We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location for Abel Tasman” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marahau Beach Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marahau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marahau Beach Camp
Save
You added Marahau Beach Camp to your Saves list
Waterfront, RD 2, Marahau, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best location for Abel Tasman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Just next to the park is a well kept campground across the street from the beach in Marahau. A great restaurant on site. The staff was helpful in arranging activities. We stayed in a cabin with a porch and small kitchenette. Bathrooms close by and clean.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A beautiful part of the world, so much to do in the Abel Tasman area. A great location across from the beach, the compact camping ground is across the road from the waterfront. Over Christmas they don't like long stays because they like to churn through the campers to support their water taxi business. Facilities could do with some upgrading but all in all pleasant enough. They lost track of our booking, which caused a moment of panic since it was high season, but they luckily still managed to accommodate us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed in a cabin (with a small kitchenette & front porch), and the bathroom facilities were close by. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff members were friendly and helpful, but what we really liked about this place is that it is very well connected to a great restaurant (Hooked on Marahau), a water taxi service and a kayaking rental & tour service - so it was easy to plan everything we wanted to do through one resource.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We recently stayed in one of the cabins. The cabin was well fitted out with crockery and a sink and fridge. Being early February, the camp was relatively full but did not find it too noisy nor the facilities too busy. Whilst slightly more expensive than other similar accommodation at other locations, the extras i.e. fridge, kettle, sink and crockery was very convenient to have in the unit. Having to pay for the showers, whilst not a big deal, is a little inconvenient. Found a couple of people washing themselves at the basins. We ate at both restaurants close by, the Park Cafe which is at the Abel Tasman walk entrance, and Hooked on Marahau, which is closest to the Marahau Beach Camp. Both were very good.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The location of this small campground is good and convenient for water taxis and walking tracks into Abel Tasman National Park.
We camped for two nights between campervans and found it adequate although the kitchen has NO crockery or cooking utensils or any description. Luckily a kind person in the restaurant attached to the park lent us a pot and a couple of plates!
The store is ok for any basics you've forgotten but expensive.
The WORST thing apart from the non-equipped kitchen was the coin-operated shower! This just seemed greedy and left us wondering just what we were getting for the money we were paying for our two nights.
The restaurant seemed good and it's worth dropping in for the daily Happy Hour with $5 drinks.
The beach is at the end of the road and it's only a short walk to a small artists' colony and pizza restaurant with music up the road.
This park seems more geared to campervanners than campers but is a convenient base from which to explore the Abel tasman NP if you avoid holiday periods.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Would not stay again.

We were traveling in high season and were not surprised that the camp was crowded; this was to be expected. Even so, we stayed in other camps on our journey and none matched this one for noise levels.

We were assigned a tent site in a lawn in front of the on-site backpackers' lodge. The backpackers blasted music until near midnight; the other tenters were inconsiderate of their fellow campers and were laughing and drinking until late hours. There did not seem to be any statement/enforcement of rules regarding noise. In fairness, when I asked those around us to keep the noise down, given the increasingly late hour, they did cooperate. But I didn't feel that it should have been my job to ask my fellow campers to be more respectful.

We found the bathroom facilities to be quite dirty, even allowing for the high volume of users; certainly, they were dirtier than any of the other holiday parks/camps we visited during the high season.

The price of this camp was similar to other holiday camps that hold themselves (and their guests) to higher standards.

We elected to camp here because of its proximity to the Abel Tasman and appreciate that they found a spot for us in the high season. But, if we had to do it again, we'd drive a further distance to stay at a better-run holiday park or DoC campsite.

Do not recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The only really good thing I can say here is that it wasn't awful, but it was well below the standard we'd encountered in other holiday parks. Plus, the staff were sort of rude to another customer when we were checking in and that sort of made us uncomfortable right from the start. For the price, we'd definitely just stay in any other park in Abel Tasman next time around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marahau Beach Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marahau Beach Camp

Address: Waterfront, RD 2, Marahau, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Marahau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Marahau
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Marahau Beach Camp Nelson-Tasman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marahau Beach Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.