We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely honeymoon at Smugglers cove” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Cap Estates, Cap Estate, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cap Estate
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely honeymoon at Smugglers cove”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Me & my husband came here on our honeymoon on 12th may. We had a nice and relaxing stay here. Great first impressions of the well kept grounds. We stayed in a deluxe garden view suite, they decorated our bed with petals and put champagne on ice next to our bed, was such a nice surprise and they made reservations for us at the italian restaurant for the following night. The room was much bigger than we thought it would be, Nice big bed, big bath seperate to shower, we did have some ants in our toilet most of our stay, I did mention it to reception and the cleaning staff put some repellent down which kept them away for about 2 days.

The restaurants at this resort are amazing the food was really delicious, the cove which is the buffet bar was only ok though, and the service can be a little rude but most of the time the staff were friendly.

The beach is quite nice but there is a much nicer beach 5 mins to the left entrance behind the italian restaurant.

The entertainement was okay, some nights it was a band, other nights they would have singers or dancers. fire breathers.

The activities we didnt bother with much we did do the sunset stroll which was a 20 minute walk in a circle. We did book in to do archery as well, but when we got to the meeting place the staff had already gone to the archery field, and when we got there they said we did not have the right footwear and had to book in another time, but they did not tell us this at the time of booking which was a little annoying.
Overall though a very nice resort and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: deluxe garden rooms are furthur back and quieter, the cheaper rooms are right next to the main area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    937
    435
    167
    118
See reviews for
753
1,017
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (822)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is not a five-star resort and doesn't claim to be. For what it is iwhich is a 3/4 star all-inclusive family resort it offers outstanding value for money.

My wife and I visited as part of a 'large group' family holiday in the organisation of which we had played no part. We were concerned me of by some of the trip advisor reviews and also by the fact that outside of UK we invariably book five-star.

In the event we couldn't have been more pleased. The facilities were excellent and the food especially in the speciality restaurants (at no extra cost) very good.

We had chosen to upgrade at minimal cost to a garden villa which gave us a separate sitting room which proved very useful for those times when we wished to relax and read but not be in the sun. Its location was perfect.

Just occasionally the service was perhaps just a little bit 'Caribbean' but that is not at all unreasonable given that we were on a Caribbean island. But in general all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

In particular I would like to thank Kelly in reception and Keyna in the Cove Restaurant both of whom repeatedly went out of their way to help us.

So all in all an excellent experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading . uk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The one thing i loved about that is hotel is it felt Caribbean !!!. Yes the rooms are fairly basic , but clean. 4 out of 3 of the restaurants are "open style" and yes so you get the wild birds and the lovely hotel cats wondering in at times. The food is excellent and the local caribbean dishes are the best ever. Yes the beach is a mix of volcanic sand and believe it or not, there just happens to be insects which may or may not occasionally get in your room . This is what the Carribean is about. Some peoples expectations are way too high . If you want sterile, enclosed restaurants , bird and animal and insect free with the latest modern decore , imported white sand , fake staff , immaculate 5 stars rooms, then perhaps this isn't the hotel for you.

If you want charm by the abundance, excellent food choices from 4 superb restaurants , the most beautiful gardens ever, an unspoilt natural cove beach , St Lucian local hospitality , wonderful staff ,completely free watersports with lessons, 7 choices of pools, every imaginable cocktail going, excellent child facilities then you will love the hotel as we did!

The only reason i`m not giving it 5 stars was the entertainment is a bit weak, although Dre tried to make up for it - they really should employ him to sing as he has a great voice. In the end we made out own entertainment and made some wonderful new friends. A holiday is what you make it after all !!
Big shout out to all the Water sport hut staff, the lovely restaurant staff ( too many to mention ) and Delbert our singing bar man,

Can personally recommend Sunlink Catermaran tour and
Friday night Jump Up at Gros Islet ( but leave before 12am )

Would also recommend booking out of peak season as it's quiet and the weather was still fantastic !

* Tip -Julius ( The beach seller on the beach) -Yes he's a bit of a pain, but harmless and if you do buy off him he`ll leave you in peace the rest of your holiday which was well worth the cost of the neckless in the end although you must haggle him right down :-)

Room Tip: Garden Deluxe rooms have fridges and a coffee maker .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I had been to the Cove about six years ago and the hotel has come down in quality since then. It could use some cosmetic fixes. Fences missing boards, chipped tiles etc. The food was good but i would stay away from the seafood al la carte restaurant. It wasn't bad but if it's going to be a waterside grill and you are going to advertise it as seafood then it should have more seafood. Portions were small and unimaginative. The nightly buffet was good. There are enough choices for breakfast and lunch too.
The physical fitness centre was really good with higher end weight machines, free weights, treadmills, and rowing machines. The only drawback is that it is unstaffed, lacked towels and there was no pen to register. I wanted to register (although there was a clipboard) to show that I had used it so they don't close it.
The drinks were very good and they were very creative in what they could mix. No mint/grapefruit juice so Mojitos and Sea Breezes are out.
Staff are very friendly and the water sports were very good.
The only draw back is the price of cabs to Castries 60.00US round-trip and Rodney Bay 30.00USD round-trip way over priced considering it only cost me 75.00USD for three people to drive 90 minutes from Viuex Fort to Cap Estates. The trip to Rodney bay 15 minutes,Castries about 25, Didn't like how they priced everything in USD.I had ECD and wanted to pay in that but it's easier for them to take the USD.
The day trip on the Carnival catamaran was worth the USD130,00 that I paid.
There is a lot of walking up hill if you do not pay for the top dollar rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St lucia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Beautiful hotel I must say I will come back with family friends hotel staff great it felt like home.the pools are fantastic.the food is tasteful.my god the spa I need to go there again soon.the might not be all what I thought but it's ok.there was greeeeeeeeeeeeeeerttttttt.my kids in a hurry to be back.my on my I did the slide.was fun

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Booked smugglers despite being apprehensive following the mixed reviews that we had read on trip adviser. However any worries we had were unfounded.
We arrived in st lucia and we're quickly met and greeted at the airport by a Virgin rep, the ride from the airport to smugglers can take up to an hour and it is at times on twisty steep roads - and a couple of times the roads had been washed away! - but we felt perfectly safe and relaxed and took in the beautiful views of the island.
When we arrived at smugglers our luggage was sorted out and moved for us at the insistence of the staff, we had an introductory talk about the resort, where to eat etc and we're provided with a (strong) rum cocktail.
The grounds of the hotel itself are beautiful and we were lucky enough to be close to the main bit of the hotel. The paths in some areas are a bit cracked and wonky but whilst we were there we witnessed repair works going on.
The rooms are basic and could do with a lick of paint, but they are kept lovely and clean and have everything you need. The bed was a queen and really comfy, there were plenty of pillows and the TV had so many channels for when we watched a bit when getting ready at night; the shower temperature can be temperamental, but again it's a little thing that hardly spoils a holiday. Admittedly though we did a couple of times have ants in our room but the cleaners put down some insect repellent down and they would be gone - and let's face it where doesn't have ants?! Within the rooms you are also provided with a safe for keeping valuable belongs in it is an old style safe instead of the more modern electronic ones but it works.
On arrival we were told that we had already been booked into the cove which is the main place for food. But there are also three other restaurants, these aren't buffet style and you have to book to eat at these places, and they have a dress code I.e men wear trousers not shorts etc.
The cove is a buffet style, but the food is so lovely. Breakfast is much the same (cereal, fresh fruit, pancakes, porridge, bacon, sausage etc and a egg station where one of the ladies cooks eggs whichever way you like I practically had omelette everyday!), dinner in the cove is different everyday there tends to be a lot of chicken and fish but they also do pasta dishes, rice dishes, salad and a large selection of desserts! Tea in the cove varies nightly as they have a different theme one night it's Mexican, the other French and the other seafood. We tried all of them, admittedly we weren't keen on french night but if you like French food then I'm sure you would find it delicious.
Waterside creole grill is a seafood/ creole restaurant, it overlooks the sea and the beach, and at night you can see fish swimming around. It's the most romantic of all the restaurants especially at sunset. And a local fish called mahi-mahi is a must try if it's on the menu.
Le Trattoria is an Italian again food is lovely and unlike the waterside grill and cafe Asia it is also open for dinner or you can order pizza and eat it whilst you are relaxing on the beach!
The last restaurant is cafe Asia which serves Asian food it's a bit further away from the main centre of the hotel but again it is lovely and we were greedy and asked for 2 starters because we couldn't decide!
Recommend trying all of the restaurants plus it's a nice change to be served from time to time instead of the buffet style.
There are several pools and they can get dirty due to leaves and flower petals from the plants and trees which surround the pool but they are all cleaned several times a day. The pool with the slide and the pool at the gym are quieter then the other ones. Our favourite pool was one of the main ones which has a swim up bar! The beach is also beautiful and the sea is so clear, we snorkelled most days as there are so many types of fish to see, we also saw a couple of eels and squid! All of the waterspouts are included and the equipment is free to hire, you have it for an hour but can get charged if you run over this hour. My only regret is not doing some of the other waterspouts more i.e waterskiing!
The staff themselves are all friendly and try to help you with any queries that you have especially the bar staff who will make up any cocktails you ask - providing they have the ingredients! A new favourite of mine is the BBC - banana, baileys and coconut cream served over crushed ice. All the alcoholic drinks are strong but are served with quite a bit of ice so if you don't drink them fast enough can get watered down!
There is so much to do as well, there are several activities going on throughout the day from archery, and guided walks, to beach dodgeball and beach volleyball which we played everyday we were there! The entertainment staff are brilliant and are so friendly - Chacho, Nikita - but it is Junior and Dre who made the holiday for us we had a real laugh with them and they made us feel so welcome. They really did make the holiday for us! Also I have to mention our virgin rep Natasha, she does all she can to help you giving advise about various things and explaining in detail everything about the hotel. Tips about sun cream, bug cream, food, drinking water etc and she makes it easy to book trips - we did the catamaran and the street party I recommend doing both!
At night time the entertainment can be a bit hit and miss and on a few nights aimed more towards older couples but overall it's pretty good especially as you can have as many drinks as you want (which we really did take advantage of!), the best nights were the fire and limbo night and the steel pan band night. After 11 the main bar closes and the rum club bar (right next to the main bar) opens and it stays open until about 3am, during the night it also has espn on. Only downside is that it can take a while to get served as the staff can be cleaning up the main bar at the same time!
As mentioned before we went onto the catamaran trip which was brilliant had so much fun on the catamaran, and we went on a quick trip to see the still active volcano and then had a chance to have a dip in the waterfall. Food was provided and was much like what you get at the cove restaurant - chicken, rice fish etc. and all drinks are included in the price to plus the snorkelling is even better then at smugglers there are even more fish and the water is even clearer! We also did the party like a st lucian tour as we weren't confident enough to go out on our own, after reading and hearing about how dodgy it is. But we had so much fun and wished that we went to it both Saturdays that we were there!
Overall I urge people to go as this hotel doesn't deserve all of the bed reviews that people have give it, the people who have complained are people who wanted a sandals adult only style resort without paying the price, which this place isn't. There are families with kids there, there are groups of people who stay up late drinking (us included) and the music can be loud at times: if you don't mind any of these things then you will love this resort! There were all types of people there from families with young babies, to young groups of people to middle aged couples and older couples. There really is something for everyone and all the people who we talked to agreed that they could find no fault with the food, the staff nor the rooms and that they would go again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The pools and kids facilities are good but beyond that nothing impressive impressive about this resort.

Greasy stodgy food, dirty rooms, staff that didn't want to be there, hotel management that were invisible.

Had to change room after finding a suspect bug in luggage that I showed to staff. No apology, no discussion other that a new room two doors down. If it really was a bedbug, two doors away was not a solution to problem.

This place should not be sold as a four star resort. Two star at best overall.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa

Address: Cap Estates, Cap Estate, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Cap Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cap Estate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Hotel Cap Estate
Smugglers Cove Resort And Spa
Almond Smugglers Cove Castries
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa St. Lucia/Cap Estate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.