We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, Easy spot for a drink and dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Ranchero

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Casa Ranchero
25606 Crown Valley K-2, Ladera Ranch, Ladera Ranch, CA 92694
949-276-7800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 27 Restaurants in Ladera Ranch
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Antonio
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun, Easy spot for a drink and dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Easy spot to reach with plenty of parking, which can be a problem in the area. Great food and FABULOUS margarita's. Wonderful patio with just enough life and laughter!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ladera Ranch, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have been here 3 times, first two times was under the old ownership and now we thought we would try since it reopened and it is worse!! The food is horrible. Everyone now is made with chicken vs. meat. We ordered "street tacos" w/ Carnitas and what we got was mushed up chicken. We told the waiter, showed him the taco and he said oh his mistake. Really??? how is that so when on the menu street tacos are made with Carnitas??? The service was terrible and we sat inside because the night was cold, however, they kept leaving the door open and there was a duet playing that was way TOO LOUD for a very small place. Again, we won't be going back there again!!! Ladera has closed down a lot of good restaurants so I am not sure why this place doesn't close.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bad Service keeps this place from being great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I live near Casa Ranchero and was so excited when it opened. I went and loved so much about it. The atmosphere, the food, the location... But then we ended up sitting there for 45 minutes before being greeted. After we were greeted we waited just as long to give our order and it was impossible to get a drink or anything else. I figured since it was new, hold off and wait and keep giving it chances, here we are over 2 years and 15+ "chances" later and I give. Service is just horrible at this place. I think perhaps the servers are stretched thin or maybe it's the training, but the service is so bad I stopped going unless a friend insists I meet them there. Sad, because there is so much potential!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The other reviews make no sense. This is a superbly run restaurant - great location, delicious food, attentive service and overall great value. The terrace is a real sun trap so a perfect spot for a long lunch or early evening cocktail!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Really Bad and it's a Shame!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Today going to Casa was a choice due to great weather and wanted to enjoy the patio area they have. Took at least 30 mins for a server to come by then again another 10 finally the water chips n salsa came and again asked for menus finally we got them and put our order in! 48 mins latter the food comes waited 10 minutes for our tortillas than my chicken salad had pieces of fish in it! Just Gross! Never going back just Awful it's really a Shame !

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Ranchero also viewed

Ladera Ranch, Orange County
Ladera Ranch, Orange County
 
Ladera Ranch, Orange County
Ladera Ranch, Orange County
 

Been to Casa Ranchero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Ranchero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.