We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marahau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Barn
Save
You added The Barn to your Saves list
14 Harvey Road, Motueka RD2, Marahau, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fair”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Don't expect any service, they are not interested. No welcome, and definitely no smile.

That aside, the accommodation offers the basics. Kitchen, fridge, showers toilets. Basic, and suits the location.

But definitely don't expect any help.

Oh and the rooms smell. It'll do for a stopover night.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    28
    27
    8
    7
See reviews for
5
39
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Myself and a group of friends stayed here for two nights and initially were really looking forward to our stay. The location of the barn is good for walks around Abel Tasman and is close to a few places to get food. The new cabins were pleasant and we had no problem comfortably fitting 5 people in. These are the good points.
Now for the bad points:
- rude staff. The female manage wasn't very forthcoming, walked away when being approached to help answer any queries, wouldn't give change for using washing machines or pool table, it seemed like everything was a big ask.
- unpleasant cooking environment. The outdoor kitchen, which we had access to was dirty, cold, next to toilets and had a duck walking around pooing on the floor!
- inadequate washing machines. We paid $8 for a wash and dry plus $2 for one scoop of powder and nothing came out clean or fresh! After speaking to the lady about the problem, she accused us of overfilling the washing machines which was not the case. After talking further, she refunded one wash reluctantly.
- not enough bathrooms for the number they expect to accommodate.
- lack of outdoor lighting in the evenings
- not very informative with activities to do whilst it was raining continuously (even asking for the tv to be turned on before 5pm was a big deal)
- electricity seemed to cut off during the day time when charging (only plug sockets)

We tried to make good of bad hospitality but really the two stars are more for its location in the area and the new cabins.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed there for two nights, got one of the double cabins. Great location, but its abit overpriced, minimum appliances and amenities for maximum profit. Not enough showers and toilets, to use washing machine was a nightmare, stayed up half of the night queueing up. Great location, but wasn't impressed with accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

This place was really lovely.

The rooms we stayed in were really modern and the beds were comfortable- and not all bunk beds in the rooms which was a bonus for those who scored them!

The kitchen facilities were a little outdated and cramped- but having said that there were two kitchens so they have already addressed that, which is a credit to the owners of the place, as many wouldn't. Could do with some better utensils though. Showers were good an didn't have to wait too long at peak times to jump in.

They had a cute snug tv room and even a dressing up box!

Awesome! Would highly recommend this place to stay :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Abel tasman is a verry nice national park, and the barn is pretty too.
Except for the management then.

If you run a business in tourism, i would say the first thing you've got to do is be friendly.
They where rude.
Blamed me for things that where broken after another group of people left, witout any reason.
And i'm even pretty sure they are responsible for stealing my food, probably to get back at me for letting them know that i didn't liked their attitude.

I would advise to take another hostel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastleton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Had a 2 night stay here while visiting the Abel Tasman National Park. It was a unique stop (I was on the Stray Bus). The huts were cold and not very spacious, and a bit expensive for what they were, but the kitchen and TV room were warm and comfortable, and the place was right next to the major walking track, but it rained for most of the day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed in one of the cabins for a night.
Accommodation is very basic and rustic. The cabin consists of either bunk beds or 2 single beds. I can imagine if sleeping on the top bunk, it would get fairly claustrophobic being so close to the ceiling. There is nothing else in the cabin, but the beds are comfy. The cabins can get very hot.

There are a couple of kitchen areas, one outdoor but sheltered. Both seemed reasonably well equipped. Shower and toilet facilities are semi-outdoor and very basic, but fine. There is an outdoor bbq and pool table area, but this didn't seem in use when I was there.

There is also a pay as you go internet room with plenty of PC's.

Make sure you carry a torch with you as there is little lighting around the camp ground. Location is great with Abel Tasman NP on the doorstep and a couple of nice cafe's just down the road.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn

Address: 14 Harvey Road, Motueka RD2, Marahau, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Marahau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Marahau
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
The Barn Marahau, Nelson-Tasman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.