We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to have a good time you will, if you don't you won't.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Cap Estates, Cap Estate, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cap Estate
Sheffield
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“If you want to have a good time you will, if you don't you won't.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

After booking this trip I read some reviews on here and wondered if we'd made a mistake. Thankfully we hadn't. Smuggler's Cove is a fantastic place.

It's true that there are some tired areas of the resort with some areas in need of slight repair, however, the resort was clean, tidy and being constantly maintained (painting most days). It was a very beautiful place, and was no hardship to stay there!

We had a garden room and awoke one morning to slight ant infestation in the bathroom. This was sorted by the maid (with no action on our part) and we had no further problem. The bathroom was tired, but it was clean and in good working order. I've stayed in far less pleasant but newer rooms elsewhere.

I read about people complaining about the attitude of some staff, I found that if you were polite to them then they were extremely polite to you. I also noticed that when people walk up to the bar and bark their orders at the staff, that unsurprisingly, they were less polite back. The guide books say that St Lucian's are a polite people and that pleasantries should be used in general conversation. If you do this then the staff will be great. Sometimes the bars get busy, but you can always try walking to one of the others (something I often did).

The entertainments team were excellent and worked through the day to provide activities for most people.

People travelling alone should be aware that a single traveller we met had trouble booking in to the restaurants. As a couple we didn't have this. Found the range and quality of the food to be fantastic.

Ultimately, I was amazed by some of the complaining whilst we were there. Some people moaned when it rained! That's really the fault of the staff... If you are content to make the most of a pretty decent resort then you will have a great time. If you want to find fault, then you will, but is it really worth looking for trouble when you can just look around at the paradise surrounding you?

Room Tip: Garden suite was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersJT, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We are glad that you took the time to share your feedback and post this review on trip advisor about Smugglers Cove. Thank you for that and for your detailed comments and recommendations. Hopefully you will be planning a return visit to Saint Lucia soon so you get a chance to experience more of beautiful Saint Lucia with its hospitality and friendliness all over again.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Smugglers Cove and thank you again for your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Staff & Management
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    822
    388
    157
    107
See reviews for
675
898
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Martintown, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I, plus our daughter, her husband and grandbaby arrived on January 27 of this year. My husband and I stayed 2 weeks and the others just 1 week.
Everything was fabulous again this year(we were here same time last year)!! We cannot say enough positives about this resort, the staff and the island!!
The food, whether in the buffet or the a la cartes, is amazing!!
Last year we bought into the Vacation time or VIP plan and were the first buyers to come back. We were treated liked celebrities right from check-in!! We could trade our weeks for other places, but why would we.....Smugglers Cove is awesome!!
Our accommodations were brand new and very luxurious. But, how much time do you actually spend in your room when you have such a well laid out resort and so many other places to go to. AND, this island has so much to offer and discover.
We used a local taxi driver named "Sugar Bear" for all of our outings and he is simply "The best".
As for the resort staff: They are ALL wonderful, friendly, smiling and attentive. The activity team, especially Jacquee and Chacho, are fantastic!! The reaturant manger, Rodney, bent over backwards for us. The bar manager, bar staff, restaurant staff, room attendants, and front desk staff were always pleasant and helpful. The hotel managers were also very, very attentive!!
I would gladly reccommend this resort to everyone that I meet!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the Piton lounge!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersJT, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We would like to thank you for your continued support and taking the time to write a review. Our returning guests are very important to us and being our first VIP Club members it make your opinion all the more valuable, as such it makes us proud to hear you found more to enjoy on your recent stay. Keep an eye on your inbox as we will soon be offering many new facilities and services. We sincerely look forward to your next vacation here with us at Smugglers Cove.

Warm Regards,
Staff & Management
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

A long drive from the airport worth paying extra for a private transfer rather than being squashed into a mini bus.Staff were very friendly, food was good but need to book restaurants well in advance. Nice to have a casual restaurant as one of the choices, the buffet was always fresh. The beach was quite stoney and not enough umbrellas so the usual "get your towels on the bed" saga ! The gym was a huge disappointment but it seems new equipment is being installed. In house entertainment was good.
An adults only area, 2 pools and bar were a bonus. BBC'S went down a treat !!!
Beware of a late checkout charge of a $100 and threat of full daily charge if not pre arranged. Typical of our experience of Almond management.

Room Tip: Rooms are sited on a hill, suggest you request one lower down if you dont fancy a hike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersJT, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa for your recent stay in Saint Lucia and for sharing your experience with others on Trip Advisor. It is nice to read your recommendation of the hotel and the facilities within and the highlights of our location. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and we are glad to inform you that preparations are being made to install the new gym equipment within the coming week. Hopefully the next time you return you can take part in our all new health and wellness program.

Once again, thank you for choosing Smugglers Cove and for your recommendation. We are pleased that you enjoyed Saint Lucia and we are hoping to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Staff & Management
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This review is very late coming and after starting to use TripAdvisor more, I wanted to write about this place, regardless of how long ago we traveled there.
My husband and I spent our Honeymoon at Smuggler's Cove. In our 11-night stay, we experienced beautiful surroundings, very good food and excellent service.
The rooms are nice - dated a little, yes, but still roomy and comfortable. The resort grounds were gorgeous with flowers and foliage everywhere. The rooms are very spread out from everything, and luckily we were in a room that was close to the lobby and the main bars/restaurants. It is a bit of a walk if you're in a room farther back. Aside from that, the service and treatment we received was absolutely 5-star. The food was quite good, the drinks were average. Going into town and traveling around St. Lucia was awesome. Breathtaking views and the country is quite clean and safe. We enjoyed spending time in town and had dinner out one evening at a fantastic steakhouse. It was one of our best meals, beyond delicious, and sitting on the edge of the canal while dining was delightful.
We would definitely return to St. Lucia - and possibly this resort. But likely that we would check out another location simply because my husband and I both love to see different places. However, since traveling here, our last couple of vacations do not match up. This is a beautiful resort and more so a truly beautiful country. We traveled in April of 2011 and I still think it is the best place I have visited and it's the best vacation we've had together (and no, not just because it was our honeymoon ;)

Room Tip: Ask for a room closest to the lobby and buffet. It will still be out of the way and private, but mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersJT, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. In the time since you last visited there have been quite a few additions to our list of services. We have since expanded our spa, added far more variety to our menus especially for tho who are looking for healthy choices, imported white sand to our cove and even added a new category of room for those looking for something a little more luxurious. For a full list of what is new at smugglers cove you can visit us on facebook and keep in touch.

We thank you again for your feedback and hope to welcome you back to Saint Lucia and indeed Smugglers Cove someday soon.

Warm Regards,
Staff & Management
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I visited this resort with my girlfriend for a weekend getaway, post Carnival activities in Trinidad, and i must say I was exceedingly impressed. Contrary to some of the reviews posted before, my stay was nothing short of extraordinary.

We stayed for three nights in one of the One (1) Bedroom Garden View Suites, and the accommodation was extremely relaxing. The room was large (furnished with a King size bed), spacious bathroom (with bathtub/shower combo) with a separate living area, and patio; it was cleaned and maintained daily by the housekeeping staff. The garden was well kept and was host to a variety of birds.

At the resort, there are four dining options available; The Cove restaurant is the main one, and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner (buffet style), which is always delicious. La Trattoria is the Italian restaurant and the food is absolutely delightful. The Waterside Grill was the best for the trip, probably because the food was what I am used to (Caribbean Cuisine), apart from that, the ambiance is enchanting, as it is situated on a deck over the waters. We unfortunately were unable to visit Cafe Asia due to the length of our stay (probably next time). Additionally, the hamburgers that are served during the afternoon, just north of the Volley-Ball court are scrumptious.

There was ample activities (archery, water-sports, tennis) to participate in, with the kayaking being my personal favourite.

My girlfriend visited the spa, and the treatment she received was exceptional.

Entertainment wise, there is some evening entertainment in the Piton Lounge (with Wayne), which swings on well up to 11PM.

All members of the resort staff were very pleasant and always accommodating, from the moment we arrived, up until the moment we left.

One of the areas where there is room for improvement, is the drinks from the bars. On many occasions the drinks, in particular from the Piton Lounge would be weak, however, in testing out the various bars, we found that the beach-side bar served the best drinks by far.

If we had the time, we would have stayed longer, but will surely return within the near future for a longer stay.

Room Tip: The pricier rooms are more spacious, and you get good value for your money. Book water sports earli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersJT, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your recent stay at Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa and for such a superb feedback. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcome you back soon. Hopefully your next visit will be for a longer period as there is much more to see in Saint Lucia and Smugglers Cove.

In the mean time stay connected with us through Facebook and twitter.

Warm Regards,
Staff & Management
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyzabad, Saint Patrick, Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here esp coming from a Caribbean island we loved it here!! I loved Jessica from bars, she's amazing she took care of me. The bartenders are trained and really good again Jessica... All the other bartenders were good Chever, Cynthia, pappin and everyone else. The female bartenders especially were really respectful and I loved that.. We will be coming soon.... :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersJT, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We are glad that you took the time to share your feedback and post this review on trip advisor about Smugglers Cove even though time passed too quickly on your last stay with us.

Thank you for that and for your comments and recommendations. Hopefully you will be planning a return visit to Saint Lucia soon so you get a chance to experience more of beautiful Saint Lucia with its hospitality and friendliness all over again.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Smugglers Cove and thank you again for your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Staff & Management
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in Rm 208 with friends and my boyfriend.

On first glance it looks good...then it becomes average. not bad for the price, but don't come looking for luxury.
Most of the reviews seem correct - lots of walking; the rooms aren't perfect with old paint and poorly working air conditioning. Drinks were barely average here. Buffets were tasty with large variety, but the food wasn't hot and the meats often ended up a bit dry. Service isn't always good.

The GOOD parts:

1. Cafe Asia : Great service thanks to Andra! The food here was really yummy although initially you wonder about the small serving size. But after all 4 courses, believe me you are stuffed! Try the Banana Crepe too. The Duck, Pork ribs and Mahi Mahi were all very well made and very presentable.

2. Lots of pools to explore. However we stayed in the main one near the beach. There are 2 bars there and these steps which are great to relax on. Jacuzzis too.

3. Great photo opportunities

4. Few good staff members who made our trip enjoyable : "Hip" makes a good drink but he is all over the place managing things; Joanne is right on par with her bar tending skills ; Lynch was also helpful in reception.

5. Seems like a fun place for kids/f

The BAD side:

1. Rooms: The bed was a bit hard and we couldn't sleep at all. My boyfriend had back pain for 2 days after. The A/c sometimes didn't work. Our room was cleaned... with no clean towels left behind. ( Melissa did call back some hours later to ask if the towels were delivered after requesting)

2. La Trattoria: Apart from the pork which would have bent my knife......... the pasta was okay. deserts aren't worth the wait.....bread here was cold. Service was very poor....
Not to mention the COCKROACH that jumped onto the table along with our desert.... mind you after i jumped up and stood aside, the staff there did not care to ask if everything was okay. However, the creature did jump on the waitress before I decided to approach her...

3. Drinks here are quite ordinary to bad, but few bar tenders can make a good one with their limited supplies...

4. The beach looks great, but walk with water shoes as the rocks and moss are not a nice feeling. This beach was rough and water sports were prohibited.

5. We tried to rent a car. However all the vehicles on the island were already booked. The $55US Chevy spark after additional charges came up to US$98, followed by the $500 deposit needed. However, even this was soon unavailable... Book a car in advance.

6. Waterfront breakfast (buffet) : was cold.

7. The cove (buffet) : food here was good, minus sometimes cold or tough meat. Often we would get drinks after we finished eating lunch or breakfast due to poor service.

8. If you are over the age of 8 ; taller than 4ft; or heavier than 80 lbs... you'll probably have to push yourself down the 100ft slide. But it was a good try. Great for kids though!

Room Tip: get a room closer to the reception area. there's alot of walking and that area has the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersJT, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for visiting with us and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry if your stay with us was not what you envisioned and we would like to address a few of your concerns that you might change your mind and visit with us again.

We do offer a few different standards of bedding and though we are uncertain which category your room was we can say that perhaps our beachfront rooms would have suited you better. These offer heavenly beds which are pillow topped for comfort and these rooms offer additional luxuries like Japanese soaking tubs.

Our 100ft slide is intended for children only and though a few big kids escape down it from time to time it is not suggested as this may result in injury.

Negatives aside we again thank you for your feedback and hope that we may welcome you back to Smugglers Cove again someday.

Warm Regards,
Staff & Management
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa

Address: Cap Estates, Cap Estate, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Cap Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cap Estate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Hotel Cap Estate
Smugglers Cove Resort And Spa
Almond Smugglers Cove Castries
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa St. Lucia/Cap Estate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.