked if he could use the WC and the girl at the reception answered "There are public toilets down the road." The reception area serves breakfast, I can't see guests having to run up the hills back to their rooms to relieve themselves or staff holding it in all day long. At first I thought she was joking. I kept on thinking how we were paying $145 to stay and she couldn't accommodate a simple common request. Maybe they don't have a WC where they serve breakfast, but the delivery was not hospitable. We didn't get an explanation why, there wasn't a smile or "we apologise."

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisPalzer, Owner at Ocean View Chalets, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear TraceyLA,

I am sorry to hear that you felt our service was not up to scratch. In regards to the “bed and breakfast” we are not a member of any B&B services nor do we actively advertise being B&B. Prices for both breakfast and packed lunches are clearly displayed on our website as well as on all inquiry replies. As you booked via email this should have been seen by you. How ever if you are aware of any of our advertising that mentions B&B as a package, please let us know so that we can rectify the situation immediately.
We provide toilets for all our customers – each room has a bathroom, how ever as you arrived well before check in time and the room was still occupied we were unable to let you use the bathroom in your booked studio. There are several public toilets in Marahau (three locations) of which you were informed by our front desk staff.
I feel that my staff handled the situation and themselves extremely well. There was another customer sitting in reception when you arrived and he mentioned after wards that he thought my staff had dealt with the stress you created in a professional manner. I also seem to recall you apologizing in the evening for your and your husbands attitudes and behavior earlier in the day.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Kind regards and best wishes,

Robert, owner of the Ocean View Chalets
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We recently spent four weeks travelling through New Zealand (both islands) and this remote place was one of the best accommodations we had. We stayed for three nights in beautiful Marahau and instantly fell in love with our little chalet. The couple of chalets look really lovely and blend well into the natural surroundings. We had chalet no. 4, a one bedroom chalet a bit up the hill, and we loved every second we spent there. It has everything you need, is absolutely clean and comfortable – and the views are stunning! We could have spent the whole day on the balcony or in the living room just watching the bay or the hilarious geese on the meadow. We also found Chris at the reception to be very welcoming and helpful. We really hope we’ll be back soon and can’t wait to stay in our cosy chalet no. 4 again!

Room Tip: We loved chalet no. 4, a one bedroom chalet a bit up the hill with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palzer, Front Office Manager at Ocean View Chalets, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear SeekersLittleHelper,

Thank you very much for your amazing review!!
It was great having you here and would love to have you back - number 4 will be waiting for you!

Kind regards and all the best,
Chris and the Ocean View Chalets Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Clean rooms, great service, helpful hosts, value for money.

Absolutely the best place to stay here. Very close to the national park, local food joints and the water taxi and kayak places.

The rooms are clean and well maintained. The hosts are really helpful in booking activities etc.

Overall a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palzer, Front Office Manager at Ocean View Chalets, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear KenNothingz,

Thank you very much for your brilliant review.
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us this message. It was a pleasure having you here and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
The team at the Ocean View Chalets
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Best place, by far, that we stayed in New Zealand! Wonderful stay, very clean room, wonderful views, great hosts... I can't say enough about this place! If I get to go back to New Zealand, I will make SURE that we stay at this place. Great value, great everything! I can't stress enough how wonderful and relaxing our stay was! I really wish we could have stayed longer! Thanks, Robert, for a wonderful stay that we'll never forget!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palzer, Front Office Manager at Ocean View Chalets, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear KayDGee08,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a comment.
It was a pleasure having you here and are pleased you had such a relaxing stay!!

Kind regards and we look forward to seeing you back here,

Robert and the Abel Tasman Ocean View Chalets Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a fabulous place to stay while visiting Abel Tasman. We stayed 2 nights in a 1 bedroom chalet and found it super comfortable, really clean, and great views of the ocean from our bed! Such a treat waking up to the sounds of the ocean :) the chalets are spaced out, secluded, really private, and quiet. We took a water taxi and did an one-way hike from Bark Bay back to Marahau (maybe 13+ miles or so) to experience a bit of what Abel Tasman has to offer. If we're ever back in Marahau we'll definitely stay here! This was one of my favorite stays while on the South Island. Thank you for a wonderful stay and keep up the good work!

Note: make sure you stock up on groceries in Motueka.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palzer, Front Office Manager at Ocean View Chalets, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear silly_traveler_hiker,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a brilliant review.
We appreciate your lovely comments and look forward to seeing you back here soon.

All the best,
Robert, Chris and the Ocean View Chalets team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean View Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Chalets

Address: 305 Sandy Bay Marahau Road | Marahau, Marahau 7197, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Marahau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Marahau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean View Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in native bush, with spectacular ocean views, our private self contained chalets offer the perfect getaway. Start the day with a scrumptious buffet breakfast and a smile. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean View Chalets Hotel Abel Tasman National Park
Ocean View Chalets South Island
Ocean View Chalets Marahau, Nelson-Tasman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.