We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great honeymoon with 14 month old.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Cap Estates, Cap Estate, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cap Estate
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great honeymoon with 14 month old.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

we were not happy with the state of 90% of the high chairs, or the unsteady cot. But the location was fabulous. The room we originally had was right by the late night entertainment which was ideal for us, although it did have a lovely pool and sea view. We did manage to get moved on the first night to a one bed suite which was perfect for us. The service at the restaurants was a little slow, and there often seemed a queue at the main 'pitons' bar for a drink, although I used the other beach and swim up bars mainly which were much quieter. We chose this hotel partly for the child care on offer, which we can not fault, the staff were brilliant. And our one year old was well looked after on the occasions we dropped him off for an hour or two. Usually before a late afternoon family swim in the children's pool(with its own bar) drinks were served from all bars in small plastic cups, which was not ideal , and there were quite a few experienced guests who had took their own larger insulated cup in which to pour two cups into, meaning less trips to the bar. Food was reasonable, we dined at the Italian virtually ever lunch, and a few times in the evening, and preferred breakfast at the waterside restaurant as it was much nicer views and quieter.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    937
    435
    167
    118
See reviews for
753
1,017
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (822)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Bit of a late review but better late than never!
Food- really enjoyed all restaurants.

Pools-plenty of choice and enough sunbeds when we were there.

Rooms- need updating but ours was very clean, although without the brochure view!

Water sports- brilliant

Kids club area- brilliant

Piton bar- uncomfortable

Waiting staff- very good

Bar staff- mixed but could be quicker if there were more blenders, something easily sorted!

We had a great holiday overall, the structure is there for a beautiful relaxing holiday.
I think if the piton bar and rooms were refurbished it would be a great resort.
The main thing that is missing is a relaxing bar, away from The evening entertainment with comfortable sofas and chairs for those that don't want entertainment but to sit and relax after dinner over a quiet drink.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We spent a totally relaxing ten days of sunshine at Smugglers Cove and were in awe of how hard the staff worked and went the extra mile, with a smile, to make our stay perfect!

Everything was easy to access, the gardens were beautiful and with 7 pools next to the beach we were just spoilt for choice of places to soak up the sun!

We loved the restaurants, the food and the incredible choice of cuisine. We met some fantastic people and were especially impressed with the staff in the water sports team - incredibly patient and so encouraging to complete novices in water skiing and sailing!

So, a big thank you to all the lovely staff in the restaurants, the bars, the rooms, the entertainment team and an extra thank you to Augustine for not giving up on me and being a great teacher!

Room Tip: All the rooms are set in beautiful gardens. We were lucky enough to have one in the middle of the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed here March 2014. I think Smugglers cove is a great choice for anybody who wants a nice friendly resort, with great food and service, and lots of free activities. It has a nice mix of guests - old and young, families and couples, of many nationalities. The staff are very friendly and genuine - it is a cheerful place, not pretentious.
We liked all the restaurants but the choice and quality in the main buffet was amazing. We also enjoyed the self-service icecream machine and the self-service tea and coffee nearby to the main bar.
We particularly appreciated that all the watersports are free, as well as access to waterskiing eqipment. We tried hobbie cataramans, and received a lesson before taking it out ourselves. My husband did watersking and we took out a kayak. We also did snorkelling using their equipment. St Lucia has good reefs - you can see a small reef by snorkelling from the hotel beach, but if you want to go scuba diving you will need to contact an operator in the nearby town on Rodney Bay, who will collect you (we used Scuba Steve). If you want to spend all day reading quietly on the beach, that is also possible. There are larger beaches, but we were always able to find a lounger on the beach, it didn't feel too crowded or noisy,
The resort has regular yoga and pilates lesson, amongst other things - we tried both and enjoyed them - there is a very good teacher - we just wished the lessons were longer than half an hour. The gym has new and varied equipment but the gym itself could use a tidy and revamp.
The large grounds are extremely well maintained with many flowers. We could see that the pools and public areas were being regularly cleaned. I had a nice foot massage in the spa: if you stay within the resort, spa treatments are the only thing you would pay for.
The hotel is located is in the far northeast of the island, and the only thing near the hotel is a couple of other hotels a golf course, and large fancy villas (interesting to oogle at). It is possible to walk to Pigeon Island from this resort, but in the heat it would be a bit much to make it all the way into Rodney bay. Therefore to wander around town you will need to take a taxi into Rodney bay. I heard that cost US$15 although we did not do so. The drive from the airport to the hotel takes about 1.5 hours, but we found it quite interesting so didn't mind.
I struggle to understand the very negative reviews left on here: I agree that that in a few places parts of the property are a wee bit dated but everything we used /stayed in worked well and was well maintained. The maintenance crew were quick to come out to our room when we had a problem (of our own making!). Over the years we have stayed in a variety of hotels and resorts of varying styles and with varying degrees of 'fanciness', but this was one of the best holidays that we have had. Those looking for quiet exclusivity and perfect serenity should probably go somewhere else, but otherwise there is something for everyone at Smugglers.

Room Tip: Rooms are spread out across the property - when making a reservation you may want to request that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Charles, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We spent just 2 days at this resort in March. Check in was quite nice as they had wet hand towels and punch at the ready while we checked in sitting in lounge chairs. The grounds are nicely manicured with mature flowers etc. The property is set up with bungalows throughout a large property. Don't be fooled by the pictures though, you will not have a view of the water. We walked into the room and were immediately disappointed. It was just too run down for our tastes (and we don't expect much). The front room had a pool out sofa (which our kids used) and the main room had a comfortable king bed. On the plus side, there was a really large counter outside of the shower area in which to put our toiletries etc. Our air conditioner did not work all that well the 2nd night. We would have complained has we stayed longer. Strongly advise to make your dinner reservations at the restaurants as soon as you arrive. The first night you are required to eat at the buffet and then you can eat at restaurants. I tried making reservations the next morning and everything was already booked. As far as the buffet restaurant, some things were really good and others very average. They need to do better on their desserts. Nothing special at all and same thing at every meal. Pools were nice but they ran out of beach towels so one day we did not even have one to use (get them early). Some of the employees were really pleasant but all the bar employees acted like they would rather be somewhere else. For me, how the employees attitude makes a difference to me. The man who does the walks and the volleyball (Junior?) had endless energy and, while I did not play volleyball, I watched them playing and he had everyone laughing and having a good time. Good watersports selection. After we left Smugglers Cove, we went to another resort that was not all inclusive and we found that eating out is very expensive so Smugglers Cove might be a good option for some. Big recommendation: find out how to walk to resort next door (Cap Maison) and go to the bar for a drink. It is absolutely gorgeous! Sits on a cliff and nicely furnished. You can also walk down to their beach (all beaches are public) which the trail is just past their entrance and do some nice snorkeling. All in all, our kids (ages 13 and 16) loved Smugglers but they are not as discerning as their parents.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We wondered whether some people have been to the same place as us reading the reviews,
our holiday was just fantastic yes the resort may look a bit tired but we couldn't find fault with anything. All of the staff were lovely, polite and friendly, the maids kept our room spotlessly clean and all round nothing was too much trouble. the ground staff unsung heroes keeping the resort looking beautiful. The pool boys were constantly busy keeping them free from the blowing leaves.
All of the restaurants were excellent the Trattoria was our favourite put on far too much weight due to the lovely varieties of food on offer.
We did the helicopter transfer on arrival and road transfer at the end of our stay, as we were well aware of how far away the resort was from the airport this didn't detract anything from our stay people should take the time to look into these things before travelling.
We look forward to going back again in the near future. Many thanks to management and staff for making our holiday so enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband and I had a lovely relaxing time. We did read reviews but took them with a pinch of salt! We are well travelled and this resort is not as bad as people make out! Perhaps these people should of gone to Sandals!

We were happy to have been upgraded to a bigger and better room. Thank you! We loved the food and put weight on due to our over eating with the delicious delights offered!

The water sports that were offered were great and a nice touch to have water skiing, wake boarding, banana boats, wind surfing, kayaks & hobie cats. The water sport's team are dedicated and very patient. Special thanks to Orlando & Augustine who didn't give up on my husband and taught him to water ski! Thank you! We loved the beach and spent every day on it. The pools looked great and plenty of them.

The bar can be a bit slow to be served but we were so chilled out, it didn't really bother us. The evening entertainment was ok, it was a band that played a few times over the week and a lady singer.

More beach towels required! A few times we had to keeps ours and they closed 5pm.

The transfer is long 1hr 30mins and it's a windy road up north! Next time we will get the helicopter! The resort is in the middle of no where, so think again if you're wanting nightlife or shops nearby.

We would definitely return to this hotel , we had a great time. If you're in doubt, book Sandals or another 5star hotel!

Room Tip: Ocean view or deluxe if the budget permits
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa

Address: Cap Estates, Cap Estate, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Cap Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cap Estate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Hotel Cap Estate
Smugglers Cove Resort And Spa
Almond Smugglers Cove Castries
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa St. Lucia/Cap Estate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.