We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday would defiantly recommend to others!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Cap Estates, Cap Estate, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cap Estate
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday would defiantly recommend to others!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at smugglers cove end of July till 1st August, beautiful place! The grounds are very spread out the scenery is breathtaking. Went with 13 year old and 7 year old children who both also loved it, the kids pool was great and the playground round the back of the kids club was great and kids were playing on it at all hours with security guards checking to see if their alright at night. The staff were so polite and welcoming that's what made our holiday the way the treated you just made you 10 times happier! The food was delicious and a lot of choices will defiantly go again and would recommend to others!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    820
    386
    157
    107
See reviews for
673
896
25
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Lucia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Smugglers Cove is an all inclusive hotel and worth every penny..Everything about the food is AMAZING...The property is clean and well kept and the staff are all friendly and professional. I HONESTLY can't find anything negative to really point out except maybe the (beach vendors are annoying)..My significant other and I stayed there for 4 days 3 nights and it was a wonderful experience...we even tried to book the hotel again about two weeks after we left but it was entirely booked for the month. WOW!!
I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO EVERYONE WHO WANTS AN ALL INCLUSIVE EXPERIENCE ON A TIGHT BUDGET IT IS SOO WORTH IT!!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you are lazy then ask for a room close to everything..Just remember walking is good for your heal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I am already longing to go back to St. Lucia but I would not go back to Smugglers Cove. Poorly managed and clearly needs updating.
The staff clearly try hard and that's the part of the stay that was the most memorable. The front desk staff, in particular Neal, tried their best to remedy all the glitches (there were quite a few).
My 75 year old mother was the focus of this vacation and she was treated so well by the staff. Jimmy made sure she got back and forth from our room to the main lounge and restaurants. The grounds are beautiful so it's great to walk.
The speciality restaurants were not worth the hassle of the reservation. The food at the buffet style Cove restaurant was the best and offered a good variety including local styled cuisine. Bradley, one of the workers at the Cove made my Mom's day special each time we ate there.
The beach was not that appealing. There was much better beach time in Rodney Bay.
Bottom line: visit St.Lucia but do not stay at Smugglers Cove (unless something changes).
The grounds and the staff are the only reason I could score this place a 3.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My problem with this place was the lack of food at certain times... large gaps between lunch and dinner though there is a tea time.... the bars do not open until 10am and close at 2am.... the food started off a little rough on sunday but as the week went on it got much better.... towels were not readily available for the beach/pool... the rooms are like little villas and could use an upgrade.... the patio area was a big disappointment as there were $3 walmart white chairs on it.... the dress code is strictly enforced which was fine but it rained very heavy and we got wet wanted to go to lunch and the manager there tried to give us a hard time ....said we had to be dry.... we wiped down as much as possible but there was a tropical depression over us.... guess i should have packed an umbrella.... they do an orientation a few times a week in the morning but instead of forcing you to attend it would be nice to just be given a pamphlet with info of the resort on it like times for meals and where.....overall the staff was very nice drinks were ok..... not much of a selection but thats all inclusive everywhere... the evenings were very boring we spent 5 nights and only enjoyed the entertainment of one night..... the beach is also about 1/4 mile long .... free wifi at the piton lounge

Room Tip: anything higher than 457 is going to be quite the walk to the pool and restaurants....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We have just returned from a week at Smugglers Cove and have to say that it has been one of the best family holidays that we have experienced.

We travelled to the resort with our 2 sons, - aged 6 and 13 and felt that the resort offered activities to suit both ages. The accommodation was ideal as we were all able to sleep in the same apartment - in a lot of resorts, the older child would be classed as an adult.

The food in the restaurants was also of a good standard - the buffet had plenty of variety as there were themed nights (desserts were not brilliant, but we were full by the time of getting to that course!). We also ate at the Waterside Grill and both times the meal was excellent along with the service. We also ate in the Italian and that was also of a good standard - during lunchtime, my eldest son was ordering pizza and the staff would wrap these so that they could be taken to the beach! We did not experience any problem booking the restaurants - there is a dedicated reservations desk located in the Piton Lounge and this is staffed throughout the day to manage bookings.

We stayed in a Garden Deluxe room - the room was fine, beds clean and comfortable - air conditioning was excellent and much needed! Our room was located approx. 5 mins walk from all of the main facilities, so involved a little exercise (which was also much needed!!!!).
We did not experience any bugs etc in our room - in the gardens, there are toads, lizards etc but this should be expected when travelling to a tropical destination.

The resort has a number of swimming pools, including one with a large water slide - all of the pools were clean and well maintained. Our only disappointment was that the pools all close at 6.00pm so that staff are able to clean them - it would have been nice to swim a little later into the evening.

All of the staff that we had contact with were very happy, lively, bubbly etc and aimed to help and please.

The resort is located approx. 90 mins from the airport - we had been warned that the journey was quite poor and we were advised to take travel sickness medication however, even after a long flight, we did not find the transfer too bad - it gave us an opportunity to see some of the island.

The only negative aspect that we found was that the room did not have a fridge. Some rooms did have a fridge but these were not stocked with refreshments, so if you did want a drink in your room, this involved taking a drink back from one of the bars. Due to the 5 min walk involved - by the time we got to our room, we had either spilt half of it or drunk it, and needed to go back for another one!!!

We have stayed in many different locations around the world due to travel industry connections and would recommend this resort to anyone with children as there is plenty to keep kids occupied, provided that they enjoy the water and having fun!!!

Room Tip: Garden deluxe rooms - clean and modern!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We just got back and stayed 3 nights at Smugglers Cove in July 2014. Our family had a great time. We found the food to be really good, and the beach and pools were even better. The rooms could use an upgrade, but everybody was so tired after a long day in the sun...the only thing that really mattered was the Air Conditioning. At first, I missed not having wifi, but actually considered that a plus by the time I checked out. Great spot to connect with the family, and the staff was very friendly. I also took a walk over to the fitness center and that was an impressive facility.

Room Tip: Avoid the water slide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Had a great time at the smugglers cove. Just returned from 2 weeks of Caribbean chilling, booked the hotel and flights independently and saved, significantly compared to a package deal.
Pros
our room was very clean
Restaurants and food very good
Water sports very good and free
Pool bar great to chill out in the afternoon
Dre, buggie man and staff very helpful and friendly to us
Sun loungers plentiful and available all the time

Cons
75 minute journey from airport
Rooms and some areas could do with upgrading
Take your bug spray lots of Mosquitos
General manager around but lacked personality compared to his staff

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa

Address: Cap Estates, Cap Estate, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Cap Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cap Estate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Hotel Cap Estate
Smugglers Cove Resort And Spa
Almond Smugglers Cove Castries
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa St. Lucia/Cap Estate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.