We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hooked on Marahau - the gem of the Abel Tasman” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hooked on Marahau

Hooked on Marahau
Crn Franklin Street and the Waterfront, Marahau 7197, New Zealand
+64 3-527 8576
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Marahau
Cuisines: Seafood, Café, Bistro, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Hooked on Marahau - the gem of the Abel Tasman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

As a Wellington businessman with a holiday home in the wonderful Abel Tasman district - I am frequently in the region and looking for food and wine; to either entertain clients or to just relax with my wife. “Hooked on Marahau” is without a doubt the standout restaurant in the area and Zoe and her team are the regions benchmark for service and hospitality. Zoe has now owned the restaurant for a number of years and has not changed the recipe of her success. That is, superb food, a great wine list and exceptional seasonal staff. Zoe’s ability to recruit charismatic staff, with a myriad of accents (from the far reaches of the earth) is a key attraction. The staff at “Hooked on Marahau” take as much pride in the food and dining experience as Zoe herself. Having been lucky enough to take persons, from all walks of life, to this wonderful little restaurant, I can say without hesitation that “Hooked on Marahau” is the culinary jewel in a region full of treasures.
Ken Lilley //Managing Director
Mitsubishi Electric

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan A, Owner at Hooked on Marahau, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks so much for kind words the encouragement Ken!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    27
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great meal and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We originally went for the "Happy Hour" when a glass of wine and tankard of beer was $5 each (runs from 4 - 6 pm) but were enjoying the atmosphere so much decided to stay for a meal. We ordered a fish and chips meal and a steak meal which were both very tasty and reasonable priced. All mains seemed to be under $30. Our friends both had seafood chowder and gave me a sample which was full of seafood and was a meal in itself although it came with bread. A week later a large party of us with small children returned for the Happy Hour and had Happy Hour food which was Nachos, buffalo chips and chips. There is a basket of toys for the children to play with while they waited for their "nibbles". The staff were very pleasant to us and the children. I must mention the location - if you sit on the verandah you are just a narrow road away from the sea. There is an option of sitting inside or outside. The restaurant is also open for lunch and has light options like paninis and muffins and the usual "cabinet" food as well as a menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan A, Owner at Hooked on Marahau, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thanks so much for the excellent rating and really encouraging words! A relaxed and family-freindly atmosphere is exactly what we are trying to provide so I'm really pleased to hear you had a nice time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Hooked on Hooked on Marahau”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

A lovely spot for a meal. Amazing outlook through the front window, very efficent and freindly staff who had personalities and were not starchy. the extent of the menu was a bit limited but the meals arrived beautifully presented and without a long delay but not too promptly. Overall a lovely evening in a great venue, brillant staff and only thing to improve is the slightly limited choice on the menu

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan A, Owner at Hooked on Marahau, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Firstly, thanks so much for the encouraging words about our service and location, and the good rating!

To your point about the limited choices on the menu: This year we decided to limit the amount of menu items so we could have a couple of specials each day. That gives us the flexibility to serve dishes made from the produce we can only get hold of for a limited time. This is particularly true for seafood, which depends largely on what has been caught at that specific time and produce that is only in season for a couple of weeks each year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We decided to try Hooked on Marahau for dinner, despite having read some of the more negative reviews. We were seated immediately and the views from the deck were quite nice. Our server was wonderful, with a professional and witty personality. Our meals were tasty, the ingredients fresh, and the portions good. Our desert was not as expected, but good none the less (different consistency of cheese cake then we were used to). The prices were a bit more than expected, but the options are limited in the area so they didn't seem outrageous. Overall, a very positive experience and I would recommend trying it if you are in the Abel Tasman area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan A, Owner at Hooked on Marahau, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for the positive ratings and comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a great surprise in a remote location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

What a treat to find Hooked On Marahau way off in Mapua! We were staying in Kaiteriteri and needed to head out to Mapua to book our water taxi into Abel Tasman for the following day. How happy we were to find Hooked On Marahau. We grabbed dinner and were really, really happy. My boyfriend had an excellently prepared monkfish and I (vegetarian and wheat free) was THRILLED to find a fresh seasonal vegetable risotto (that wasn't "mushroom risotto" -- augh, why is it that EVERY other restaurant out there resorts to boring old mushroom risotto!?) on the menu. We liked our meals so much, we stopped by again after our Abel Tasman Coast Hike the next day for a late lunch. It's the only game in town in the area, and as such they could get away with serving mediocre grub. Thankfully it's not just great -- but food worth driving for!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan A, Owner at Hooked on Marahau, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for the awesome review! Just a small correction: we are actually in Marahau rather than Mapua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooked on Marahau also viewed

Marahau, Nelson-Tasman Region
Marahau, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Kaiteriteri, Nelson-Tasman Region
Kaiteriteri, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Hooked on Marahau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hooked on Marahau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.