We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but a bit hot and miss” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Cap Estates, Cap Estate, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cap Estate
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice but a bit hot and miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

My sister and I stayed here March 2014. We had a lovely time the resort it is quite beautiful and well maintained. There are great views from the many pool areas. There was a good choice and quality of food in the four restaurants (as long as you have no allergies or restrictions), the only meals I didn’t enjoy were at the Italian restaurant as both my meals there I found the food over salted (although the tiramisu was nice).

The only place the resort is let down is by the quality of the rooms, ours was a standard and afraid the wear and tear showed up, the small bathroom had broken tiles, a really stained bath and sink and unimpressive shower. The bedroom showed it’s age. The resort is rated 3½ star but the room is only 2 (3 at a pinch), an update of the room is desperately needed. I’ve no idea what the non-standard rooms are like, if they’re better it might be worth paying for the better rooms, the standard was a real let down.

The service was friendly but a bit slow in the restaurants and bars. Housing keeping were quick to respond to problems, sadly we had to call them almost on a daily bases to get towels for our room.

It’s was lovely having a choice of so many pools. The resort did have problem with the stock of clean beach towels.

WIFI free but only available in the public areas not in your room.

Top marks for the fish, absolutely tasty.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    770
    375
    154
    106
See reviews for
644
849
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

After reading mixed reviews, I arrived at Smugglers Cove with an open mind. I was wrong. On our last night here & I can't wait to leave!!!

This place is literally falling apart. Reno'd pool areas & granite countertops - that's it. It smells like sewage at the Pitons Bar - enough to make your stomach turn. Only a couple of blocks of rooms are reno'd, the rest are a min of 30 yrs of age. AC leaks, toilets flush after 3 tries & there is NO bottled water in any of your rooms. The water pressure is also poor in the shower. You will find a crusty looking mini-fridge with NOTHING in it.

Site seeing, Weather & beach: Beautiful. Paradise. St. Lucia is a gem.

Staff: either really friendly or so frustrating to deal with. Staff need to be sent to training on client service. They are not equal in friendliness nor all a true representation of the facility they work for.

Our room: NOT as advertised by Transit Holidays. What you see is not what you get. They have falsely advertised even their standard rooms. We also inquired with the manager on site, several times about the quality of rooms advertised v. the unappealing, & still haven't received a response. Our door unlocked in the middle of the night & unknowingly we were sleeping with our door wide open!!! I also paid extra to get this room. It's been insulting.

Food: it's all right. The buffet has no presentation factor but you will eat just fine. The restaurants are all right. You will eat too, but you will not get a smile & if you request something out of their lazy boundaries, certain staff servers will cut you curve eye - children too!

The resort has cockroaches in the main lobby. They also have dozens of cats on board to keep mice & rats away. The cats also use the beach as their washroom & kitty litter box - especially the volleyball court.

The beach vendors are sharks just like any, so buyer beware.

Overall, you get what you pay for. I paid quite a bit for all my inconveniences, apparently I didn't pay enough.

Smugglers Cove has in the interim exchanged ownership so you will be living in Smugglers purgatory whilst they figure their bottoms from their elbows.


Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cap Estate hotels

Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Arrived to a beautiful scenario and friendly staff. Amazing food and service from the start. Plenty to do beside relaxing by the beach. Enjoyed the activites and entertainment staff provided. High quality service with very polite and helpful staff. We definitely want to come back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We loved the Smuggler's Cove. The overall layout is open and appealing, the staff are superb - local friendliness and generosity to the fore! - and the food was excellent. There is enough variety (and locally flavoured dishes included) to all their restaurants. The beach is a little small, but clean and enjoyable. Some room features could do with a small fix, but overall - recommend this highly for families looking for a break. Do as little or as much as you want, as they say - it's fabulous.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Having loved St Lucia and Smugglers Cove Resort on a previous visit with family, we decided to celebrate our 50th Wedding Anniversary there. The staff were all great, especially the staff in the restaurants. Nothing was too much trouble (even a garlic allergy) and to have smiling, friendly staff around in such stunning surroundings really was Paradise on Earth!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and our kids (dtr-15yrs, son-14yrs) had a great vacation at Smuggler's. Initially, we were not impressed but then the place "grows" on you. The food is very good at all of the restaurants and as well the buffet. Asian was our favourite. We also enjoyed the daily afternoon tea. The grounds are beautiful with several pools, we especially loved the hot tub. It became part of our routine. My husband and my children took full advantage of the "FREE" motorized sports, this is unheard of on most resorts. The staff at the water sports were excellent and very professional. I would like to thank Solomon, Justin and Lawrence who spent many days teaching my kids to water ski. The beach is clean and the water was warm. some areas were rocky.
I used the gym which is basic and could use some attention. This is a great resort for young children as it has large area with lots of wading pools, water-slide , tree houses and play centre. Also free WIFI in the main area. The resort needs to improve service in all the restaurants, service is slow. Bartenders were very good, must try their sig. drink BBC. Housekeeping staff were very friendly and did a great job. We had flower petals on our bed and flowers in bathroom--loved this welcome. Our room was a standard room that appeared to be freshly painted. The resort has great potential and hopefully the new owners will take some of these suggestions seriously. I would come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

it was great wish it was longer i enjoy every bit of it. the food was good the drinks was the ideal thing to start and end ah day right. the rooms were always clean love that the warm and friendly staff on board thumbs up to that. love the idea that there were activities for the kids to keep them occupied. i enjoyed my 4night stay wish it could not have ended......

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa

Address: Cap Estates, Cap Estate, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Cap Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cap Estate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Resort And Spa
Smugglers Cove Hotel Cap Estate
Almond Smugglers Cove Castries
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa St. Lucia/Cap Estate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.