We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning relaxed accommodation in idyllic loacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Barn

The Barn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marahau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Barn
Save
You added The Barn to your Saves list
14 Harvey Road, Motueka RD2, Marahau, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Stunning relaxed accommodation in idyllic loacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I stayed here with my partner after 5 days hiking on the Heaphy Track. The view from our Cabin was absolutely stunning - we just wanted to lie there for hours!! The beds were comfy and the room very cozy. The place is very well run with friendly staff who seem to work really hard to tidy the place and keep everything under control. The kitchen was well equipped and a good decent size. Also some of the best showers I've used in budget accommodation. Being just a few steps from the National Park was incredible and we spent our days hiking, swimming and exploring the park. Would definitely recommend and stay again next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    21
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
4
28
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

My partner and I recently returned home from a week-long holiday in the Tasman region. During our time there, we stayed at The Barn in a Double cabin. The reason we chose to stay at The Barn is that I had been there before and found its standards to be excellent. I am happy to say that since my last visit, The Barn has improved on excellence! Our cabin was incredibly clean and comfortable, the bed was great as was the duvet and linens provided. The showers and Bathrooms (which were shared) were immaculately clean and the water was always hot regardless of what time you went to take a shower. The staff were amazing, they had heaps of advice and were always happy to help with bookings and any miscellaneous questions. Thank you for another fantastic stay!! we will be back again. 5 STARS!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacki M, Manager at The Barn, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012 via mobile

Perfect place fir kayaking the next day. Stayed in tuangi dbl room which although was a great size and v clean, got v hot and we found it difficult to sleep at night. The other private rooms on the other side of the barn would have bee cooler I think. The barn was at capacity when we stayed but was still coping v well. Loads of facilities-outdoor baths, outdoor log burner, outdoor pool tables, free herb garden, two kitchens, Internet room. Only 6 showers for wholecamp but i never seemed to be waiting long. great cafe down the road too!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUEENSTOWN
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We had no other choice but to stay here really. We had already had a bad experience over e-mail with the owner where he was offering a cheap deal on the website but wouldn't honour it when we asked about it and was very rude. The area was remote and close to the walks and activities on offer. The rooms were ok, cold but we had heaters, beds were comfy but dont stay here if allergic to cats as there was one roaming the area and sitting on peoples pillows which was disgusting. The kitchen was very small, only a few hobs and we stayed with a large group so had to take turns in cooking. Didnt have much interaction with the owner. The internet was expensive but not much choice if you need to use it.

Room Tip: Try for a small 4 bed dorm nice and warm, cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
324 helpful votes 324 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

The service at this hostel is great. The reception accommodated our needs and were very courteous and fun. The location is amazing as it borders Abel Tasman Park. The kitchen is roomy with plenty of fridges. March was getting to be a bit chilly at night and early mornings, so the tin cabins would get really cold at night. Those with bunked beds had basically no room on the top bunk and no ladder to make the ascent/descent easy, and all you could do was carefully wiggle up to the second bunk, hitting your head on the ceiling. Also, the fact that the showers are outside made it really uncomfortable with the chilly weather. It is a perfect spot for warmer weather, though.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Stayed at the Barn after a recommendation from a friend. The setting for the site is absolutely perfect for those wishing to wander about the National park. I found all the staff there to be very helpful and pleasant.

My partner and I stayed in one of the cabins (boxes), and while simplist to the max, they were comfortable and served the purpose.

The only problem encountered was the 2am trip to the loo, where I had to navigate an army of cockroaches crawling all over the floor and tables of the shared facilities.

Breakfast the following morning was also off-putting as the dining facilities are open to the elements and some sort of animal had been in the night before and pulled all the bins over meaning there was rubbish everywhere! Cooking breakfast was slightly spoilt given the piles of dead insects that were populating the cupboards and cutlery drawers! yuck!

overall - excellent location, pity about the mess in the morning - maybe invest in some cupboard doors?

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

I stayed at the Barn for 3 nights. I was camping so I can't comment on the rooms too much, but the dorm seemed funky and clean, if a bit cramped. The bathrooms were fine, but the kitchen was a little small - it gets crowded round about 8pm!

What I loved though was the outdoors terrace space, which is great for sipping wine while watching the sun set! The settings around the hostel were brilliant too: on the doorstep of Abel Tasman national park, unlimited view of the bay, huge eucalyptus trees right by my tent and tuis singing in the bush... Of 2 months of camping/hostelling round New Zealand, the Barn is my best camping memory!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn

Address: 14 Harvey Road, Motueka RD2, Marahau, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Marahau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Marahau
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
The Barn Marahau, Nelson-Tasman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.