We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay for Tongariro crossing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Motel

Rainbow Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rainbow Motel to your Saves list
Rainbow Motel
State Highway 41 | RD1, Tokaanu, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tokaanu
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay for Tongariro crossing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We found this motel very apt for tongariro crossing. After the big walk, what else you can ask for, if you got a free and private natural mineral spa..!!!. The motel is in a very peaceful, countryside location. Around 20 min. drive to the crossing. Has got a handy cafe/shop next door. Hassle free car parking. Generous room size. Kitchen is well equipped. Rooms are clean. Old fashioned-but all very clean and nice. Nice and friendly hosts. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

On recommendation from family, we stayed at the Rainbow Motel en route from Auckland to Wellington. We stayed in the one bedroom unit. The decor is cute and retro and the rooms are spacious and immaculately clean. The bed was super comfortable - had a great sleep! Hosts Ann and Bob are incredibly friendly and very helpful. Our highlight was the private thermal pools (water from natural hot springs) where you can have a soak after a long drive and look out at the stars. One thing though, the walls are very thin and can get a bit of noise from the next rooms so bring ear plugs. Otherwise we loved the stay and would definitely come again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Stayed here overnight, arrived on a cold wet night and were shown to our unit by lovely friendly host. Our unit was retro in style, and with everything you needed. Spacious and warm, with nice comfortable bed. Even though the bathroom was old fashioned in style, it was very clean and the shower was good. Heated thermal pools are great, especially after a long drive. Not flash, but homely and comfortable. Very reasonable room rate. Lovely hosts.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Due to a last minute change of travel plans we stayed at this lovely little country motel. One of our group had stayed previously and recommended it. The owners are very friendly and helpful.
The self contained rooms are large and comfy with a large fridge and everything you need to cook. There were two bedrooms and there was an extra bed in the lounge room, so can sleep 5 comfortably. There was heating in the bedrooms and lounge room. It was clean, and though quite old, its 1950s/60s decor gave it an interesting back country NZ atmosphere.
The highlight of the place though is the four private covered thermal pools which are included free. They can be used any time, so some of our group had a late evening bathe.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangere Bridge
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We needed a convenient overnight stay and the thermal pools were a delightful bonus.
The accommodation was plain but spotless and spacious with big comfortable bed
We breakfasted at Tokaanu as meals are not included, hence v reasonable tariff.
Pleasant owners husband and wife.

Room Tip: All rooms seem the same high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Though a bit dated, well maintained and newly painted and clean. Free guest pools are good.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainbow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Motel

Address: State Highway 41 | RD1, Tokaanu, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Tokaanu
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tokaanu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rainbow Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.